We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food”

Second Half on Main
Ranked #22 of 76 Restaurants in Denville
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
326 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Place was packed. they got us a table rather quickly, nice live music food was good and staff was helpful and friendly

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaybirdrcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Favorite local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

My wife and I love this place. A small local place where in the summer you can eat outside. I have had some absolutely great food at this establishment, This past October I had great German food for Oktoberfest and last March great Irish food for St Patty's day. One time they had a duck special and it was the best I have ever had. Actually I was not expecting it to be that outstanding. Overall a great place!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank patsyp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
957 reviews
447 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,577 helpful votes
“Good burgers and beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had dinner here some time ago.We heard all good "stuff" about tho place from friends and family.It was an absolutely OK dinner,but nothing stood out as exceptional. We did not return because there are other places in the area we prefer.

Helpful?
Thank Wenovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

After many hours on the road and still a way to go, we pulled off of Route 80 into Denville to find a place to eat and saw this restaurant. Looked nice enough through the window with a dining room separate from the bar so we decided to try it out. We ordered the fried raviolis for appetizer and for entrees, had the steak salad as well as a special of the evening which was called country chicken, basically sauteed chicken with sausage, onions and peppers. Let me tell you - we were surprised at the quality of the food. Everything was excellent, the portions were big, and the prices very reasonable. Drinks were excellent and not skimpy, and service by Beth was excellent. A great neighborhood restaurant. Too bad we don't live in the area because we would definitely go there again. Think more along the lines of comfort food. It's not haute cuisine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitidemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Very nice ornate wooden bar. Service was good, food was good, they have outdoor seating, and I was experiencing a local restaurant rather than a chain while traveling for work. Will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atlblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Second Half on Main also viewed

Denville, Morris County
Denville, Morris County
 
Denville, Morris County
Denville, Morris County
 
Rockaway, Morris County
Denville, Morris County
 

Been to Second Half on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing