We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Needs some updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Service, Needs some updating”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I had just come in from a very long day and had some complications (related to my company) with checking in. The staff was so friendly and upbeat though that it really helped take the edge off! The bed was comfortable and I wished I could have slept even longer in it!

I would have liked it if the gym had free weights and more space (working out is huge to me). there really wasn't anywhere to run nearby and there was just cardio equipment in a very small room.

The hotel does have a pretty good selection of adult drinks for purchase (something I have not seen at other hotels), which was nice. They are well priced for Newark too. And they have a little Read and Return station if you want to read a book during your stay.

The hotel shuttle was easy and dependable.

They offered free breakfast, but I did not have time to eat the next morning before my flight left.

Green Features: Aside from the sign about hanging the towels if you want to reuse them, I did not notice any steps towards environmentally friendly thinking.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are so glad to hear from you and to learn that we were able to give you a pleasant, comfortable and convenient experience. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the accommodations and service to be satisfactory. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    467
    204
    92
    73
See reviews for
426
347
84
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here for a night between two flights. Hotel is just 5 minutes drive Newark airport and offers shuttle service to airport every 30 minutes. Pick up is from P4 and one can reach hotel quickly from airport. Rooms are large and even have microwave oven and a refrigerator. It is just a five minutes walking distance from the biggest mall in New Jersey. One can take an airport shuttle and onwards Newark Airport Manhattan Express bus and can be in midtown Manhattan in about an hour. Breakfast spread is basic with Waffles, eggs, fruits, flakes, juices etc. not very great. Wifi works without a password and one can use many devices such as cellphones, ipads and laptops simultaneously. Highly recommended for those who have a flight to catch from Newark Airport or for those on budget but would require connectivity with Manhattan!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajandani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are glad that you were satisfied with the hospitality of our staff and the convenience of our amenities and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights (June 1st to June 4th) after staying at the Westin Newport in the previous week.

The welcome was warm and wonderful by a staff member named Jazzmine ...

Joe at the reception counter was also very courteous and went out of his way to help.

Unfortunately, our experience was tarnished by the shuttle driver who dropped us off at the airport on the last day. He demanded a large and unreasonable tip and when that demand was not met, he was quite rude. And here I was thinking that tips are to be provided for good service ...

Also, in general the place is falling apart and it is an old property. The staff tries really hard to keep the place going but there is only so much that they can do. For example, the locker (safe) in our room was not working and we were forced to come down to keep our cash and valuables with the receptionist.
The breakfast staff was cheerful but the food itself was not quite edible. We did not take breakfast after the first morning even though it was free.

The Internet is free.

The shuttle service is free but as I mentioned, be aware that if you don't tip really well, some of the drivers can be extremely ill-behaved.

The Jersey Gardens Mall is nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTruthBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I am so sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations of quality service, accommodations and hospitality. It's our primary goal to ensure that you receive the best lodging experience and we wish to let you know that your voice is extremely important to us. We hope to see you again in the future and to impress you with the improvements we've made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I liked this hotel. Large rooms, comfy beds and good facilities. Good breakfast choice and staff helpful. Also found shuttle bus back to airport really handy. No complaints at all. Right opposite Ruby Tuesdays restaurant and Jersey Gardens Mall.

Room Tip: We had top floor which was great room with good view of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTravellerUK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and hospitality. We are all pleased to learn we were able to make you feel at home and that our services and accommodations lived up to your expectations. We will happily share your comments with our staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It has a good location with a shuttle bus to the airport every half hour and from there you can get to Manhattan easy.There is a huge outlet mall across the street and an IHOP around the corner.The room was clean and quiet.I found the staff somewhat uncaring.Numerous times I would have to wait for them to finish personal conversations either on the phone or with coworkers in order to get information.The staff seemed to walk right by problems and nobody took the initiative to fix them unless a guest complained.It was good for the price but don't expect to be wowed.

Room Tip: Shuttle bus to airport runs on the half hour, expect it to be there on the 15 and 45.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review and comments regarding your stay. Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you'll return someday to see how we have addressed and improved upon the issues that you have expressed, thanks to your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Rooms well equipped and comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly and situated close to airport with free shuttle bus service. However, very surprised and disappointed that there was no bar area or restaurant. Breakfast was included and this was minimal buffet style in a smallish room which was so crowded we had to wait for 40 minutes just to get a table.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our accommodations and services. Your comments and suggestions will help us to recognize our strengths and improve upon our weaknesses. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you give us a chance to serve you again and experience the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stay here the night before our departure from EWR for Hawaii. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. One of our main criteria in selecting this hotel was an offer thru stay123.com for up to 14 days of free parking if you stay at least one night on either side of your trip. The extended parking area was perfect! Completely paved, with marked spaces, and behind a gated entry point. The free shuttle to/from EWR was efficient and courteous.

The rooms were average, if a bit dated. But there were clean! The pool looked nice, although we did not use it. The complimentary breakfast was a pleasant surprise. One of the better ones we've experienced at any hotel we've stayed at.

The hotel seems to have resolved the issues with both their complimentary breakfast offering as well as crediting payments to stay123.com, both of which were mentioned as negatives in other TripAdvisor postings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are all pleased to learn we were able to make you feel at home and that our services and accommodations lived up to your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
#6 of 14 in Elizabeth
313 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
3.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Address: 100 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming Hotel’s Convenient Location in Newark When you stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ, experience quality amenities like free high-speed Internet access and an indoor pool in a convenient location just two miles from Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR). Guests appreciate gracious services like a fitness center, a business center, meeting facilities and the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet, which is served daily. The area is full of delicious restaurants like Assaggini di Roma, high-end shopping like The Outlet Collection at Jersey Gardens Mall, and cultural centers like the Newark Museum. Plus, the hotel’s location in Newark is less than half an hour away by train from the exciting and iconic New York City. Book your comfortable, well-appointed room or suite today and enjoy a prime location near everything the area has to offer. Starting April 14, 2014, there will be an overnight parking charge of $10. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Newark Airport
Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Country Inn Newark Airport
Country Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing