We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good one night stay, if you are using the airport.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good one night stay, if you are using the airport.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I checked in waiting for a flight the next day and my travel agency had messed up the reservation. The front desk staff was quick to fix it and were extremely pleasant and helpful. I had dinner at the bar and the med salad was excellent and huge. I don't like measured alcohol as I feel the establishment is try to be cheap. Bar staff was pleasant but untrained, I had to tell them what gin was and the brand they carried as they did not know. I think she was training to be fair.

Biggest issues was people were partying on my floor and the halls reeked of marijuana and were loud all night. Someone tried to get into my room at one point, assuming they had the wrong room.

Rooms were great, well apportioned and loved the TV.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scpenquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Scpenquin,

Thank you for taking the time in completing a review and bringing this matter to our attention. We are delighted to know that you liked our room and the friendly service received from our front desk. But, please do accept our sincere apology for the noise inconvenience and the service received from our bar staff. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Kind Regards,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    153
    118
    56
    44
See reviews for
86
77
47
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is OK. Room was reasonably nice, but the area (even for Airport hotel) leaves a bit to be desired. The parking package was nice, and shuttle was great on the way to the airport. But upon return we waited at the P4/hotel shuttle stop for over an hour for the shuttle. We saw many other hotel shuttles come and go....and then come and go. Called hotel and just then the shuttle appeared, but never stopped and drove right through. Had to call back - they were going to have driver turn around. Waited some more and called again. Told he was unable to turn around and returned to hotel and was now on his way back again. When he arrived no apology. This was really frustrating and major reason I would likely not return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you encountered problems with our shuttle service. I'll be speaking with our drivers to assure incidents like this do not happen again. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If you care to contact me directly feel free to email me at cvalerio@menlohotels.com

Best Regards,

Carlos Valerio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Had to stay in Newark due to a cancelled flight so chose this Crowne Plaza. Convenient to and from the airport as the free shuttle operates 24hrs a day. The rooms are clean and up on the 11th floor it is very quiet for the location so close to the airport. I was starving by the time I got to the hotel and was quickly served a very tasty and well proportioned grilled cheese BLT with fries for a very reasonable price given the NY area can be costly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 201pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have been staying at the hotel for 5 days a week for 2 n ahalf months for work. My experience was at first a shamble. I didnt have a microwave for several weeks. once i reported on a survey i recieved an apologe n ever since i have had a microwave in my room. That was the only negative thing i can say i had.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
483 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel as I arrived late night at Newark airport and had to leave early in the morning from the same airport. Room was ok, it was clean, did not hear much noise from the airport, but the room has an unpleasant smell. The shuttle to the airport runs 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ales11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Ales11_11,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's nice to hear your positive feedback about our clean rooms and 24 hours shuttle service. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant odor in your room. We always want our guest to have a relaxing and comfortable stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Newark Airport 3 times during February to April of 2014. The first time my room was great and the price was great. The second time my room was okay and the price was about $50. more than the first time. The third time my room was in terrible condition (torn lampshade, stained ceiling, loud heater, stained bedcover, etc) and cost twice as much as the first time I stayed. The free buffet breakfast was consistently the WORST ever. It would have to be free because I can't imagine anyone could be made to pay for it. I decided just to have a bagel but the cream cheese is so cheap even it was terrible! The staff at the snack bar was reasonably friendly as they served me frozen cheesecake. The woman in the gift shop could not be more unwelcoming if she tried. The man at the buffet register couldn't be more rude. The only consistently good thing at the hotel was Stephanie the front desk clerk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeCod58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear CapeCod58,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Newark.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The room was good. Bathroom nothing special. They had a breakfast buffet that was not included in the room. The parking was also an additional fee! There are nicer places to stay at the airport that are less expensive in the three star range. My choices are always to stay at one of the Marriott owned hotel in the area. There are a number of choices, three of which do not charge parking and include breakfast in the room charge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newark Airport, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Marb E,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the additional parking and breakfast charges. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#5 of 13 in Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newark Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
Address: 901 Spring Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel offers 24-hour Free Shuttle Service to Newark Liberty International Airport every 30 minutes. Located just off I-95 in Elizabeth, NJ, the Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel is the closest hotel to the terminals around the airport area. Visiting New York City? Take advantage of our courtesy shuttle to the airport where you can catch the airtrain that will drop you off at the airport train station, and you will be at NYC Penn Station within 20 minutes! It is also easy to visit The Prudential Center, home of the New Jersey Devils; Meadowlands Sports Complex, home of the NY Giants and NY Jets. We're close to Rutgers University, NJIT, UMDNJ, the Newark Museum and Jersey Gardens Mall.Business guests appreciate that our hotel in Elizabeth, NJ is close to major businesses. Port Newark - Elizabeth Marine Terminal is five miles, and our hotel is only five minutes from downtown Newark. The Liberty Cruise Port is only 15 minutes away. Our hotel is the 'Place to Meet' with facilities that are tailored to meet your needs. We feature one restaurants and lounge where you can meet with clients for a great meal. Other amenities include a 24-hour coffee shop; a professionally designed fitness center; indoor pool, and free high-speed Internet access. Book your stay at the Crowne Plaza Newark Airport hotel to discover a great hotel in Elizabeth, NJ. Daily Parking Fee $12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Crowne Plaza Elizabeth
Crowne Plaza Hotel Elizabeth
Sheraton Elizabeth
Four Points Elizabeth
Four Points Sheraton Newark Airport
Elizabeth Sheraton
Elizabeth Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing