We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, great value”
Review of El Tapatio

El Tapatio
Ranked #5 of 52 Restaurants in Dover
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Denville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authentic, great value”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This small unpretentious restaurant serves consistently good authentic Mexican dishes in a simple setting. I don't often give an excellent rating, but I've been here several times as a family, couple and solo, tried several different dishes, and never been disappointed. What I love most about this place is that it doesn't try to be anything it isn't. It's just real, and a great value.
Some helpful things to know are that the wait-staff and menu are both bilingual, the place is BYOB, and it's ok to simply take a seat at one of the open tables when you walk in.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnulfo C, Owner at El Tapatio, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
You did a great job of summing up what we're all about, Arny -- no frills, no fuss, just authentic Mexican classics! It means a lot to get such a wonderful dose of encouragement from you, and we hope it won't be long before you're back at our table.

All the best,
El Tapatio Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic tacos”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

REAL tacos. Like the kind you get at a roadside stand as you're driving around Mexico, lost in a rented VW Bug. Don't expect melted cheddar in these - this isn't Taco Bell. Make sure you get the onions and cilantro in them, along with whatever tasty meat you choose. The ceviche had a nice flavor but, alas, the crab was not real, it was that seafood salad stuff you get in California rolls. Takeout service was very fast - I just wish they delivered!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JellyBaby1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnulfo C, Owner at El Tapatio, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
You really hit the nail on the head with what we're all about -- authentic, Mexican classics served up the traditional way! We're glad our speedy service impressed you, too. Thanks so much for taking the time to let other reviewers know what we're all about. We hope you'll swing back by soon -- we'd love to give you a 5-star experience next time around!

All the best,
El Tapatio Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A friend and I had lunch at this restaurant for the first time last week. Definitely will be going back. Our waitress was very attentive and the food was delicious. It's BYOB. We went at lunchtime so we didn't bring any beer or wine with us....but we'll bring a nice bottle of sangria with us the next time. They do not have a specific lunch menu but the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnulfo C, Owner at El Tapatio, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review, Donna! We hope you've been back for plenty more lunches and dinners. The team will also be happy to hear your praises.

All the best,

El Tapatio Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The food was delicious and their portions were very large. Their salsa and chips are on the spicy side, in my opinion. Good service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnulfo C, Owner at El Tapatio, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We never get tired of hearing how delicious our food is! Thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best,

El Tapatio Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

inexpensive menu, byob, really good food with a lot of options. went here with family and friends. chips and salsa as an appetizer. great desserts. the dining area is small but cozy. they accommodate large parties. we were a party of 10 on a Friday night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnulfo C, Owner at El Tapatio, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us, Mel. Thanks for bringing the whole gang! Hope you've been back plenty since.

All the best,

El Tapatio Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tapatio also viewed

Rockaway, Morris County
Dover, Morris County
 
Dover, Morris County
 
East Hanover, Morris County
 

Been to El Tapatio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing