We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill - CLOSED

Romano's Macaroni Grill
Cuisines: American, Italian
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
223 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This place was very close to my hotel which is what I wanted after a long day. Fortunatly, It turned out to be better than expected. The food tasted fresh, the wine list was OK, not too terribly over priced and the service was good. Given the selection in the area, I'd go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    12
    15
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great concept, horrible execution”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

The waiter didn't do one thing right, the cook messed up everything. With only 6 tables in the restaurant we waited 1 hour to receive the food
The chicken caprese had a piece of chicken, maybe 2 oz, the arrugola salad had no dressing and no cheese and angel hair tasted like bland tomato purée
Shrimp we're tough and pasta with butter food for a two year old. With a bottle of water and orange soda, 48$

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pappatequisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
506 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“What's with the shouting?”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

You order a meal here, and the waiters shout it out to the kitchen, as if it were your kitchen and they were yelling at their family. I was not taken with this although the food isn't bad.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YayeMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This is a place I enjoyed eating at when I used to work in the area, and I recently stopped in for lunch with my wife after not being here for a few years. The quality of the food wasn't the same. Most disappointing was the pasta milano, which used to be one of my favorite dishes. This time there was very little chicken in the dish and the pasta itself was limp and overcooked. Wish we'd gone to the Olive Garden.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It's gettin' pricey....”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Food is ok, not great...best bet is pizza and the new 2 for $ 9 Tapas. The new fall menu offers a chicken cacciatore dish which isn't bad....but at $ 18.00 you can eat at a gourmet restaurant!

Went, late afternoon, felt like we were bothering the help and the cooks.

Better off going next door to Chile's for a burger.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

East Hanover, Morris County
East Hanover, Morris County
 
East Hanover, Morris County
East Hanover, Morris County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing