We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Stay If You Fly Out Of Newark!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A Must Stay If You Fly Out Of Newark!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here with my husband & 2 small children the night before we flew out of the Newark airport. Booked through AAA and got a $159.99 Park & Fly package. An outstanding value for a night in this hotel, which included breakfast...plus we were able to leave our vehicle for the week while we were gone. Wish we had the opportunity to have breakfast (as we heard it was very good)...however we had to leave earlier than it was available the next morning.

Plugged the address into our GPS and had no issues finding the hotel. Upon arrival...the hotel lobby is warm, inviting, & charming. Staff was extremely helpful & friendly. We used the pool and it was very clean and refreshing after a long drive. Also used the laundry facilities (just the dryer)...and ran into a slight issue. But a quick trip downstairs and a staff member immediately followed me upstairs to help remedy the problem. Excellent customer service! Wi-Fi available in room worked well. Fitness Center looked nice, but didn't use. There were computers available for use in the lobby...as well as a small market with snacks available for purchase. They pretty much have everything you could possibly need here!

There is an indoor mall/outlet complex directly across the street...which we didn't get a chance to visit, but would have been very convenient to do some shopping if we had time. There are also 2 restaurants in the adjacent parking lot (IHop & Ruby Tuesdays) which were very convenient to walk to for dinner.

The van service to the airport was on time and very convenient...however, I will recommend that you be curb-side at least 15 minutes early...as it was just a VAN that shuttled us to the airport, and it was full (even at 6 AM). Not sure how many vans they run... so if you have to make your flight, definitely make sure you get there early.

Room, itself, was on the small side for 4 of us (with 2 queen beds)...but clean, nicely decorated, and beds very comfortable. Perfectly adequate. The toiletries they provide are high quality/brand name... which was also a nice touch.

As we drove through some sections of Newark that didn't look the safest... we never felt anything but safe staying at this hotel.

Upon our return flight into the Newark Airport... I called the hotel to ask how to find their shuttle. They instructed me to take the Air Train to the main terminal...and go to location "E4". Their shuttle picks up on the "15" and the "45" of each hour. Couldn't have been easier.

Had a wonderful experience at this Country Inn & Suites... and will absolutely stay here again next time I fly out of Newark. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDough14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    452
    196
    89
    68
See reviews for
403
342
83
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked a cruise from Cape Liberty NJ. After exploring many hotel & parking options, the $269 Stay, Park & Cruise package was convenient and affordable. Hotel night, breakfast the next morning, parking for the week in a secure parking lot, plus shuttle service to and from the cruise port were all included. There is a Ruby Tuesdays and I-Hop in the same parking lot. Garden City Outlet Mall is directly across the street.

Hotel room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Parking is secure and monitored. Breakfast is the usual hotel fare. The Shuttle to & from the pier made that part of the trip stress free, especially if you are not familiar with the area. Traffic going to and at the port is chaos. Driver was very friendly. We were dropped off and picked up right at the gate.

Hotel Staff was very friendly and went out of their way to assist you. I would recommend this hotel.... and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Lots of cruise passengers. Can get a little crowded at breakfast and waiting for shuttle all trying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The staff has been more than nice. Printing out directions for us to several destinations and also storing our luggage until check-in time so we didn't have to take us with us will being tourist. Even tho this is a airport hotel the noise was never a factor. My only issue was the breakfast was not up to the rest of the hotel standards. Just too many people for the smallish room and the hot items were allowed to run out. The desk clerks were very nice and helpful. Two places to eat adjoin the parking lot. A Denny's and a Ruby Tuesdays. I will stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Curry1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 1 night before my long intercontinental flight. The hotel is minutes drive from airport & provides free shuttle service both ways. The rooms are clean & comfortable. Food & drinks at the restaurant are good too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayskatering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel 2 nights. easy drive to NY. quite. two queen beds are ok. nothing too fancy but clean rooms, good food and a friendly staff. If you don't mind staying far from the city lights, then I would recommend this hotel. breakfast ok as well.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed in September for 1 night at the start of our trip and then for 2 nights at the end of our trip We were given a great suite with 3 beds Very pleasant staff arranged we had the same room for our return visit Breakfast is lovely Loads to choice from including bacon eggs waffles bagels fresh fruit Something for everyone .The swimming pool was warm and we all enjoyed a swim .Jersey Garden Mall is a 5 minute walk away and well worth a visit

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterpan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights when we couldn't get a flight out of Newark and the staff was incredibly friendly and sympathetic. They gave us toothbrushes and toothpaste, as well as discount vouchers to local restaraunts and the outlet mall across the street. The rooms are clean, airy and large. Breakfast is fantastic. There's a shuttle back and forth to the airport. Wi-fi is reliable and there are also computers in the lobby. Coffee is available 24/7 and there are even cookies at the desk when you check out. There's a Marriot next door but I don't see any reason to spend more when you can stay at this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GayRin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus
3.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Address: 100 International Blvd, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-3953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Elizabeth
#2 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming Hotel’s Convenient Location in Newark When you stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ, experience quality amenities like free high-speed Internet access and an indoor pool in a convenient location just two miles from Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR). Guests appreciate gracious services like a fitness center, a business center, meeting facilities and the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet, which is served daily. The area is full of delicious restaurants like Assaggini di Roma, high-end shopping like The Outlet Collection at Jersey Gardens Mall, and cultural centers like the Newark Museum. Plus, the hotel’s location in Newark is less than half an hour away by train from the exciting and iconic New York City. Book your comfortable, well-appointed room or suite today and enjoy a prime location near everything the area has to offer. Starting April 14, 2014, there will be an overnight parking charge of $10. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Country Inn And Suites Newark Airport
Country Inn Newark Airport
Country Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing