We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

Dalton's Columbia Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Columbia
Restaurant details
Columbia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a must visit resaurant!
They have the best Ribs, Burgers, Soups, Steaks, Fish, ect...
Always a grat atmosphere with live music twice a week.
Appetizers you might never have tried yet?
Fried Pickels!
Celtic Nachos! (Fresh sliced/Fried potato chips covered in Cheddar, Bacon, tomatoes, halopenos, with salsa and sour cream!!!)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NJFF41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The nicest folks..”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stopped by Dalton's for a nibble before a hike. The restaurant wasn't open yet, but we were greeted in such a warm and friendly way that we were willing to go for a walk and come back later. I asked if we could leave our car in the restaurant lot while we passed the time and it was no problem (now this may not seem like a big deal to some, but for a girl from New York City, this kind of friendly accommodation for patrons is a real treat)! When we got back to the restaurant, we had fried pickles, mozzarella sticks and mussels marinara.. and, of course, beer. Everything was delicious, especially those fried pickles. Service was perfect from start to finish. It was wonderful to be reminded that going out for a bite can be relaxed and enjoyable, with good food and nice folks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Much better then last time”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is an update to the last review I gave. The quality of the food has improved since our last visit. I'm not 100% sure but it appears that they might have had a change of owners, we didn't recognize any of the staff this last time.There are a few things that they can improve on like offering warm dinner rolls or bread and maybe fresh ground pepper for your salad. The pasta they served was way over cooked to the point of being mushy. Aside from that we have seen a major improvement since our last visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What went wrong”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were regular patrons at Daltons, eating there weekly. The food was always good, great service. The last time we were there my wife got food poisoning from bad chicken, it looked bad and tasted worse. My steak was borderline too. It seemed like overnight they lost it. My wife and I dine out two to three times a week so as long as the food and service are good we tend to become regulars. In all fairness to Daltons, our last visit was a year or so ago, I should give them another try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
136 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great Local Inn”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This place is a wonderful local establishment that has plenty of hometown charm. Nice folks, live music, good food, ice cold beverages, great staff and overall a great atmosphere. Wish I lived closer, I would definitely frequent Dalton's more often.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Col_Jessup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dalton's Columbia Inn also viewed

 

Been to Dalton's Columbia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing