We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are very dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Newark Airport
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Elizabeth
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Rooms are very dated”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Although close to Newark airport, I think there may be better options also close by. When you book Hilton, you expect a certain standard. This was certainly missing here. When I checked in due to my member status, I was upgraded which was great. The upgraded room however was very old and dated and needs a lot of work to it. It actually felt dirty and had a bit of a smell to it. I dread to think what the room would have been like if I had not have been upgraded. Don't think I will use this hotel again when I need an overnight at Newark airport.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank D0nLucifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamHeffron1, Manager at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, 25 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Thank you,

Adam Heffron
adam.heffron@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    624
    368
    151
    80
See reviews for
313
349
200
627
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stay at this hotel every time I have an early flight out of Newark Airport. It is nice and clean and well maintained as the staff is friendly. I have not experienced any other acomodations that this hotel provides besides check in at 8:00 pm and check out at 4:00 am. I understand some people may be turned off that the fact that there are no restaurants in walking distance from the hotel but the hotel does include a bar and restaurant. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel was fine and it is close to Newark Airport. Other than being close to the airport and catching an early flight - not sure why would stay here. Also, it is very annoying when they advertise a rate and then they charge extra for parking and wifi. Also food and drink prices are high.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank PhilFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
663 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Good hotel right next to Newark airport. The room and amenities were fine. No restaurants within walking distance so I had to eat at their bar/restaurant. Limited menu, the first thing the bar tender said to me was "happy hour is over". I didn't even ask about happy hour, I just wanted to get something to eat. Location was good because I had an early flight but next time I might try another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlagunabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I often stay at this hotel before an early flight out of Newark.

It's a good choice as long as you allow time to get there. Getting the hotel shuttle from the airport is not a great experience, with at least a 15 minute gap between buses. The waiting area for hotel shuttles is grim.

Once at the hotel, it's friendly, clean and comfortable. The restaurant is OK to good.

There is no executive lounge at the hotel - an omission!

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors - they are refurbished. Avoid being by the elevators or ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

First, you need to realize that this is an airport hotel. The view is the airport and everything associated with an airport, so you need to be prepared for that.

When you get to the airport, you will need to take the tram to the station where the shuttles pick you up. It was about a 15 minute wait, I think they advertise shuttles every 20 minutes.

We were put on a renovated floor, which still wouldn't compare well against a 5 star hotel, but it wasn't too bad. Rooms were quiet, bed wasn't too bad, all in all a clean, functional place to spend a night or so in transit.

If we were to end there, I would give the hotel an average rating, but I gave it a bump because of the service. We needed a cab for a couple of trips, and they have a local car service based in the hotel. The gentleman (Joe) was extremely helpful and really helped us get around.

We also grabbed some food in the hotel bar our last night, and the service was great. They stopped by frequently to check on us, and genuinely seemed to care about us, not something you see everywhere.

I'd definitely stay there again on my way through the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phildude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The front desk staff provides just basic service for diamond members, not what I was expecting after traveling to most of the Hilton ' in the USA. The restaurant don't have a good menu, and the staff really need to do a better job when servicing b/c I had to ask for everything, it was quite annoying. If you are looking for great or even good quality service please do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0.7 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Airport

Property: Hilton Newark Airport
Address: 1170 Spring St, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
#4 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets as well as 24 hour room service. Our Precor Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Newark Airport Hilton
Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing