We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why can't every hotel be this economical?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Edison
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We always try to stay at a Red Roof because it's so reasonable, but really nice. This one is no exception. We paid in advance and I only paid $42.00, But the room was impeccably clean and the beds were comfortable. Why can't every hotel chain be this affordable? I will always look for a Red Roof when I go away. You're just throwing away your money if you stay someplace else.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
Thank pegasus2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2010

Stayed here one night on the way from PA to MA with my dog. This Red Roof Inn ranks about average compared to all the other Red Roof Inns I have stayed at before. It is right off the exit from I-287 and is a few minutes away from the major fast food chains and shopping malls. The bathroom is very clean and the mattresses a bit soft. I brought my own pillow based on other reviewers' claims that the pillows were lumpy but they were OK. Maintenance was a bit lacking as there was a burned out overhead light in my room and the thermostat dial was illegible resulting in a chilly room (I used two blankets). The basic CRT TV's could use an upgrade to flat screens. My dog and I appreciated the huge field in front of the hotel. For the N.J. area, the rates are very reasonable for what you get - a clean room, convenient location, fairly safe area -- but don't expect the usual frills. I'd probably return to this Red Roof but wouldn't go out of my way.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twogoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

This motel is conveniently based within a short drive to New York and is an excellent value considering this. The staff were great, and the location felt safe. However, one bed was filthy like it not been cleaned, and the second was cleaner but not great,, so we slept on top of several sheets. Everything else was fine. Dog friendly is a big plus.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LVannapolisvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

My husband and I stayed here on Thanksgiving night since we were visiting family and did not want to drive home after dinner. We brought our black lab with us.
The room was very clean and the desk clerk was nice and helpful. We enjoyed being able to travel with our dog and they were very accomodating. The hotel is in a good location and we felt safe. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renossister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I needed a reasonably priced hotel in Edison. The front door looked like someone tried to knock it down. Lots of dents inside metal door and outside. The room was clean. The wall immediately behind the door had a huge (4' high by 3' wide) spackle job to repair what had to have been a hole in the wall. The patch job wasn't bad - it wasn't sanded, nor was it painted. The Red Roof website indicated that plasma televisions were in the room. There was a standard CRT 19" tv. The free Wifi was up and down the whole time I was there.

Those, in my opinion, were somewhat small issues. Again, the room was clean and it was quiet. I am sure not all of the rooms have spackling on the walls - I just happened to be given the one that did. I would recommend it but it's unlikely that I will stay there again.

Also needed to print a document (3 pages) that I was working on. I asked the front desk if they had a printer. She told me they do not have access to the printer and only the manager has the access code. I had to drive 4 miles to visit Kinko's to print my paper. Not a business friendly hotel, at all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scooterpie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Spent a week here recently & found it to be a great value. Room was clean and everything worked properly. The staff were fantastic!! Friendly and helpful always. Highly recommend for no frills stay that's easy on the pocket book! You might want to request a room which isn't on the highway side as 287 is a busy highway.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistermoose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I needed a pet friendly hotel which accepts large dogs in the Edison area. Last time I visited I stayed in the Extended Stay, which wasn't horrible, however I preferred not to stay there again. This time, in spite of some of the more unfavorable reviews, I stayed at the Red Roof Inn. The check in was great. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. For a king room/pet friendly, I paid $82.00 which I felt was a great rate. I was hoping I wasn't disappointed upon entering the room. The air conditioner was already on when I entered the room. I guess being it was so hot, and they expected my check in, someone put the air conditioner on which I felt was very courteous. Major kudos for that! The room was exceptionally clean, for a smoking/pet friendly room. I was pleasantly surprised. The bed was very firm which I didn't mind and the pillows a little lumpy, which really didn't bother me or my sleeping. When I was leaving to go out and pick up my dog, I had to ask for a television remote and a privacy door sign, neither were in the room. When I went back for the evening, both the remote and the privacy sign were at the desk waiting for me. Again, friendly staff. I would have preferred an elevator instead of steps, but for the price of the room, I walked steps. I heard absolutely nothing, not even a voice outside my room. I slept well and so did my dog. The only bit of oddness was when I was walking along the balcony to take my dog down for a walk, a man standing on the balcony purposely dropped a condom wrapper. That was the only time I really had to shake my head while I was at this Red Roof Inn. I need to make a monthly trip to Staten Island so I will be staying at the Red Roof Inn, Edison. As long as they keep the rooms clean, the staff stays friendly and the place stays trouble free and quiet,, I'll be staying there every month. This Red Roof Inn exceeded my expectations for a room with a pretty low rate.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prettyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edison hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Edison
Comfort Inn Edison
#8 of 15 in Edison
113 reviews
3.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Edison - Raritan Center
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Edison
Crowne Plaza Edison
#4 of 15 in Edison
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
E Hotel Banquet & Conference Center
2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 15 in Edison
90 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Edison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Edison

Address: 860 New Durham Rd, I-287 at Middlesex Avenue, Exit #3/2-A, Edison, NJ 08817-2837
Region: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Price Range: £53 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Edison 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms feature wireless internet, complimentary local and long distance calls and faxes, lobby coffee, upgraded HBO channels. Our coffee bar is in our lobby and available 24/7 along with complimentary USA Today during the week. Our Superior King rooms include Microwave, fridge, in room coffee brewer and a large work area. Children under 18 are free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Edison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Edison Hotel Edison
Edison Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing