We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here for a night to be close to Newark for a friend's wedding nearby. I got a great deal on Priceline but they charge $14 for parking per 24 hours. This really bothered me - sure if you're in NYC or somewhere that places a premium on space then I understand. But Elizabeth, NJ? Come on.... So the great deal I got became a decent deal.

Other than that, the hotel is really nice. Front desk was very nice and helpful. The room was spotless and comfortable. The bed was amazing. Breakfast was very good - but the worker there wasn't too friendly. She answered questions and was helpful but came across as if she'd rather be doing something else. Not an enjoyable interaction.

Random oddity - there are two elevators and two elevator buttons - one for each elevator. However, each button only works for one elevator. So you need to press both of the "up" or "down" to make sure you're getting the closer elevator. Wasn't a negative, I just found it odd.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajesh p, General Manager at Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,

RAJESH PATEL
General Manager
Residence Inn Elizabeth
rajesh.patel@marriott.com
908-352-4300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    116
    39
    13
    12
See reviews for
83
54
18
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is pretty average, but it certainly is decent enough for an overnight stay between connections.

The bed was very comfortable and clean. The room was large and clean. I actually had a very nice sleep. I hate beds where there are clearly linens (like the old nylon bed spreads) that don't get changed between visits. And there was none of that, so that is the most important thing.

I believe the hotel had free wifi.

The hotel also runs an airport shuttle every half hour for free, and that was very useful.

There is also a free buffet breakfast. It's decent enough for a light snack in the morning, but I wouldn't want to eat there more than once.

All and all, I got a great deal on priceline and with the free breakfast and free shuttle, the value here is very good. No complaints.

Ya, the location sucks and I don't think there is much around (there is an IHOP and maybe another restaurant close by you can walk to). But really, it's an airport hotel. It's close to the airport. So that is what you are getting here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestcoastguyYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajesh p, General Manager at Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was recently booked by Hotels.com at an alternative hotel which was supposed to be Pet Friendly...on reaching the hotel after a 12 hour drive & feeling exhausted my family & I & our pet were turned away from the hotel as they said they were NOT a pet friendly hotel & Hotels.com refused to admit their mistake leaving us stranded!! After Hotels.com disconnected on us & told us there is no guarantee we would get a pet friendly hotel..which is so ridiculous, since that is exactly why we contacted them in the first place!!!!...the manager of the hotel got us in touch with Residence Inn & on reaching this hotel everything worked out & they made our stay so comfortable. The staff were EXCELLENT, my teen boys loved the breakfast every morning & the location to all the shopping was so convenient. They were so pet friendly & always greeted us so cheerfully which made us feel so welcome. Wonder why Hotels.com did not make a reservation for us here in the first place!!! Thank you Mr. Patel & staff for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajesh p, General Manager at Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wargrave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Residence Inn is in a fairly bleak location close to Newark International Airport. That said, it was clean and the suite was spacious. There was very little human contact - the place looked only sparsely inhabited! - but the room was comfortable and warm. Breakfast was a buffet with what seemed like lots of contract oil workers, so maybe you're getting a feel for the place. Nevertheless, it's convenient for the airport and for Cape Liberty Cruise Terminal. There's a mall right across the road which has some good shops. And the price was reasonable. So no big shocks, surprises or complaints. Just no 'wow'.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajesh p, General Manager at Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete reveiw on tripadvisor. I understand you were not delighted with staff service but did enjoy your overall stay. I would like to hear more about the experience we can learn and improve staff servcie and continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

rajesh.patel@marriott.com
908-352-4300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel 2 nights a week for about 6 months. It was always spotless. The employees are all helpful, fun, and professional. I had problems with my room twice in all those stays, once a broken lock, and once a clogged drain. Both were rectified within 10 minutes. The lock was disassembled and repaired before I finished reporting it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3rdDecadeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajesh p, General Manager at Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete reveiw on tripadvisor. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

I've stayed at several different residence Inn before, but this one did not meet my expectation. The hotel appears to be a decent hotel from their official website, it states that "We are also 2 miles away from Newark Liberty International Airport and offer a complimentary shuttle within a 5-mile radius" However, during my stay when I asked about the shuttle, they responded that they only provided shuttle service to P4 instead of terminals. When I asked about shuttle to the nearby outlet, I was told in verbatim "Not at this hotel, we don't have shuttle service to the outlet". Obviously the outlet is less than 5 miles from the hotel. During my stay, the room assigned looks clean and satisfactory however at around 2am I was awaken by a noise next door which is a storage room for employees, it sounded like alarm with constant beeping. It happened almost every night during my stay, I called the front desk for the first few nights and they were able to turn it off after about an hour or so, however the last night of my stay the front desk told me they didn't have anyone who can turn it off and ask if I wanted to switch room at 2am in the morning. When I checked out, no one even mentioned anything about it, so I brought up this issue and they offer to credit one day of parking fee. As a platinum marriott reward member, I felt the hotel did not make any effort to provide 100% customer satisfaction, and address the issues effectively during my stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F0rever77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajesh p, General Manager at Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First, I would like to with you and your family many best of season greeting. I want to thank you for your loyalty to Marriott. I do apologize for lack for service during your stay and would like to extend and welcome you to come back and stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me when you are in area and I'll be glad to take care of your reservations.

Thank you and have safe New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We flew home from Jamaica to Nashville through Newark and had to stay the night. We were very pleased with this hotel. It's clean, modernized, and the staff were very pleasant and accommodating. We asked for a rollaway and it was delivered immediately. The whole place looks newly renovated. The only downer was that we missed breakfast because it ended at 9.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juweliear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajesh p, General Manager at Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to hear your stay was pleasent & enjoyable and my staff was there to assis you with your needs. I am sorry to hear you were not able to join us for breakfast. If you are in area in future please do not hesitate to contact me and I'll be glad to offer you discounted rate or upgrade based on availability.

Thank you for your valued business and loyalty to Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
#6 of 13 in Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport

Property: Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport
Address: 83 International Blvd, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2924
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Residence Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing