We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Brand New Embassy, But very tired breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Wife,kid and I stayed here recently for a one night stay while attending an event in nearby Newark. I knew beforehand that this was a brand new property and I was excited to see how Hilton decided to design this new Embassy Suites. Impressive bright and airly lobby with high ceilings greeted us. Check in was fast friendly and efficient. I was not surprised that they have all guests {at this Embassy Suites specifically} sign all sorts of waivers and promises not to bring in outside food to consume in their public spaces. {Sorry guys no family reunions with food and drink in their lobby}no party policy etc etc. This is in a urban setting adjacent to the airport so they have to keep a reign on things lest this hotel declines quickly. I was there in time to enjoy there famous compimentary happy hour. Due to no fault of their own,guests only can have one free drink at the bar {NJ LAWS} and afterwards can purchase add'l drinks for a nominal cost. My room was modern bright and spacious. Nice bathroom and glass shower. Two flat screens with generous cable offerings. Only heard plane noises occasionally due to the double paned windows so a good night sleep was had by all. Next morning we headed down to their famous made to order breakfast buffet. It was crowded and the staff handled the rush very well. Tables were cleaned promptly as were any spills . NOW....breakfast is one of the main reasons that alot of people choose to stay at this brand. I used to travel over 100 nights a year.It is really what they are known for. That being said breakfast there was very disappointing. The company has decided to low ball the budget at this property. I have no idea why they would want to do this at such a new property in a high profile location. What you ask is "low ball",,,Low ball is frozen microwave mini pancakes rehyrated and presented as fresh..most Embassy suites have REAL pancakes made to order {some with blueberries if requested}Low ball is microwave cheap hash brown potatoes.. almost inedible "eggs" . The only saving grace were the authentic omelettes made to order and the juices were very good from the dispensers. Again Hilton ought to be ashamed of themselves {although I KNOW they are not}. So to wrap things up this is a very nice new property with a sub par breakfast not worthy of the property. I would stay there again based soley on how nice the rooms and public spaces are. I would just make sure to bring my own breakfast. Hotel gets an A Breakfast gets a C-

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SOBE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites N, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and comments. We are so happy to know that you did enjoy our hotel and spacious 2 room suites. Our Executive Chef and as well as the restaurant team welcomes your feedback and we are currently working to correct items that may need improvement.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Adrienne T
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Airport shuttle was on time. Parking for a week was included while I flew. It was pretty cheap as far as airport parking goes A room for my family of 5 was actually reasonable. I made a good choice. I will definitively stay there again should I have a ridiculously early flight again. if you have 4-5 people it is a good value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites N, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to complete an on-line review. We realize you have several options when it comes to Lodging and truly appreciate you selecting the Embassy Suites - Newark Airport. Your comments concerning the Hotel have been noted and passed on to our Entire Team. We look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future when travels bring you back to the greater Newark area and as always " Be our Guest".

Kindest Regards,

Jeff Fowlkes, CHA, CFBE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an excellent value for the price. We stayed in a suite which included two double beds in the bedroom and a sofa bed in the living room. Perfect place for our family of four.

Rooms are clean, have no odd smells, and were well equipped with a mini-fridge and microwave. Hotel location is convenient with nearby shopping and 30 minute drive to NYC. Staff was friendly, and breakfast was good though very busy.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Faraz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites N, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and comments.

We are so grateful to know that we have been able to take care of all of your needs during this recent stay.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We look forward to your future stays.

Sincerely,

Adrienne Torres
Guest Experienced Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel was well planned, clean, and full of amenities. The staff was quick, courteous, and professional. I stayed one night for business and all of my needs were met quickly and fully. The breakfast staff was just as professional as the desk staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites N, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to complete an on-line review. We realize you have several options when it comes to Lodging and truly appreciate you selecting the Embassy Suites - Newark Airport. Your comments concerning the Hotel have been noted and passed on to our Entire Team. We look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future when travels bring you back to the greater Newark area and as always " Be our Guest".

Kindest Regards,

Jeff Fowlkes, CHA, CFBE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This Embassy Suites property is new with upgraded amenities, very close to the airport and provides 24 hour airport shuttle. The suites are spacious and clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again and recommend to others traveling to this area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Tawanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites N, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to complete an on-line review. We realize you have several options when it comes to Lodging and truly appreciate you selecting the Embassy Suites - Newark Airport. Your comments concerning the Hotel have been noted and passed on to our Entire Team. We look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future when travels bring you back to the greater Newark area and as always " Be our Guest".

Kindest Regards,

Jeff Fowlkes, CHA, CFBE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The reason my answers were more average than above is because of the hotel ambiance. This hotel really needs music, bar and restaurant open throughout the day, and just an overall air of excitement. It seemed really dead and it should not have been given the newness and the lobby beauty. We checked in at 3 PM and our room was not ready, therefore, had to sit in the lobby with nothing open. No one notified us that the room was ready and had I not gone up to the desk again (while sitting in full view of the desk) we would have never known we could check in. We went to get coffee the next morning and there was no milk or cream until 10 AM.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank 767cherylc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuites N, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to complete the on-line survey. We realize you have several options when it comes to Lodging and truly appreciate you selecting the Embassy Suites - Newark Airport. Your comments concerning the Hotel have been noted and passed on to our Entire Team. We look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future when travels bring you back to the greater Newark area and as always " Be our Guest".

Sincerely,

Jeff Fowlkes, CHA, CFBE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Awful food, poor cleanliness, overpriced drinks in bar, not at all up to expectations of an Embassy Suites. I did get a partial refund after complaining but feel I should have gotten both nights free,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
2  Thank Sandi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne T, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to complete an on-line review. We realize you have several options when it comes to Lodging and truly appreciate you selecting the Embassy Suites - Newark Airport. Your comments concerning the Hotel have been noted and passed on to our Entire Team. By copy of this correspondence I have directed the Guest Experience Manager to also credit the additional night, my apologies and kindest regards.

Sincerely,

Jeff Fowlkes, CHA, CFBE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
1.9 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#2 of 13 in Elizabeth
1,753 reviews
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
#6 of 13 in Elizabeth
330 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport

Address: 95 International Blvd, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range: £89 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the New Jersey Turnpike and within walking distance to The Outlet Collection at Jersey Gardens, our Embassy Suites Newark Airport hotel is situated next to Newark Airport (EWR). The hotel is 30 minutes from downtown Manhattan and Times Square and just 17 minutes from Liberty State Park. Enjoy easy access to cruise ports, sporting arenas, concert venues and NYC attractions when you stay at this all-suite hotel in Elizabeth, NJ. Settle into a stylish, two-room suite with a separate living room with a sofa bed. Enjoy modern amenities, including a mini-refrigerator, a microwave and two HDTVs and work in comfort at the flexible work area with WiFI (additional charge)and remote printing. Start your day at this Newark Airport hotel with a free, cooked-to-order breakfast and enjoy American classics in The Grille. Unwind after your meal with a drink in the spacious Lobby Bar. Host events with 4,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space and stay connected in the complimentary BusinessLink™ Business Center. Our dedicated staff will be happy to help organize A/V equipment and catering options, to ensure your event is a success. Work out with the latest Precor(R) equipment in the Fitness Center or swim in the sparkling indoor pool with whirlpool. Meet friends and relax by the fireplace in the inviting atrium lobby, where you can enjoy our complimentary Evening Reception with complimentary beverages* and appetizers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing