We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Edison
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Ontario,
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I often stay in the Red Roof Inns while attending sports events which I participate in. I was really disappointed at this particular hotel, in Edison NJ. Room wasn't cleaned while I was out during the day and someone's contact lens was at the edge of the carpet during my entire stay.The rooms we reserved were not available because they had "corporate" guests overstay their reservations, so they let it cut into ours. I was surprised as I always love Red Roof Inns.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staghornlabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    60
    50
    23
    28
See reviews for
64
40
45
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Red Roof Inns advertise themselves as smoke free. No way. The rooms all reek of chemicals covering up the smell of smoke. It made me seriously ill. This is a universal problem with Red Roof Inns. They would do netter to set aside some rooms for smokers. That way at least some of. The rooms may actually end up smoke free.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbarawwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed for five nights earlier this month. We stayed in a renovated room with a king bed. We checked in on a Saturday and the American lady at the desk was very nice to deal with. Monday morning we wanted to get a taxi to the train station and there was a different lady at the desk. I think she was Indian. She called the taxi for us then proceeded to loudly converse with another employee in their native language. It is extremely rude to converse in another language when there are people in the room who do not speak or understand that language. One afternoon my husband picked up a face washer and folded inside it was a bunch of dust and hair! The cleaners, who also appeared to be from the subcontinent, were a door or two along from our room and had done our room already. The face washer had just been put there as we had used both of the ones that were there from the day before. Every day we had to go to the office and get the key reprogrammed as it wouldn't open the door in the afternoon when we returned to the motel. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. The local taxi charges a flat rate of $8 to go to the Metuchen station, then when we came back from NYC the taxi depot was right across from the station.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I came to this room cause my hotel that I was staying at had sold out . So I took a chance on this hotel . Easy check-in but No elevators and once I got to my room they gave me A un-clean room . They cleaned they room pretty fast . It wasn't until night fall . The creatures comes out . I was bitten a few times on my neck . I got and put my clothes and inspect the bed didn't see anything but once time progress maybe 15 mins went by I sent it . I took a pic and killed it . I went to front office and the lady told me to wait till the morning ppl come in the morning , so how would I sleep . I'm scared another one might come again . And it's 430 am in the morning I'm still tired but I won't be able to sleep knowing it's bed bugs in my room . I knew I shouldn't stay here . YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED .....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nikki5900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a one night stay and it was great. There were plenty of places to walk our dog and the room and bed were clean. The room had WiFi and a desk. We would definitely stay at another Red Roof Inn. We had a King size bed, plenty of room for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are better for older people, you have your car in front of your door. We p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigMrE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here on my way to New York because I could get a much cheaper room in NJ vs NYC. This hotel is pretty much what you'd expect. Low prices, decent rooms, friendly service. While nothing fancy, I have no complaints about this hotel and would recommend it for a night or two if you're looking for a bargain. It was clean, safe, and included free parking and WiFi. Don't expect a 4 star hotel and you won't be disappointed.

Two notes: you enter the rooms from the outside walkway, and the sink is outside of the rest of the bathroom. I found this very convenient when staying with several people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtrek72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My son and I stayed there for 1 night in out recent Road Trip to the East Coast. The room is clean but the smell of whatever product they use to clean it was very upsetting to me. At least it has good strength free Wi Fi but for only a few dollars more I'd have been able to stay in much better place. Towels and bedding is really cheap. There was only local channels on the TV, but I don't think they advertise Cable TV, my stay was really short so I didn't bother to ask. I think is fine, but maybe they should review the price for what they offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlCifuentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edison hotels
3.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Edison - Raritan Center
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 15 in Edison
86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Edison
Comfort Inn Edison
#9 of 15 in Edison
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Edison
Crowne Plaza Edison
#6 of 15 in Edison
193 reviews
3.3 mi away
E Hotel Banquet & Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Edison Hotel Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Edison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Edison

Property: Red Roof Inn Edison
Address: 860 New Durham Rd, I-287 at Middlesex Avenue, Exit #3/2-A, Edison, NJ 08817-2837
Region: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Edison 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms feature wireless internet, complimentary local and long distance calls and faxes, lobby coffee, upgraded HBO channels. Our coffee bar is in our lobby and available 24/7 along with complimentary USA Today during the week. Our Superior King rooms include Microwave, fridge, in room coffee brewer and a large work area. Children under 18 are free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Edison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Edison Hotel Edison
Edison Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing