We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family oriented”

Timberland Lake Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cream Ridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Timberland Lake Campground
Jackson, New Jersey
1 review
“Family oriented”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This campground is the place for a family outing very close to great adventure a store that sells everything you might of left home workers and owners friendly and always willing to help activities for kid's pool very clean fishing and special events no nonsense for party goers looking for trouble feel safe with my son there dj saturday nights lots to offer don't look any further if you want to have a good time in a family oriented campground this is it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deidre c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    5
    4
    7
    9
See reviews for
18
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have been spending a few weekends there each year for the last few years. We have watched steady improvement since the current owners took over. They have many wooded sites, clean bath houses, a nice pool, the playground gets more upgrades every year. There is a well stocked camp store. If you like camping, RV or tent, you will probably like this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbury,NJ
Level Contributor
163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have camped here for a special they have in the Fall for the last 2 yrs (they have it in the spring to) We stayed here for 4 weekends durning the Halloween weekends, well let me tell you the Seasonals and Staff put on a Hauted Trail that is Wonderful !! people pay to go on trails like this and it is included with your camping weekend, you can't beat it, it is scary so watch out for the little ones.

We decided to go seasonal this spring, we only live about 25 mins from here so it's a great staycation place. The bathrooms are clean, There are so many planned activities for the kids and the adults too.
If the kids my boys are 11 and 13 want to just hang out it's great, they play
Ping pong
There's
Pool
Horseshoes
Mini Golf
2 different play areas 1 for small tots and the other for med size LOL
and the bigger kids even have a area to hang out, they all play Basket Ball
Plenty of great Fishing Big Bass !!
Paddle boat rentals so many things to do
my boys leave in the morning stop by for lunch maybe and off again,
The pool is very large and has a nice deep end ( My husband stayed here when we first got our camper for a weekend alone to test everything out ) He is tall and hates pools he can stand in.
The boys and I were away this weekend and he said he had a blast meeting all the seasonals and weekenders, he was like a big kid!!
The Camp store has everything you would need and a new Milkshake machine my boys are in heaven, they better do some chores to pay for one...
It is only 2 miles from Great Adventure and to get on
195 east or west is only 21/2 miles away, and that will take you right to the GREAT Jersey shore Belmar beach is the closest 30 mins away and AC is only about an hour away
Fun for all Age types !! DJ's every weekend and Pavillion so you don't get Wet or to Hot :))
They also have Cabins to rent and I looked in them and they are spacious and very CLEAN !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJ-sunshine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Whether or not you think a campground is good really depends on what you're looking for. This place has it's downsides. It seems a little low-budget. Some sites are wired with indoor wiring, run through trees. Most of the kid amusements are hand-me-downs from customers, donations, or Great Adventure, which is very close to this campground. If you're not looking for a 5-star experience, you just might enjoy this place. The staff is usually friendly, although sometimes the site you reserve isn't the one you wind up with. Now, for the good things:
The site has at it's heart a nice lake. Fishing is popular, as is renting boats. They have a DJ and dancing every Saturday, and lots of crafts and activities for kids. If you're not concerned about the polish this place sometimes lacks, you can have a really good time. There is lots of natural beauty, and the kids have a really great time. The bathrooms are usually acceptable, and the camp store is great. They have a pavilion for rainy day activities, contests, and movies. My 9 year old Daughter absolutely loves this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 912RobertC912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have stayed here for the last four years and love it! The activities keep my kids busy for hours. The weekends have fun themes. It is close to six flags, maybe about two miles, so that's fun to do. We were here during a heat wave so we appreciated the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I wish I could provide a more positive review, but unfortunately my very brief visit to Timberland Lake Campground was my first and will definitely be my last. A weekend camping with friends was horribly interrupted by a large tree that collapsed on top of my son and another boy, landing both of them in the ER. My son's injuries were severe enough that he spent five days in the pediatric ICU.

I will say that one of the campground employees who came to help shortly following the accident was very compassionate. She was the only person I had contact with during the 45 minutes I was at the campground, so I can't comment about any of the other staff.

This campground is definitely *not* a place to go if you are looking for a quiet night of camping in the woods. The campsites are literally on top of one another, and there's no separation between RV camping and tent camping. Unbeknownst to me, the campground is literally miles from Six Flags Great Adventure (which is where my son was picked up and airlifted to the nearest trauma center). So while you are in the "woods," you are definitely very close to civilization.

Use caution when going to this campground.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank radiance12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cream Ridge
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Robbinsville
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn McGuire AFB
Quality Inn McGuire AFB
#1 of 2 in Cookstown
68 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bordentown
Hampton Inn Bordentown
#1 of 11 in Bordentown
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton
10.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hamilton
12.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Freehold
Radisson Hotel Freehold
#1 of 2 in Freehold
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberland Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberland Lake Campground

Property: Timberland Lake Campground
Address: 1335 Reed Rd, Cream Ridge, NJ 08514-2521
Region: United States > New Jersey > Cream Ridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cream Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 200

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing