We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramada East Orange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada East Orange
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Orange
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I recently booked this hotel through Expedia and it was THE WORST experience I have ever had. I have traveled quite a bit on a budget and have never been more disgusted and afraid for my well-being. That hotel is located in a very shady area, which as an outsider I am ignorant to. Their customer service was abhorrent and they have false advertising including advertising their free 24 hour shuttle that doesn't just come to the airport and even when you call them they are late (both times!!!) Not to mention the "van" was disgusting and the guy was rude. More false advertising- they are NOT 5 minutes from Newark airport and the photos are incredibly misleading.
I did not sleep a wink because my neighbors were drug dealers selling crack or marijuana, I couldn't tell. The man and woman would violently fight every 2 hours, to the point of our shared wall shaking violently due to them throwing things or slamming each other up against it. The woman would leave every hour and then come back screaming and crying. Then an hour would go by with just the blaring TV noise, only for an argument to start up again. There was foot traffic to and from their room, shady characters in and out, obviously their customers. They would leave the door open and scream at each other, blasting music and the TV. I was legitimately scared that there might be gunshots happening at some point. The area is extremely ghetto and I also witnessed shady activities in the parking lot behind the hotel. I got to the hotel around 7pm after being in the airport ALL DAY because my flight got canceled. I hadn't eaten anything and didn't eat anything because I was too afraid to step foot outside of my room. Those are just the highlights, there was more... not to mention the disgusting nature of the room itself. I didn't even take my shoes off... I'm not exaggerating, please believe me.
I booked the hotel via Expedia and went so far as to recommend them booting the hotel from their registry to protect their customers. I should have read the reviews and looked into it more but Ramada's advertising is very misleading. Obviously they want us to believe that the hotel is decent. Well, it's not. The photos must have been taken years ago when it was first built because it looks NOTHING like those photos. Do not be misled. I paid almost $90 for a terrifying, disgusting, and traumatic night in East Orange, NJ.
I will never stay in a Ramada again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    67
    117
    99
    185
See reviews for
183
109
50
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I had a dirty (11pm-7am) overnight layover at EWR and instead of getting cozy in the airport decided at the last minute to just grab a hotel "close by". Unfortunately in our tired travel state we ended up booking this place - 8mi from the airport. They had a hotel shuttle, so we didn't really give it too much thought.

Our first clue about the hotel should have been when the shuttle showed up. As we watched all the other hotel shuttles (nice looking vans wrapped in hotel logos etc.. ) come and go, we patiently waited for ours. Then a busted up looking mini an with a piece of paper taped to the front window with our hotel name showed up. Uhmm.. ok. They knew our names so let's go get some sleep. After about a 1/2hr drive through surface streets of New Jersey, we ended up at the hotel and were greeted through the bullet proof glass by the receptionist. Checked in, got in the super slow elevator, and to our room. Just needed to sleep and get back to the airport.

The hotel was pretty grimy. Smelled of smoke. Paper thin walls. We slept, showered and left. They did shuttle us back and this was a bit quicker. Plan for 1/2 hr trip.

All in all, we just simply booked the wrong spot - not recommended for a layover.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VIVAHUME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ch_01_eng_75, General Manager at Ramada East Orange, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hello vivahume,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We really apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay.

We would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do be unsuccessful. We will look into each issue that you have noted. And, we will pay closer attention to this particular situation to resolve it.

We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and standards every day. Please excuse us this time as we were lacking in attention and I promise we will take better care of our guests here on now. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

hotel staff including gray haired supervisor were extremely rude. Elevator was very slow & floors 3 & 4 smelled of marijuana. witnessed drug transaction in parking lot-vending machine & ice maker in hall were empty for entire stay-fridge in room did not get cold-walls were extremely thin allowing you to hear full conversations from neighbors-I travelled alone with 3 children and was extremely disappointed. NOT A GOOD FAMILY EXPERIENCE!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Disappointed Mo... X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ch_01_eng_75, General Manager at Ramada East Orange, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We really apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay.

We would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. We will look into each issue that you have noted. And, we will pay closer attention to this particular situation to resolve it.

We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and standards every day. Please excuse us this time as we were lacking in attention and I promise we will take better care of our guests here on now. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Comfort Suites Newark
#13 of 16 in Newark
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada East Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada East Orange

Property: Ramada East Orange
Address: 120 Evergreen Place, East Orange, NJ 07018-2000 (Formerly Royal Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > East Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada East Orange 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 mile from New York City, Manhattan. 5 Miles from MetLife Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada East Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada East Orange Hotel East Orange
East Orange Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing