We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on a shopping trip and the hotel is in a great location. This is the second time I have stayed here & the rooms are very spacious and the beds very comfortable. There were 3 of us in a room with two double beds and the rooms are very clean and the bathroom a good size with a powerful shower. You can walk to the Jersey Gardens outlet mall or the hotel offers a shuttle service. There are restaurants to walk to for breakfast and dinner and the drive into the city is only about 45 minutes away. It is very close to the airport and you can use the shuttle. The staff are always very friendly and we will be returning again this year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor! I’m delighted you enjoyed your Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth experience. The feedback gives us a wonderful chance to make service operation impacts! We look forward to welcoming you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth for business or pleasure.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel the night before our flight home, as it was very close to the airport and offers a shuttle service 24 hours a day and thus is handy when you have a very early flight. on arrival we were met by smiling and helpful staff who made us very welcome. The rooms are spacious, clean and in good order. The hotel offers a limited restaurant service for all meals and although we didn't use it, it was relatively busy when open. Sadly it wasn't open for coffee at 4.30 in the morning when we needed it, nor was there anywhere else in the hotel to get a coffee for the early leavers, I understand the economics behind this, but a coffee vending machine might be a useful addition to the lobby!! Considering how close the hotel is to the airport and flight path you don't hear a thing - perhaps I'm going deaf in my old age?

There are plenty of restaurants within a 15 minute walk and indeed Ruby Tuesdays, only 2 minutes from the hotel, offers a reasonable selection of American fare, if you can face another burger/sandwich before you leave the US shores. Similarly, for those who want to bag a final bargain before you fly, there is the New Jersey Gardens Outlet Mall just a short walk away.

Would I stay here again when I fly out of Newark, the answer is a resounding yes, but next time I would book directly with the hotel and not use one of the "big" booking agents, as it is cheaper to book yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. Guest feedback is our top priority and we use them as service opportunities to ensure guest satisfaction. We have great rates available and you are entitled to receive Marriott Rewards points as well when booking directly through Marriott.

We do hope to welcome you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth in the near future and appreciate your loyalty to Marriott.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We flew into Newark and went on the Airtrain to P4 to get the free shuttle to the Hotel.

We had a really good stay here for 4 days last week. We found the Reception Staff very helpful especially Christopher.

We had booked a Double Room with two double beds and were delighted with it when we went up to it. It was a really big size and the beds were very comfy. It was spotless and when ever we asked the Cleaning Ladies for anything, they were more than happy to oblige. On previous trips I have stayed in New York and got very little sleep because of the noise from the Car Horns, Sirens etc. Got a full night sleep every night here.

For breakfast, we grabbed the yoghurt with fresh strawberries and granola or a Croissant from downstairs. We were able to use the Coffee maker to make Tea and coffee which was very handy.We ate in Ruby Tuesdays across the road 3 of the nights and the food was very good.

One of the reasons we booked this hotel was because of the convenience to Jersey Gardens. It was a great choice. It was a five minute walk across the road to it. We were able to go over and do shopping, bring it back and go back over again.

We used the 115 Bus from across in Jersey Gardens to go into New York one of the days. It was $13 return and brought us to the Port Authority, very handy. It took about 30 minutes.

This bus does not run on a Sunday so we used the Shuttle bus to the Airport and got the train in to see the Broadway Show Jersey Boys, which we had booked before we came. It was excellent! The train was more expensive, $25 return and took just as long as the bus.

We are planning another trip in two years and will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarrigGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. Guest satisfaction and customer care are amongst our highest priorities so thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Our location like you mentioned is one of our best amenities for all guests.

I will certainly share this positive feedback with members of my team as we aim to provide a truly memorable stay for all of our Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth guests. We do hope to welcome you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth in the near future.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great hotel for pre cruise and post cruise we stayed here for the cruise next day and when we came back from our cruise. The rooms were nice and clean on both stays. We had a fridge in the room which was nice since my wife had medicine that need to be in the fridge. The hotel is close to the mall which has a I-hop and other places to eat at. The hotel was quiet for being close to a very busy Airport Newark Airport. the staff was nice evening called for the cab when we need one to the cruise. The Airport shuttle was nice and easy to use even though you had to go to one spot to catch it. Will stay here again on my next cruise from here.

Room Tip: High floor for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freedumusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write and share feedback from your most recent stay on Trip Advisor.
Our location is one of our best amenities with being only 15 minutes from Cape Liberty Port and in walking distance to Jersey Gardens Outlet Collection Mall. We are also centrally located to all major New Jersey highways which assist with our guest satisfaction. Our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience from start to finish and we hope to welcome you back.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Primarily I would come back if I'm flying to/from EWR and could use a visit to the outlet mall 5 mins walk away.

The room furnishing is old. No home slippers and toiletries (super limited). No room service but you can get food from the bar at the lobby (which closes at 11pm).

The bar provides some good breakfast with Starbucks coffee. Or you can eat at IHOP or Ruby Tuesday just across the street.

Late checkout rates are $25 per hr up till 5pm, which later then that count as one night.

I would say improve the toiletries and maybe do some minor renovations. :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Mandy_Meidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write and share feedback from your most recent stay on Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for the dissatisfaction of not having home slippers and toiletries during your time spent with us. We have recently updated our amenities to have Paul Mitchell bath products.
Our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience from start to finish and we hope to welcome you back.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A large group of us stayed here prior to a cruise. The exterior of the grounds were well kept, the front desk was well staffed and the lobby was very clean. All of us were able to be checked in quickly and our rooms assigned. After were got our room assignment, my wife and I took our luggage to our room. We were surprised how spacious and clean in was. Well stocked with amenities. Very comfortable bed. Small couch and table as well as dresser and desk with chair. Fairly nice view. The lobby included a large area where guests could sit and talk as well as couches that were set in front of a large TV. Also in the lobby was The Bistro, which was a small bar/cafe. One person usually manned The Bistro, unless it got busy and then help would be called to help take orders and man the cash register. The Bistro had several tables and couch/booths to accommodate a fairly large crowd. Several restaurants were located within walking distance as well as a huge mall where you could probably get just about anything you forgot for your trip. Only complaint was that we added $25 to our room charge for breakfast before we arrived and it turns out that it would probably have cost us a little bit less if we had just ordered from the menu. Our ship was delayed so we couldn't get on until 5 o'clock and check out time was noon. They graciously allowed us to leave our luggage in a conference room until our bus arrived at 5 and we spent some of that time at the nearby mall. The staff was very friendly, very helpful and very courteous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. Guest satisfaction and customer care are amongst our highest priorities so thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I will certainly share this positive feedback with members of my team as we aim to provide a truly memorable stay for all of our Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth guests. We do hope to welcome you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth in the near future.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed for a night on our way back from our honeymoon. We had an overnight layover in Newark and it was convenient. I was most impressed with Chris at the Front Desk though, the gentleman working Sunday morning, 11/3. We were at the airport when I realized I thought I had lost my (new) wedding ring. My husband got on the phone with him and he immediately dropped everything, went up to the room with security and scoured it, reporting only having found one bobby pin we left behind. He showed immediate empathy and took action. Turns out we had it, but we so appreciate his willingness to help us. Thank you, Chris!!! -Kendal & Alex Young

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendal Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and Congratulations on your marriage! We are so glad you found your wedding ring. I have shared this great comment with Chris one our guest service representatives.

We do hope to welcome you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth in the near future and appreciate your loyalty to Marriott.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elizabeth hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
1.8 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#2 of 13 in Elizabeth
1,757 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Elizabeth

Address: 87 International Blvd, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-3924
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range: £89 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the same old business travel routine when you step inside our Courtyard Elizabeth Hotel near Newark Airport. Perfect for business travelers, this Elizabeth hotel boasts four meeting rooms and a state-of-the-art lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi & easy access to the latest news, weather & airport updates via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our lobby is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with healthy food & beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Guests of our Elizabeth hotel can relax in comfort in our contemporary accommodations featuring designer bedding, relax at our indoor pool & whirlpool or workout in our 24-hour fitness center. Our hotel is across from Jersey Gardens Mall and only 15 minutes from Port of Bayonne and the NJ Prudential Center. We are also central to UMDNJ, Rutgers & Kean University. The Courtyard Newark Elizabeth Hotel near Newark, NJ is designed to work the way you do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Newark Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth Hotel Elizabeth
Courtyard Elizabeth
Elizabeth Marriott
Elizabeth Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing