We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Relatively clean rooms in a great location if you have to stay close to the higway, still quiet and service is great, had a smooth check in and check out, staff was very helpful. Breakfast is ok, not too many healthy choices, but enough to fill you up for your way.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahofan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Recently, we stayed 3 nights at Fairfield Inn and Suites, Our experience there was excellent. The administration was welcoming. We were in a good location. The beds were comfortable and clean and the breakfast was delicious (especially the waffles).These are one of the best hotels that we have stayed in and we anticipate on staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrius F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed here one night during the summer as a stop over for the night. The hotel is conveniently located, check-in was reasonably speedy, and the room was comfortable enough, and clean. Nothing spectacular, and in line with what I normally expect from this brand. The only disppointment we encountered is that my wife had left her own pillow behind, and we had called teh hotel about 2 hours after we checked out. They said that they would look into it, but never gave us a call back. Therefore, they only get 3 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huskyhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison_NjJwr, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

We are sorry to hear about your pillow and for all I know, we may have it. If you can let me know the type, the case on the pillow and maybe the color, I will personally investigate for you. Bad service is inexcuseable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This Fairfield Inn is nicer than most due to it being reasonably new. Rooms are well sized, epecially the suites which have a seperate sleeping area and mini fridge and microwave (but no door to seperate the spaces). The location is ok, not great (no eastbound access to the interstate) and a little far from decent restaurants and shopping. The road which the hotel faces has quite a bit of commuter traffic including trucks, so make sure your room faces the back parking lot. Staff is accomodating and pleasant. Breakfast is the typical for a Fairfield...some reasonalbly healthy selections and some not so good microwave breakfast sandwiches.

Room Tip: Face the back parking lot otherwise expect truck noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Had business in the area, so I booked a room online. Ordered a King Suite at a government rate for a decent price. When I checked in they downgraded me to a dirty room with two double beds. The lady behind the counter, pretty sure her tag said general manager, told me there was no way I could get the King for that price. I said, "What?, That's what I ordered, and I could have went to another nearby hotel for a similar rate." This lady was rude and basically said too bad. If I wasn't exhausted from traveling, I would have walked out and went up the road to the Hampton Inn on exit 5

I go up to the room and it was not very clean, had a small cruddy TV, paper thin towels, just not up to today's standards. May be the worst Marriott property I've every stayed.

Room Tip: Rooms at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FredK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison_NjJwr, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

We are sorry for the bad experience you had at our facility. Please accept our apologies - I am not really sure why you did not have the room type you requested. If you contact me direct for future stays, I will ensure you receive the room type you desire as long as it is available we will guarantee the room type for you.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I stay in this hotel when I have business in Brooklyn, Staten Island and western Long Island. The rates are significantly less than staying in any of the boroughs of NYC or western Long Island. The hotel is right off of route 287 which runs into route 440 straight into Staten Island.

I did receive a complimentary upgrade to a suite as a Platinum Marriott Rewards member.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCRDSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in September 2011 for almost a week. Found the hotel very convenient to all major highways access to get us quickly anywhere we needed to go. Staff was friendly, but fell short in some areas. The breakfast area was not adequetly cleaned, we had to wipe our table every morning to remove the crumbs and stickiness. While the usual breakfast staples such as the fruit cups and yogurts were available during the weekdays, they were not available on Saturday and Sunday, even for asking. One day when we were in our room, the fire alarm went on but turned off after a short time. This ear piercing alarm sound continued repeatedly for brief periods. I called the front desk to be told that they tested the alarm, as I suspected. It would have been helpful if the hotel posted a note by the elevators for everyone to see, warning the guests about the alarm testing. It would prevent the initial uncertainty of real or false alarm, and save the hearing for those who would opted not to be there for the test, as we certainly would have opted out. Otherwise, the hotel was fine, our room was clean and fresh every day, and so was the excercise room which we used daily. Nothing major to prevent us from staying here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor is always a good choice, and the back of the hotel is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterandLindaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edison
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Edison Woodbridge
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Edison
Crowne Plaza Edison
#4 of 15 in Edison
207 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Edison
Red Roof Inn Edison
#6 of 15 in Edison
257 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 5 in South Plainfield
596 reviews
2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 15 in Edison
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield

Address: 875 New Durham Rd, Edison, NJ 08817-2827 (Formerly Fairfield Inn and Suites Edison)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Price Range: £71 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling to New Jersey on business or pleasure, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison by Marriott is the place to be. This three story hotel has spacious, fresh and clean guest rooms and suites at affordable price, right for anyone's budget. The Fairfield Inn & Suites is a brand new hotel suitably located off Rt. 287 North at Exit 4 in central New Jersey. Business Travelers will enjoy convenient access to numerous companies and universities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Edison Hotel Edison
Fairfield Inn Edison
Fairfield Inn Hotel Edison
Edison Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing