We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and they try to keep the riff raff out”
Review of Ramada East Orange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada East Orange
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Orange
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I attended a meeting which ended late and I was too tired to drive home so this was the closest place I could find to get some rest. First, don’t be surprised if you arrive very late and cannot find parking; the parking spots are few and small.

When I arrived, I found it strange that the reception area was protected by plexiglass (can’t recall ever seeing that in an inn or hotel), and one staff member was wearing a badge which looked like a police badge. I later found these precautions necessary when (a) a young couple who came in without a reservation showed their displeasure at not getting a room when the male started cursing very loudly (at the staff, indirectly) which went on for about 5 minutes. This can be very intimidating to guests, even though not involved; (b) a few minutes later, a gentleman came to the receptionist, angry and cursing because his girlfriend had locked him out of the room. Other guests had called down to reception to complain that this gentleman was banging on the door, unconcerned that he was disturbing others (this was after midnight). With that said this is a nice, well maintained inn and the staff/owners try to keep out the “riff raff” but a few slipped in; this can happen anywhere. I would definitely recommend this Ramada!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ch_01_eng_75, General Manager at Ramada East Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Niki P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ch_01_eng_75, General Manager at Ramada East Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ch_01_eng_75, General Manager at Ramada East Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Lucian D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ch_01_eng_75, General Manager at Ramada East Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ch_01_eng_75, General Manager at Ramada East Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ch_01_eng_75, General Manager at Ramada East Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is, as it appears to me, owned and run by a large, eclectic family. The reception staff were helpful, and their employees were always about cleaning the breakfast area and in the hallways keeping the rooms and the general area clean. A great positive was that this hotel provided transportation from Newark Airport, which is about 20-30 minutes away. If you want to check in early, they charge an additional $40. There were always a lot of guests staying here, even a few large bus groups.

The hotel offered a free breakfast with waffles, cereals, bagels and other standard fare. The room was clean and nicely furnished. It also offered free wifi in the rooms and had both a fridge and microwave as well as coffeemaker. They also made sure that every day coffee, shampoo and lotion were left in the room. They also provided free parking.

The hotel was about 3-4 blocks away from the train station making it easy to get to New York.

The neighborhood may not have been the best, but this hotel seemed secure enough. As the staff mentioned best to go to West Orange or South Orange for restaurants.

A few local people we met at the train station did not seem to have positive feelings about this hotel, but when we told them about the amenities provided, they were impressed.

I would recommend this hotel, as the price was reasonable and it had easy access to train and bus transportation to NYC and local areas. With free transport to and from the airport you really did not need to rent a car, which can save you a ton of money.

One more thing, we left a wake up call for two early mornings, but never got a call. Have a back up system of your own.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlamedaYankeegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ch_01_eng_75, General Manager at Ramada East Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Hello Mary P,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear that you had such a positive experience during your stay.

We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and try our hardest to provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly stay for all our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orange
4.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
2.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Garden Plaza Hotel
Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in West Orange
170 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Newark
Comfort Suites Newark
#13 of 16 in Newark
325 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada East Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada East Orange

Address: 120 Evergreen Place, East Orange, NJ 07018-2000 (Formerly Royal Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > East Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Orange
Price Range: £59 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada East Orange 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 mile from New York City, Manhattan. 5 Miles from MetLife Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada East Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada East Orange Hotel East Orange
East Orange Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing