We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I liked this hotel. Large rooms, comfy beds and good facilities. Good breakfast choice and staff helpful. Also found shuttle bus back to airport really handy. No complaints at all. Right opposite Ruby Tuesdays restaurant and Jersey Gardens Mall.

Room Tip: We had top floor which was great room with good view of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyTravellerUK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and hospitality. We are all pleased to learn we were able to make you feel at home and that our services and accommodations lived up to your expectations. We will happily share your comments with our staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

It has a good location with a shuttle bus to the airport every half hour and from there you can get to Manhattan easy.There is a huge outlet mall across the street and an IHOP around the corner.The room was clean and quiet.I found the staff somewhat uncaring.Numerous times I would have to wait for them to finish personal conversations either on the phone or with coworkers in order to get information.The staff seemed to walk right by problems and nobody took the initiative to fix them unless a guest complained.It was good for the price but don't expect to be wowed.

Room Tip: Shuttle bus to airport runs on the half hour, expect it to be there on the 15 and 45.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review and comments regarding your stay. Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you'll return someday to see how we have addressed and improved upon the issues that you have expressed, thanks to your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Rooms well equipped and comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly and situated close to airport with free shuttle bus service. However, very surprised and disappointed that there was no bar area or restaurant. Breakfast was included and this was minimal buffet style in a smallish room which was so crowded we had to wait for 40 minutes just to get a table.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our accommodations and services. Your comments and suggestions will help us to recognize our strengths and improve upon our weaknesses. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you give us a chance to serve you again and experience the improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stay here the night before our departure from EWR for Hawaii. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. One of our main criteria in selecting this hotel was an offer thru stay123.com for up to 14 days of free parking if you stay at least one night on either side of your trip. The extended parking area was perfect! Completely paved, with marked spaces, and behind a gated entry point. The free shuttle to/from EWR was efficient and courteous.

The rooms were average, if a bit dated. But there were clean! The pool looked nice, although we did not use it. The complimentary breakfast was a pleasant surprise. One of the better ones we've experienced at any hotel we've stayed at.

The hotel seems to have resolved the issues with both their complimentary breakfast offering as well as crediting payments to stay123.com, both of which were mentioned as negatives in other TripAdvisor postings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are all pleased to learn we were able to make you feel at home and that our services and accommodations lived up to your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was very accommodating for our large school group.
No problems in any of the rooms, the hotel was large and spacious. The pool was loved by the kids.
The hotel was in a great location for shopping, the new jersey outlets were across the street, we shopped til we dropped.
The breakfast buffet was always hot and fresh and included the basic pancakes, bagels and coffee but FREE so we loved it.

About a 35 min drive into the city depending on the the traffic. We had our school bus that drove us in every day so it wasn't any issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where there aren't students staying if you want peace and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melly6359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and hospitality. I have shared your compliments with our staff and thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize them for a job well done!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here as part of an east coast bus tour package and so my expectation was not that high given that most of the hotels we stayed in as part of the bus tour were located in the outskirts of towns and were mostly isolated. Country Inn (at Newark) was a welcome treat for us though as it was beside a big outlet store giving us several options for shopping and dining.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Country Inn (at Newark) for its:
- terrific location, walking distance to the Jersey Gardens Outlet/Mall, IHOP, and Ruby Tuesday
- clean, comfortable and well laid out room that were quite large (we were booked in a queen room)
- comfortable bed
- front desk/reception was warm and accommodating (considering he had to face my barrage of "tourist 101" questions)
- free breakfast (waffles, french toast, cereals, boiled eggs, yogurt, bread and pastries and bagels, along with juice, tea, & coffee)
- free wifi
- indoor pool was also a treat
- quiet place even if we expected it to be noisy given its proximity to a busy airport
- it wasn't so far as well to get to the standard sightseeing/tourist spots in new york city (i.e. Staten Island Ferry or the Statue of Liberty).

We definitely enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank with0ut_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are so glad to hear from you and to learn that we were able to give you a pleasant, comfortable and convenient experience. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the accommodations and service to be satisfactory. It is rewarding to hear that we have succeeded in making you feel at home. Thank you for your rating of our service, hospitality and accommodations you experienced during your recent stay with us! We look forward to the next!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is a nice property. The check and out process as well as the courtesy van to the airport and the cleanliness of room all were excellent. The big BUT comes with security of the parking lot. I booked this property as part of the park, stay, fly program. We left our car in the gated lot for a week. Upon our return from a wonderful vacation we found that "someone" had tossed our locked car. Thieves had broken in hoping to steal - money, I presume from us. We left no money in the car, but there were a few personal items; a garage door opener, gps, flashlight etc. nothing of value. Thieves left the passenger side door ajar - for how long, I do not know. The hood was unlatched - again for how long, I do not know. We immediately went to the front desk and the staff on duty were horrified and offered to take a report and call police. THIS is why I am giving the property an excellent rating. While we were informed that there was no security camera in the area where we parked, we suffered no property loss or damage to our vehicle. We just had the shock of attempted theft, the staff advised us that they would review their security measures and apologized. One staff member told us that the Jersey Gardens Mall (across the street) had been an increase in car break ins and attempted theft. Please keep that in mind when booking this property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluize36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

I am so very sorry to hear about the the attempted theft of the personal belongings in your vehicle, though I’m equally relieved to hear that you did not lose anything of value and that our staff was able to assist you so much in your efforts to address the situation.

You can absolutely rest assured that your voice is important to us and that our staff and management are truly sincere in our promise to improve upon the security measures taken to ensure the safety of guest property. Thank you for sharing this experience and for acknowledging the efforts of our staff to rectify the situation with the resources available. We hope you'll return and enjoy a safer five star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
#5 of 13 in Elizabeth
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport
1.9 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#2 of 13 in Elizabeth
1,756 reviews
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport

Address: 100 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Elizabeth
#2 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range: £81 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming Hotel’s Convenient Location in Newark When you stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ, experience quality amenities like free high-speed Internet access and an indoor pool in a convenient location just two miles from Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR). Guests appreciate gracious services like a fitness center, a business center, meeting facilities and the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet, which is served daily. The area is full of delicious restaurants like Assaggini di Roma, high-end shopping like The Outlet Collection at Jersey Gardens Mall, and cultural centers like the Newark Museum. Plus, the hotel’s location in Newark is less than half an hour away by train from the exciting and iconic New York City. Book your comfortable, well-appointed room or suite today and enjoy a prime location near everything the area has to offer. Starting April 14, 2014, there will be an overnight parking charge of $10. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Newark Airport
Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Country Inn Newark Airport
Country Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing