We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local stay for class reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Edison
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at the Crown Plaza Hotel in Edison for 1 night while I attended a high school reunion which was also held at this property. Overall, the hotel appears to be clean. The room (room 5000) was a spacious, corner room. overall it was quiet. The lounge \ bar area, was staffed by 1 bartender who could not manage the crowd of our reunion group, and several other parties, no effort was made to assist or handle the large crowd. Odd thing, upon I was made to sign an "agreement" that confirmed I was not going to have a "party" in my room, which I had no issue confirming. However, there were "parties" all over the hotel that night, and not 1 staffer to calm the noise and mayham. I do not know why I was made to sign a note, and if all guests are asked to sign. I am looking into this separately.

Room Tip: high floor. corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank metuken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hello neighbor from next town,

While we are happy to hear you liked your hotel room, we are sorry about understaffing at the hotel bar. We will be more diligent in making sure our bar guests are attended to in a prompt fashion.

We do ask every guest on the weekends to sign the no-party policy, as providing our guests a quiet night rest is a priority. We have off-duty police officers on weekend nights to ensure the safety of our guests, we will work on improving locating party issues in the hotel.

Thank you for your review.

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Room was exceptionally clean , bottles of spring water daily and bath rob was more than i have seen in some five star hotels .Full breakfast with the best fruit was included

Staff went out of their way to arrange and send me to best sight seeings and restaurants

If you want comfort and a good nights sleep in the Jersey area, then I would highly recommend you to book this hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you John for the enthusiastic two thumbs up review! Also, gratitude for acknowledging the new items we have been providing to better our guests' experience.

Look forward to your return!

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Nothing special, and a bit overprice compared to competition. A bit tired around the edges, particularly in the rooms (carpet needs stretching, beaten furniture), although pleasant personnel, free parking, pretty decent internet. For the price point, there are numerous properties in a 10m radius that are certainly superior, incl the Hyatt in NewBrunswick, the Sheraton, and if you wish to stay with IHG chain, the Indigo in Rahway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinSdammit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel Kevin,

It is true it has been 3 years since our last major renovation, but we do undergo a deep cleaning/maintenance rotation every quarter to ensure our guests can enjoy an excellent quality stay here at the hotel. Together with our hotel's goal of going above and beyond in customer service we are confident to deliver a valuable product to our guests.

Thanks again for your review and acknowledgement of our staff.

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed for a couple of different one-nighters recently. The good: both times, I found the price here to be better than similar properties in the area. That made the extra few dollars to stay on the executive floor worth it. The perks on the top floor are a fridge / micro / wet bar in room and a concierge lounge that is pretty spacious and a nice place to do some early morning work. Rooms have more space than you'd expect. The location is a mixed bag. I like it because I'm very familiar with the local area and the location allows you to get all over the area on secondary routes which can help in high traffic times. If you don't know the area, there are properties of same class that are more convenient to the major routes. Parking is plentiful and convenient. On site bar / restaurant is better than it looks. The downsides: the heating / cooling units are old and loud and the plumbing needs some updating as well. The elevators are so bad they're better for laughs than lifts, but even staying on the top floor (5th) the stairs are an easy walk for any trip when you aren't carrying luggage. If you're not a light sleeper, troubled by some old pipes, or daunted by using stairs, you can get a good value here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njkvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Appreciate the very detailed review of our property!

We do still have some older heating/cooling units in our guest rooms, which we have on the plans to replace. The hotel is currently undergoing a deep cleaning/maintenance project on every single guest rooms which should address a couple of the plumbing issues. I am sorry you were inconvenienced by our elevators. They are at working order and we expect our new elevator service company to keep them going.

Thank you again and hope to see you return.

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza, it was nice. The front desk let us check in early, which was great because we were there for an event that we needed to be ready for. They also gave us cookies upon arrival, we thought that was a nice touch because we were starving! The lobby has definitely been updated. It is glitzy, full of marble floors and nice lights. Rooms were average. The hotel must have some issues with underage drinking and partying, we had to sign a form stating we would not throw any parties in our room, and that we were of age. I guess it is the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbi106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello Debbi,

We just recently updated our entire hotel's lighting to energy efficient light bulbs, and are very happy with the positive aesthetic feedback! Thank you for inquiring about our no party policy. The reason we have the policy is due to the high amount of corporate business travelers in our hotel, whose top priority is to be able to get a good night's sleep. At Crowne Plaza Edison we take our guest's sleep quality as a top priority.

Thank you for your review.

Jonathan Lin
jlin@menlohotels.com
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great place to visit and to stay at. The front desk personnel top-of-the-line in helping the customer out! They have a nice restaurant in the lobby with a pretty good buffet breakfast in the morning. Great room and bed. Very nice place. Will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank exferryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you very much for giving us full marks in every category! The acknowledgement means a lot to the team. We look forward to your return.

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for a night, the hotel itself looks pretty old but the room was big, spacious and clean. Nothing out of ordinary, everything You could expect from a hotel but definelty not a upscale one. I got this hotel for a deal, hence for the price, it was worth the stay. They do have free breakfast in the attached hotel if You booked tickets through them which was good too. If You are planning to visit NYC, its a good 20-30 min drive with no traffic from this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saju84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Hello Saju,

Good to hear the hotel stay was worth the money and convenient for NYC travel. It is unfortunate you find the hotel looking old (I'd rather use the word "classy")! We just updated our bedding linens, bathroom towels, and bathroom amenities this year, and will soon be looking into other items as well.

Thank you for your review and hope to see you return soon.

Jonathan Lin
jlin@menlohotels.com
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edison
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Edison Woodbridge
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Edison Hotel Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield
2.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Edison - Raritan Center
3.3 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Edison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edison

Address: 2055 Lincoln Hwy, Edison, NJ 08817-3334
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Price Range: £67 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Edison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into the sensible and elegant Crowne Plaza Hotel Edison. Whether you're a business or leisure traveler, you will enjoy the combination of practicality and aesthetic appeal. Our beautiful hotel features 169 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary amenities such as wireless high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business center, a fitness center open 24/7 and local shuttle service within 3 miles, based upon availability. You won't have to go far to grab a bite to eat. Local favorite Christie's Steakhouse Restaurant is onsite, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You can also grab lunch, dinner, and your favorite drink at Christie's Lounge. Whether you're holding a business retreat, board meeting, or training seminar, your comfort and success are paramount. Take advantage of our facilities, which boast 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space fit to accommodate 200 people for socials and 300 for conferences. Whatever your needs, Crowne Plaza is where your success starts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing