We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Elizabeth
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Loved staying here. I was especially impressed with the hard working Lisa Atkins who was super friendly and who was busy making sure the breakfast spread remained awesone. And, wow, it was awesome! I had a waffle, sone eggs, bacon, orange juice and coffee but there were many other options that Lisa made sure were available like oatmeal, fruit as well as an assortment of baked treats.

Only issue was a TV remote control that was difficult to work with. Called the desk for a replacement but the replacement wasn't much better. Worse, the TV experience was such that the interface is set up to dupe you into hitting on a $15.99 movie.

But, overall, a clean, friendly place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jkerrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    455
    209
    99
    57
See reviews for
415
285
129
367
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The staff are very friendly and courteous. The rooms are nice and have very comfortable beds. The breakfast is wonderful and the times are 6am - 10am which was great from me and my coworkers schedules.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from housekeeping staff office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauppauge, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were picking up our granddaughter at Newark Airport and bringing her back home
to Rhode Island. I had made a reservation online and mistakenly checked the wrong month.
When we got to the Hampton Inn our reservation couldn't be found.

Amy and Jackie not only found a room for us at a cheaper rate but also entered a plea for us
to get our money back on the original reservation.

In addition, the next morning the breakfast room lady kindly made my granddaughter a waffle
and brought it to our table when it was done. Very nice.

They were extremely helpful and kind to this befuddled grandma.
Thanks

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottiejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Helpful staff, large and clean rooms.
Small parking in front and a large parking in the rear.
Note that access to the hotel is via a road that is parallel to the main road (all the hotels are along this parallel road).
The hotel has a free shuttle to Newark Airport.
It's also very close the the huge Jersey Gardens Outlet Mall.

Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Overall stay was average. I was disappointed that there was not a fridge or microwave in the room. Front desk staff was friendly. Complimentary breakfast had the basics. The breakfast staff didn't acknowledge the guests. Ignored everyone as he re-filled napkins, plates, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Had horrendous time finding the location due to road closures coming from NYC. Hotel was under $100 and that was amazing. Called Jose at the front desk and was lost and he guided me to the location. Once at the front desk he asked if he could give my kids some gummy bears:) He was genuine and friendly. Room was missing a pillow and called down and Jose had someone up to with pillow immediately. Breakfast was crowded but ladies working were extremely friendly and concerned with cleanliness.
We were in 422 next to the elevator and the door had what seemed to be a 1 inch gap under the door. This let a lot of light in at night. It also was pretty bad location in the morning as cleaning people congregated near our room and a bug crawled under the door and hid in our closet as we were checking out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe90123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Arrived on a Friday evening about 7 pm and check in was quick and easy. Hallways on the 3rd floor were a bit worn and had some old stains on them. Upon entering the room, I pulled back the comforter and saw a stain of about 3 inches in diameter near the foot of the bed. I went downstairs and told the agent and someone from housekeeping was there in less than 3 minutes. The stain was on the mattress pad/cover and not on the sheet but it was so pronounced that I was able to see it through the sheet. Crisis was averted quickly. The room has wifi and a mini fridge and microwave for use. Bed and pillows were average. Saturday morning breakfast, we decided to let the crowds disperse and go downstairs at 9:30-big mistake! The line was out of the door and the seating area was filled to capacity. By the time we got in, most items were empty and weren't refilled. Staff members were pleasant and it is in close proximity to the Jersey gardens outlet mall. If in the area again, not sure I would choose this location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPerfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0.8 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.2 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#4 of 14 in Elizabeth
1,664 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.0 mi away
Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Newark-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Newark-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
Address: 1128 Spring St., Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
#1 Best Value Hotel in Elizabeth
#1 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Newark-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Newark-Airport hotel is five minutes from the Newark Liberty airport and we provide complimentary airport shuttle services. Our Elizabeth, NJ hotel is a 10-minute-drive from the Outlet Collection - Jersey Gardens, New Jersey's largest outlet mall. And, we're 90-minutes from JFK and La Guardia Airports. Enjoy our 151 spacious guest rooms, our fitness room, complimentary WiFi and free, hot breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Newark-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Hampton Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing