We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, comfy, clean, and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The RoseMary Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The RoseMary Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Columbia B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfy, clean, and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

We were looking for accommodations near Blairstown and were given the RoseMary Inn as a name. Tripadvisor reviews were great so we decided to try it. It was wonderful! Not sure we've ever stayed in a B&B that was so quiet and so clean. Very much like an Inn where we stayed in Alsace this past summer. The setting is beautiful and Theo and Elaine were knowledgeable about every little road we explored and the history of the area. We stayed in the Hahn Room which was quite comfortable-a HUGE bathroom. We had the living room downstairs if we needed an extra sitting area. Breakfast was delicious ---and huge. Bring your appetites. Homemade scones to die for. Ten minutes from Blairstown and about the same to the Gap. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llcarchive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
68
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verona, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Rosemary Inn, Theo and Elaine are great, very friendly and accommodating and so knowledgeable about the area. The common areas are beautifully decorated but remain cozy and comfortable, not stuffy. The rooms are gorgeous comfortable and impeccably clean. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank all5castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

My wife and I spent three days at this wonderful Inn. Located on a pond, surrounded by beautiful fall foliage, its hard to imagine a more peaceful setting. A perfect environment to recharge and relax. The Inn is a renovated farmhouse that ought to be featured in a design magazine. The highlight of each day is the gourmet breakfast. We're already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLbovinecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We celebrated a milestone anniversary with a two-night stay in the Beach Room with a cozy king sized bed and 2 person air tub. The innkeepers thought of everything to make our stay wonderful, including bath salts for the tub! Elaine & Theo are friendly, gracious and knowledgeable about the region. And the breakfasts...OMG...creme brulee french toast, homemade scones, oatmeal with brown sugar...just spectacular! The inn was formerly a farm house...the renovations and decorating make it a treasure!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linderj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Our weekend at the RoseMary Inn was spectacular! Theo and Elaine were amazing hosts, providing just the right amount of attention and creating an atmosphere that is relaxing, quiet and private. The rooms and common spaces were beautifully decorated, clean, and all have modern amenitites. We liked the location as it was outside of the sometimes too touristy Poconos but close enough to access all the attractions within comfortable driving distance. Theo even gave us a travel tip to use local roads and help avoid some of the weekend congestion on I-80.
The bathrooms were particularly impressive. They were spacious, immaculate and included high quality, all-natural personal care products. The perks of this personalized stay included conveniences such as a cabinet filled with toiletries and various medicine cabinet items that you would normally have to shop for outside if forgotten. The complementary snack bar with hot and cold beverages made for some nice late night treats while watching a DVD from the library. Books, magazines and local guides, including a comprehensive restaurant binder with menus were also available.
Now, for the best part, the food! Breakfasts were an incredible 3 course event. Elaine uses local ingredients to craft unique recipies that left our tastebuds happy and looking forward to the next meal. In the afternoons she set out plates of the best cookies we have ever eaten! We are going to reccommend this B&B to family and friends and will be returning sometime in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate-and-Ruben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

We (family with a teen) are not travellers staying very often in a B&B, in fact it has been only the second time but RoseMary Inn is really a B&B worth going to as it can rival many (luxurious) hotels we know of.
This B&B was opened about two years ago (before it was an old farmhouse). For the renovation only the best material was used. Five superb rooms – each decorated differently – and a very pleasant recreation area (amongst other rooms there was a self-service pantry with coffee, tea, soft drinks and snacks as well as freshly baked cookies in late afternoon) resulted from this undertaking. RoseMary Inn is located in a rural and secluded area. On the grounds of the B&B there is a restful pond with a fountain, very nice to look at. Rooms can be booked directly on the very professional homepage of the inn. The hosts of this charming B&B (Elaine and Theo) are very warm and happy to be at your service.
Our room was called “Bender” (the only one where an extra bed can added) and was large and tastefully decorated. It had a comfortable bed, a spacious bathroom including a nice steam shower and pond view.
In the morning, a sumptuous and plentiful – daily changing – breakfast was served by Elaine and Theo, really a treat …
When you are looking for a fine, comfortable and quiet accommodation in the countryside near New York City (one and a half hours away) this is the perfect place to go!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisstraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

We spent two nights at the RoseMary Inn between Christmas and New Years looking to find some tranquility and quality time with each other in the middle of the hectic holiday season. The RoseMary Inn was the perfect destination. There are only five rooms, I think, so you can virtually be assured of an intimate atmosphere. The place is beautifully decorated with a lot of personal touches throughout including unique furniture and art pieces. You can show up with six bags like we did, or just pull off highway and check in if you like: the hosts, Theo and Elaine have stocked the pantry and cabinets with everything you could possibly need or might have forgot to make your stay easy and comfortable. Each room is well thought out with a unique atmosphere and style. We particularly enjoyed the Heiss room with its contemporary flair and awesome shower. The breakfast is wonderful; again with lots of thoughtful touches like locally tapped maple syrup. It was a good thing we were on the ski slopes all day because I needed to work off the three courses Elaine served. On the morning of the second day we got three inches of snow which made the grounds quite lovely. I could feel the stress just melting away as I read the paper in the living room with my glass of wine. Everything at the Rosemary Inn is first class, and the attention to detail that Theo and Elaine show in running the place is incredible. I use TripAdvisor a lot when I travel, and that is where I found this place. Trust me, the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor are right on the mark and describe the place well. It is cozy but not small. There are a lot of interesting antique pieces, but also many modern pieces and thoroughly modern conveniences. If you are looking for a great getaway in the Pocono region, you won’t want to miss this B&B Inn.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swede6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
3.5 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
5.2 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Stroudsmoor Country Inn
Stroudsmoor Country Inn
#5 of 8 in Stroudsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
4.3 mi away
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Shawnee on Delaware
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The RoseMary Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The RoseMary Inn

Property: The RoseMary Inn
Address: 88 Hainesburg River Rd, Columbia, NJ 07832-2648
Region: United States > New Jersey > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax amid the pastoral rolling greenery of The RoseMary Inn. Delight in the simple elegance of nature as you stroll our seventeen acres. Explore the property’s nature trails or cuddle up with a good book within the rustic interweaving of the inn’s decor. Experience the luxury of a beautifully-designed private bath, fine linens, and a well-slept night. Gain insight into the innkeeper’s culinary heritage by partaking in a traditional European breakfast prepared fresh each day with ingredients from local farms. Breathe in the fresh country air, slow down for a bit, and allow nature to surround and comfort you. Welcome to the RoseMary Inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing