We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, excellent location if you have a rental car or leave / arrive at EWR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bad Schonborn, Germany
Level Contributor
142 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great stay, excellent location if you have a rental car or leave / arrive at EWR”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed as family over Thanksgiving in the hotel. We had an excellent stay there, the rooms are nice and are renovated with new beds, large flat screen TV, etc. We had a rate incl. breakfast buffet, which was served in the restaurant. The food was okay, but honestly nothing outstanding, more a standard buffet, like I have seen at Marriott / Renaissance already a few times. The great thing for us was the location, as it is across the street of the airport, but still quite rooms, you are in the hotel / at the security within 5-10 minutes, and it is close to the former Jersey Gardens Mall and all the interstates in all directions and also the Path can be reached via the hotel bus shuttle easily.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adpalme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    246
    82
    30
    19
See reviews for
86
121
64
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night as we'd a layover, and it was simply sensational! The hotel itself is beautiful! I wasn't sure when looking from the outside but it was really swell inside. The rooms are decorated to a really high standard and the bed is exceptionally comfortable - I had one of the best nights sleeps I've had in a very long time (I just wish I didn't have to catch a flight early am!!!!!!!!) staff are vet pleasant and the courtesy bus to/ from terminal is very efficient and fantastic service.
Overall we had a lovely stay, wish it could of been longer but would stay again with no hesitations!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

On a recent business trip, I spent the final night at the Newark Airport Renaissance Hotel and it was an excellent choice of airport hotels. The facility is older, but recently renovated and in very good shape, the staff was warm and friendly and I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

I returned my rental car to the airport facility and called the hotel front desk for directions to the hotel shuttle, the friendly lady who answered provided accurate instructions for the AirTrain stop (P4) to catch ANY hotel shuttle - this is how the EWR airport shuttles work, one pickup area for all terminals and all hotels.

After a short wait, the shuttle arrived, the driver was very friendly, loaded my suitcase and offered me a cold bottle of water from the cooler on the shuttle. The drive to the hotel was about 5 minutes and I was dropped at the front door.

Checking in was equally efficient and the front desk staff was cheerful and very hospitable.

My room was recently renovated, the entryway was done in a darker wood floor, the rest of the room was carpeted and had comfortable furniture and a standard Renaissance bed which is quite comfortable. The glass work desk was unique, comfortable and best of all came with a great Aeron desk chair, a far better quality and more comfortable desk chair than is found at most hotels!

As a Marriott platinum member, I had access to the concierge lounge. The evening service was terrific, basically a full dinner with an excellent pasta dish, a salad and an appetizer and the standard veggie and dip and cheese and crackers choices. Breakfast the next morning was equally good with eggs or egg whites, bacon, potatoes, plenty of fruit and other breakfast foods.

When ready to return to the airport, there was a short wait (the shuttle runs every 15 minutes) and off we went. One warning, the return trip to the airport takes about 10-12 minutes, it is longer than the trip from the airport to hotel, so allow a bit of extra time. The bonus on the return trip was being dropped of at the departure terminal area and not the P4 pickup area.

Next time I'm in Newark and need a hotel at the airport I won't look anywhere else, the Renaissance is close, well maintained, clean and friendly.

One other note, the whole airport area is not the best part of Newark and the hotel parking lot is ringed by a tall security fence with a guard at the entry gate, this provides a feeling of safety and security for this neighborhood and I had no concerns about safety in the hotel.

Room Tip: I like high floors and you get a good view of airport operations from the top floors facing the fiel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bw777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Having always stayed at the airport marriott i changed to this hotel following the terrible renovations and fall off in quality at the marriott. Not a long drive from the airport. Very comfortable clean room and excellent service in the classy and cosy bar. Tasty food and good selection of drinks. This hotel has won me over. I've booked to stay there again at the end of january when next in newark.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed for two nights with the family during a forced layover. I could smell it come (weather) so I booked a hotel. Chose the Renaissance over the Marriott based on the website.

The site states "Airport shuttle service, on request, complimentary". When I called to get the shuttle from EWR, the first time, I got put on hold then hung-up on. The second time, upon insisting, I was told that the "upon request complimentary shuttle" was only for airline crews and that I would have to take a train then wait for the shuttle. This is misleading (had I known I would have picked another hotel as the 1.5 mile cab ride was $30 with the luggage and all).

Rooms were fine. Bathrooms a little run down. Service was OK and the restaurant/bar was actually really nice. I requested a quote for transportation across town and was quoted a town car 'all-inclusive, gratuity as well'. The chauffeur (company owner) insisted that tip was not. I gave her $10 to make her go away but Marriott should pay more attention to the businesses they partner with as such practices do not reflect well on them.

Finally, I visited the pool. Water was nice and warm but the temperature by the pool area was fridgid. Didn't stay there much. Has red eyes for two days after my 1h swim. Not sure why. The gym was small but in good working order.

Given that I'm a lifetime gold with Marriott and currently platinum, I would only recommend this hotel with some reservations.

Room Tip: high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Had to do a layover at EWR for an international flight, and this hotel was so accommodating. I will definitely use it again when I have to do this.

Hotel was nice, recently renovated and extremely modern. It was only a few minutes from the airport and the shuttle ran every half hour.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikni2wri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I will never stay at any other hotel again when I am trapped in EWR. The hotel has a wonderful bar/restaurant and the rooms are very cozy. After being stuck and trapped in cancelations for my flights, this stay was my highlight. Friendly, professional service, great shuttle service and over all a relief to stressful days. Thank you

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bigskymom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0.9 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#5 of 14 in Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel

Property: Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
Address: 1000 Spring St, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2113 (Formerly Doubletree Hotel Newark Airport)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#2 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defining style and sophistication among Elizabeth, NJ hotels, the Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel welcomes travelers with opulent accommodations, tons of luxury amenities and unparalleled service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing