We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We regularly stay at Embassy suites and have been more or less satisfied but our recent experience at this hotel has proved otherwise.The only reason we chose to stay here was because it was close to New York and we could commute by train and avoid all the traffic hassle.The receptionist was not at all welcoming and seemed more interested in entertaining
another hour glass figured lady who came after us rather than my husband and myself.Once we were in the room I realized that there were no extra sheets,blanket and pillows for the pull out couch.We called the front desk to request for some and waited for them to be brought to the room but even after 1.5 hours no one turned up,I made a second call with the same request and waited the whole night and nothing was delivered.As we were all tired i had to make do with pulling a sheet and pillow from the bed.The following morning i had to go downstairs and ask for the extra sheets and pillows at the front desk.For the price they charge the service was terrible and they did not bother replacing the toiletries either.Won't be staying here in future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiyadhAzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne T, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Embassy Suites- Newark Airport; and please accept our apologies for your less than satisfactory stay. We strive for exemplary service; however, it appears we fell short of your expectations.

Sincerely,
Adrienne Torres
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 781 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The two star rating has been given for the freezing cold shower, the slippery shower floor material, the lack of proper shelving in the shower to put your products, and the airplane noise. You should not have to put your shower products on the floor of the shower and I've stayed at a new Fairfield Inn next to the Buffalo Airport and heard NO plane noise whatsoever.

But five stars are given to executive chef Terrell Wilson. I called ahead of our visit and spoke with Mr. Wilson about whether gluten free options would be available at breakfast. He told me to ask for him when we came for breakfast. He made and served our gluten free breakfast himself. The GF bagels were the best I have ever eaten. He went out of his way to ensure that our needs were met and exceeded any expectation I had of having food that we could eat. Thank you, Mr. Wilson.

Regarding the two stars, PLEASE fix the water problem at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jcbens08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne T, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel, it is always our goal to exceed expectations in all aspects of a guest's stay, and clearly this was not met regarding the water temperature during your stay. We encountered an issue with our water heater and it was quickly addressed, but we’re sorry that it wasn't resolved sooner.

Your feedback has been passed along to our Executive Chef. Thank you again for your review and we hope you’ll give us another chance the next time you return to the area.

Sincerely,
Adrienne Torres
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Helpful and friendly staff. Great location, located just across from jersey Gardens Mall.....very easy to walk to the mall..Good service.Comp. breakfast was good.....great variety of breakfast foods.
Rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edmar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne T, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! We are thrilled that you thought our hotel was beautiful and that you enjoyed some of our great amenities such as our Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and our clean and spacious 2 room suites.

Your feedback has been forwarded to our staff. We look forward to your return trip.

Sincerely,
Adrienne T.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my family for 6 nights in June 2014. This is a new hotel, experiencing opening pains. Breakfast was constantly running out of items that were never replenished: coffee, fruit, bacon, etc. Dirty sheets and garbage in pull out couch. Didn't make up room one day, manager on duty told me they only make up rooms every three days! Yikes. This is a good chain, I"ve stayed in them for years. I'm sure the manager I spoke to will be fired and they will get the kinks out over the summer. Try it in 6 months, I'm sure it will be fine by then.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
2  Thank Clayton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne T, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We’re sorry we didn't provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Sincerely,
Adrienne Torres
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at Embassy Suites. Nice spacious, lovely Comp breakfast, but you had to pay by the day for internet. "Come on Embassy Suite." If you are not a Gold member you have to pay. But they have free internet service on their computers in the business center. Great hotel to stay otherwise. I relaxed in the whirlpool the night before coming home. AC computerized system that shots off. Will I stay again. Yes but, I would have to go downstairs to use the internet.

It's not just Business people that stay in your hotel.

We also went to play "Holler If Your Hear Me" in New York Very good, Young Artist showing off their talents. Must see, but not for children. It told the story of Tupac Shakur. Give them a chance. I loved it .


This was my first trip in years that I didn't shop till I dropped lol. It was a relaxing trip

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simmo230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne T, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you thought our hotel was beautiful and that you enjoyed some of our great amenities such as our Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and hot tub before you headed back home.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Adrienne T.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I booked 2 rooms and stayed 2 nights we stayed on the 8th floor 804 & 805. We had very little water pressure on Friday 6/20/14 and on Saturday we had no water in the morning and at night. I called the front desk and they said it was nothing that could be done about the water pressure, I spoke with other guest on different floors and they said they had no problem with shower or sink water? The toilet flushed and re-filled with no problems. I realize that it is a new hotel but this was unexceptable we had to go out to buy baby wipes and bottled water to use in order to clean ourselves. Sunday we were able to wash in the bathroom sink but still not enough water presser to take a shower. I was extremly disappointed the hotel was over booked that weekend so we couldn't move to another floor. I am a rewards member and at the end of my stay I didn't receive not 1 apology but instead treated as if I did something about the water. I was never offered any compensation for the bad experience. I have been with Marriot for years and I have had this happen when staying with them but they at least said sorry and they gave me 3 free nights stay and I did NOT have to ask, it was done without any expectation on my end as a way to keep me satisfied and that's why I always use their accomadations no matter what country I'm in. I thought I would try a new hotel experience and I had heard such great things about the Embassy Suites only to be let down and receive such poor quality customer services :(.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
2  Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne T, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback.

We’re sorry we didn't provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Sincerely,
Adrienne Torres
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I had a great time. It was because of my conversation with Brian on the phone when I called to inquire about the property, assuring that its a safe, quite, and a great place to stay and that my two 10th grade law students would be safe since, well, its near New Jersey...Embassy Suites has a great reputation the times I stayed on my US travels. My two 10th grade law students had such a great time that they didn't want to return to Los Angeles, California. The nice gentleman that checked us in was courteous, professional, and hospitable and I didn’t realize he was the guy that I had spoken to on the phone when I was in Los Angeles. When he said there was a mall nearby, he wasn't joking, it’s right across the street and saying its huge is an understatement. The Front desk personal was rock star, always nice, always helpful, always patience. The young lady at the front desk with the Japanese tattoo on her right wrist (it means friendship) and her front desk partner treated us like royalty. Luis the cook, along with the other cook, a cool guy as well, was nice to us, and their food delicious. The airport shuttle drivers John and Percy (from Peru) were helpful and provided great customer service, with Percy making sure that only hotel guest rode on the shuttle. In fact, I had to apologize to Percy at one point for him wanting to make sure that I was a guest at the hotel when I and my students arrived at the hotel and immediately headed to the nearby mall; he wanted to see my card to make sure that I was a guest. I thought he was being unfair, yet I learned later that people sometimes ride the shuttle to go to the email so I later apologized to him for disrespecting him as he was only doing his job. He and John are cool people. The lady at the hotel bar was really helpful, and enjoyed conversing with the bar patrons, she also made a perfect Kahlua Sombrero (sp?), so perfect that I took a photo of it.. Another lady at the front desk, Elizabeth…rock star. Elizabeth was awesome and like the rest of her team she was helpful to everyone that came to the front desk. She took care of us and made sure we had everything that we need. The whole stay was excellent. Looking forward to staying there again, it was a great trip, and the Embassy Suites was a great place to stay. I’d recommend it to anyone traveling to New York because least I forget, it is very easy to get to New York City from the hotel..and what we paid to stay there for a week, would have only allowed us to stay in NYC for 2 days..in a suite no less...Rock Star.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Said D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne T, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our hotel. It is always our goal to exceed expectations in all aspects of a guest's stay, and clearly we succeeded! We are so excited you enjoyed your stay! All of your comments have been forwarded off to the staff and they are all so thankful.

We look forward to your return trip!

Sincerely,
Adrienne Torres
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
1.9 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#2 of 13 in Elizabeth
1,749 reviews
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
#6 of 13 in Elizabeth
327 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport

Address: 95 International Blvd, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range: £89 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the New Jersey Turnpike and within walking distance to The Outlet Collection at Jersey Gardens, our Embassy Suites Newark Airport hotel is situated next to Newark Airport (EWR). The hotel is 30 minutes from downtown Manhattan and Times Square and just 17 minutes from Liberty State Park. Enjoy easy access to cruise ports, sporting arenas, concert venues and NYC attractions when you stay at this all-suite hotel in Elizabeth, NJ. Settle into a stylish, two-room suite with a separate living room with a sofa bed. Enjoy modern amenities, including a mini-refrigerator, a microwave and two HDTVs and work in comfort at the flexible work area with WiFI (additional charge)and remote printing. Start your day at this Newark Airport hotel with a free, cooked-to-order breakfast and enjoy American classics in The Grille. Unwind after your meal with a drink in the spacious Lobby Bar. Host events with 4,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space and stay connected in the complimentary BusinessLink™ Business Center. Our dedicated staff will be happy to help organize A/V equipment and catering options, to ensure your event is a success. Work out with the latest Precor(R) equipment in the Fitness Center or swim in the sparkling indoor pool with whirlpool. Meet friends and relax by the fireplace in the inviting atrium lobby, where you can enjoy our complimentary Evening Reception with complimentary beverages* and appetizers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing