We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wonder they made me prepay for the week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Elizabeth - Newark Liberty Intl Airport
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I don't know if this is the standard of hotel/motel lodging that I've encountered in the greater NY area, and I certainly have stayed in worse. Just not much worse. In a word, unbelievable.

I arrived at the Newark International Airport late in the evening, and after some searching, found the shuttle that took me to the motel. The driver was surly, so I withheld my tip. Upon arriving, I was greeted quite nicely by the front desk person, who insisted that I prepay my week's lodging in advance, which I did.

When looking for my room I noticed that the main parking area had flooded. When I entered the room, I wanted to run away. It was so depressing. Walls with holes in it, uneven floors, worn furniture, ragged drapes, a toilet that when you sat on it wobbled. The heating cooling unit was going full blast, and when I attempted to turn it off, the cover fell off. I couldn't change the heat setting, and could only get the unit to either blow cold air, or hot air.

It was past midnight, and I was exhausted, plus I had made arrangements to be picked up the next morning, so I was stuck. Better to just sleep and hope for the best. To my amazement, the bed actually was quite good. I slept soundly.

They advertise a breakfast, that in reality is a sack lunch you ask for. It contained a granola bar, a muffin, and an apple. Yum, yum.

Midweek, when I became a permanent fixture in the lobby waiting for my ride, the front desk people warmed up to me. All of a sudden, the shoddy housekeeping in my room became excellent. The sheets were changed daily, and my awful room was still awful, but it became not so awful.

The building is in real need of repair, but the staff were cordial and accommodating. There are a number of restaurants within a short two block walking distance. A sports bar next door where the food is excellent, and further down the street a middle eastern restaurant that also serves great food.

However, someone should point out that in the lobby vending machine, condoms shouldn't be placed next to the fruit loops.

I'm really surprised that Days Inn have let these folks be part of that franchise, and I hope steps are taken to remedy things. I saw a hooker in the parking lot soliciting, and some other scary looking people wondering around. This is not the publicity Days Inn wants. Hopefully things will change, but until they do, reconsider your lodging.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdsuprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Don't anyone ever stay at the days inn Newark, NJ. There are holes in the wall, the locks have been busted numerous time, and it's filthy. The steps outside leading to our room were rusted and the bolts were coming out. Someone can get hurt !! The owner just wants your money....he doesn't care WHO or WHAT kind of trash he allows in.....
I feared for my life and felt trapped in my room because of the fights and screaming going on right outside my door. They never called the police.....the manager was sent to take care of the disturbance....which continued on for 2 -3 hours.
Where is the board of health ?? And where is the corporate offices from Days Inn ?? Aren't they suppose to inspect their hotels twice a year ??

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Janeeska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
2  Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Port St. Lucie
22
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I've stayed at other Days Inn hotels in other cities, I am sure, but they've never been in such condition. The temperature control knob of the air conditioner was broken. The knob that could be controlled made the room either gradually too hot when turned one way, or gradually too cold when turned the other way, Several times during the night, I had to get up to adjust it. The night tables were far away from the bed. That means I could not access the night lamps without getting out of bed. the toilet seat was loose, but it worked fine. One could see outside through where the door closes. No insulation. The breakfast was laughable. No place to eat, but your room. You just get a bag with an apple, a mini cinnamon bun, a small cake bun, and a Hi-C. There is a coffee machine in a corner of the lobby. The bed was fine. Room service was adequate. The price was very good. However the place was not just inexpensive; it was cheap. It should be qualified as "Motel."

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank 824Jeannettec
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Elizabeth - Newark Liberty Intl Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Elizabeth - Newark Liberty Intl Airport

Address: 853 Spring St, near Newark Liberty Int'l. Airport, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2101 (Formerly Airport Hotel Inn and Suites)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range: £61 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Elizabeth - Newark Liberty Intl Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Elizabeth - Newark Liberty Intl Airport is located less than 2 miles from Newark Liberty Intl Airport. Enjoy a trip to the Staten Island Zoo or catch a game at the Riverfront Stadium. Free Wi-Fi and micro-fridges are available in all guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Motel 6 Elizabeth - Newark Liberty Intl Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newark International Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Econolodge Hotel Elizabeth
Econo Lodge Newark Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing