We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way Below Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hollywood, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way Below Average”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel because we have had wonderful experiences on several occasions at the CI&S in Redlands CA. Unfortunately, our stay here was not as expected based on our prior experiences. We did not need our room serviced on 3 of our days so we just traded towels , etc. for clean ones and got the needed supplies from the housekeeping attendant. However, after the third day when we did need the room cleaned, it was done very poorly. Was not vacuumed, coffee still in the carafe and not cleaned out, or dusted, etc. Also, the room that was listed on our reservation was not what we got and the hotel manager was not able to move us to the correct renovated room or adjust the rate, but did give us extra Carlson points. They need to get their renovations done quickly as this property is old and run down. I did not know they were privately owned and operated and I guess I will do more homework in the future and not just stay in one of their properties because of our CC Membership. The TV cable reception was horrible and the safe did not work. So many things to complain about and then you have maintenance up here trying to fix it all. Just not worth it... Sorry, but we were pretty disappointed about this one. Hope they get it together.

Room Tip: I guess, call to make sure you are getting what you are actually seeing on your online reservation...
See more room tips
Green Features: Fine with me. I can sleep on the same sheets for 3 nights to conserve water, not a big deal. I am myself an environmentally conscious person so I value that.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bforcucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    470
    207
    93
    74
See reviews for
435
350
84
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Thank you Patrick! I incorrectly booked one day ahead, but Patrick quickly sorted out my mistake. He upgraded our room, scheduled our morning shuttle and wake up call all with a smile. Our room was large, quiet, and clean, especially the bathroom...spotless! If only there was a spa robe. Breakfast was perfect...I loved the self serve Belgium waffle station with real whipped cream and strawberries, fresh fruit, cereal, juice, and more...even cups with lids for transport. Our shuttle was ready to leave at our appointed time, even though the van wasn't full. Our driver was very personable and dropped us at our terminal. We took advantage of the $10 parking in a secure lot at the hotel. We did have an incorrect charge on our bill but resolved it without any difficulty. There is even a restaurant next door. I have stayed at different airport properties without satisfaction. This was by far the best. After their present renovation, I'm sure it will be even better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceVP_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Joyce,

We appreciate you writing this review. It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel.
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. Thank you for finding the time to share about your stay.
It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. We know you have a choice when you travel and appreciate you choosing our hotel. Your comments will be shared with our staff, especially to Patrick who assisted you. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future. By that time, I guess, the renovations were already finished. Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The entire hotel needs a facelift. The rooms are old and dated, worn out. Slightly dirty but some of that could just be from being so old and beat up. Some carpets I don't mind walking on barefoot; this one I do. It is conveniently located but there are other hotels adjacent that look much nicer. The continental breakfast is free but it is bare bones. No eggs, no sausage, no bacon. Fresh fruit was a whole apple or orange. The main entree' was biscuits & gravy and country fried chicken. No thanks. I will look elsewhere on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank publicdfndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, online customer support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here the night on Mar 15th on a park & fly reservation made through Stay 123. We arrived late and were checked in quickly. Room was clean and beds were fine although a bit soft for my liking. Breakfast was available the next morning and was not all that great. Looked like powdered eggs, tired pastries and weak coffee. Problems started when the bill was put under the door in the morning. A $25 deposit is paid when the room is booked & it is supposed to be deducted from the final balance which is wasn't. I figured that it would be fixed quickly when I told them at the front desk. It wasn't & I was told that they have lots of this type of reservation and they never do that. I showed her the clause on the website. She wouldn't even read it, told me there was nothing she could do & I could call Patrick later in the day or Lisa the manager the next day. I called Patrick at 6pm, confirmed he was there but had to leave a message. I never heard from him so I called Lisa the next morning. I have yet to hear from her either. I was able to get this fixed when I called Stay 123. While I was on the line they called the hotel and got them to credit my Visa for the deposit. All in all a complete waste of my time and judging by what I was told that this is the way they do all these reservations I wonder how many other customers don't notice or bother to take the time to get their bill corrected.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 506canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. We understand the inconvenience an unexpected charge can cause. Please contact Corporate Customer Care if you require additional assistance in this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent here 1 night after landing at Newark. The hotel is dated and being renovated. The room and the bathroom were spacious. There is a microwave and a fridge as well as coffee set. The complimentary internet did not work (ethernet or wifi). Breakfast was average, your typical best western type. There is an indoor pool available. The Jersey Gardens outlet is within walking distance so you can beat the crowds.

Room Tip: all rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archimedesrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are constantly looking for ways to enhance the positive experiences of our guests and your valuable feedback will assist us to correct our deficiencies. Thank you for the opportunity to grow and improve more, we certainly hope to be of service to you again very soon. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our choir trip to NYC had to be extended an extra night, at late notice, due to food poisoning. This hotel was available, extremely helpful and compassionate to our group who arrived in three stages between the hours of midnight and 4am. They were flexible with extended checkouts for our group of about 80 students, teachers, and chaperones. Maid service was wonderful in that they allowed students to get the needed sleep after a harrowing night. The desk staff, specifically, Jamie, Marco, Soriah and Jassmine welcomed tired chaperones, accomodated a large amount of luggage for students and adults who arrived at different intervals--even offering water for chaperones coordinating rooms at midnight. Thank you so much for your service oriented attitudes and patience with students and adults on this occasion!

Rooms were sufficient; the free breakfast lasted until 10:30 and was continually refilled throughout the morning. There were two large student groups there overnight and did not seem to overwhelm the staff as they had enough food. Fresh fruit, cereal, some hot items, bread options, along with beverages were available.

Thank you again for such a positive ending to long and stressful night!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelleySk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. It is a pleasure to be of service to all of you, we truly appreciate that you had found all of our staffs helpful, flexible and compassionate.

Your comments will be shared to the desk staff, especially to Jamie, Marco, Soriah and Jassmine. They will for sure be happy and motivated to give exceptional customer service to our future guests.

Please advise us of your trip and we will be more than happy to ensure you receive the highest level of service.
Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I booked my reservation online and noone where on the website they said you had to be 21 to check in. I went to check in and to remind you im 19 they refused and said I had to be 21! I called the hire ups they couldnt even find it. They wont give me my money back and I didnt even stay there! And the highest up who we talked to hung up on us! The people there are rude and ignorant I will never try and book a room there ever again!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda2895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, online customer support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience at our hotel. It has always been our policy that no one under 21 be allowed to check in without an adult.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
#6 of 14 in Elizabeth
315 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Address: 100 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming Hotel’s Convenient Location in Newark When you stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ, experience quality amenities like free high-speed Internet access and an indoor pool in a convenient location just two miles from Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR). Guests appreciate gracious services like a fitness center, a business center, meeting facilities and the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet, which is served daily. The area is full of delicious restaurants like Assaggini di Roma, high-end shopping like The Outlet Collection at Jersey Gardens Mall, and cultural centers like the Newark Museum. Plus, the hotel’s location in Newark is less than half an hour away by train from the exciting and iconic New York City. Book your comfortable, well-appointed room or suite today and enjoy a prime location near everything the area has to offer. Starting April 14, 2014, there will be an overnight parking charge of $10. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Country Inn And Suites Newark Airport
Country Inn Newark Airport
Country Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing