We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greay Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Englewood
aliza727
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greay Stay”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed one night this past week. Room was great - clean and sharp looking. Great value. Helpful staff. Bathroom clean. Toiletries fine. Shuttle to city available for $12. Very willing to go the extra mile for guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliza727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    101
    70
    28
    15
See reviews for
105
41
34
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vermilion
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza, Englewood for 3 nights and found the lobby and reception area to be very nice as was the restaurant. The bar area was small and cozy. Prices were a bit high as is expected in hotel bars. We paid $14 for one ginger ale and a Jameson. ouch.

The room was clean but appeared to be getting long in the tooth. The bathroom definitely needs updated and the sitting area could also. The bed was very comfortable with an abundance of pillows.

I would stay there again and hope some minor updates will be completed by then.

Room Tip: I would recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gbounouar, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
On behalf of the hotel management and staff I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

Undoubtedly, there is always room for improvement and we thank you for assisting us towards that goal.

Thank you from all of us here at the Crowne Plaza Englewood and we are looking forward for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Most Sincerely,
Ghizlane Bounouar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Its a ok property, room is spacious (i stayed in King Room) but clearly is now need for a revamp. I am sure this hotel has seen better days. The staff is helpful, reception also. Shuttle service is provided by hotel within 5 miles of the property which adds to convenience.

But biggest let down is that the whole lobby smell of Chlorine from the pool. Restaurant is not so good and breakfast is 90 % repetitive every day which began troubling me as mine was an extended stay of 2 weeks.

The gym nearby (i was given free coupons as priority club member) is awesome though. I signoff saying this hotel is not bad for short stay without expecting any luxury but business comfort

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiritofindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gbounouar, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review and provide information in regards to your recent stay with us.
Undoubtedly, there is always room for improvement and we thank you for assisting us towards that goal.
Thank you from all of us here at the Crowne Plaza Englewood and we are looking forward for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Most sincerely,
Ghizlane Bounouar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here with our 22 month old daughter on the nights of Aug. 3rd and 4th. This was our second stay as my wife's family lives in Englewood so this a convenient hotel with a chain we have had good luck with in the past (including this location).

Although it had only been a year, our experience this time around bordered on down-right terrible. Although the staff was nice, just about everything else with the stay was not acceptable for this level of hotel.

The primary two issues we had were a smell that permeated the lobby of the hotel and also our floor (4th) and room and the overall heat and access of the swimming pool. The smell was a mix of mothballs, mildew and possibly smoke. I ignored the smell upon check-in because it was an extremely hot/humid day and I figured the AC was working overtime to keep up. When we entered our room though, the smell was worse and almost smelled like someone had smoked in our room and the hotel had tried to mask the smell. That said, the smell was in the hallway and front lobby. When I asked the front desk about the smell on my way out that night late for dinner, they looked at my like I was strange and said they had not complaints. We are not picky people an the smell was so distinct I refuse to believe they had no other inquiries.

The big win for this hotel for us is the hotel pool as our daughter is trying to learn to swim. The two issues we experienced with the pool were 1) The pool room itself was almost unbearably hot that weekend and jumping in to the pool itself offered little relief and 2) The fact that on Sunday, the hotel had apparently opened up their pool for some sort of local/community swim class. In short, the pool was packed with people not even staying at the hotel, there were no towels available and it eventually became stressful to be in the pool with our daughter so we left.

The last thing to note is that if you return to the hotel after 9 pm, expect to park far from the front door and if you opt for the breakfast buffet, set your standards low. Very low. I would recommend the quintessential diner that is located across the street and save your money on the hotel breakfast.

Very unlikely that we will be back for a 3rd stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaconStTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gbounouar, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
On behalf of the Hotel Management and Staff please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations.

I wish to thank you for taking the time to complete your review. I assure you that action steps will be taken in order to avoid similar situations in the future.


Most sincerely,
Ghizlane Bounouar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Was a pleasure to have this location to rest after a night of celebrating. Evening check in was pleasant as front desk staff was friendly and attentive. It was another matter when checking out in am. Although I lived in Englewood many years ago, I inquired about a place to eat and was looked upon as though I had three heads and was basically "blown off". Thank God for instincts and the internet.
I'd stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank withinthetemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gbounouar, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
On behalf of the entire team at the Crowne Plaza Englewood, we would like to thank you for taking the time to complete this review and share your experience with other travelers.
We constantly strive to improve our services and it is always refreshing to receive positive comments from our guests.
Thank you from all of us here at the Crowne Plaza Englewood and we are looking forward for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Most sincerely,
Ghizlane Bounouar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This by far was my best hotel stay! The rooms were very clean and spacious. The hotel is great and very, very nice. The hotel has parking which is a definite plus. The location was a little tricky at first but once I got it down I was okay. There was no drama and I had a very good stay and I would surely stay ther again if I had to go to NY again.

Room Tip: I used priceline and name your price. It was a very pleasant suprise to see that this hotel picked u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gbounouar, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, and share your experience with other travelers.
On behalf of our entire team we would like to thank you for your kind comments and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Most Sincerely,
Ghizlane Bounouar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Hotel is well maintained...breakfast was good too with lots of fresh fruits; but by far the biggest perk is the gym pass for The Gym right next door!! Beautiful gym, steam room, sauna and amazing classes (I took the stations class and was dripping sweat after the first 15 minutes!!).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPearlS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gbounouar, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review and share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Englewood with other travellers. On behalf of the hotel management and staff I wish to thank you for your kind comments.

We constantly strive to provide the best to all our guests and it is certainly refreshing to receive positive comments from them.

Thank you from all of us here at the Crowne Plaza Englewood and we are looking forward for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Most sincerely,
Ghizlane Bounouar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
1.3 mi away
Teaneck Marriott at Glenpointe
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn GW Bridge-Fort Lee NYC Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park
1.4 mi away
Best Western Fort Lee
Best Western Fort Lee
#3 of 6 in Fort Lee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood
Address: 401 South Van Brunt St, Englewood, NJ 07631-4604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Englewood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You ve just found Englewood s best kept secret! Located right off Route 4 and minutes from downtown Manhattan, the Crowne Plaza Englewood provides the perfect blend of comfort, convenience and service. Visit the many fine restaurants and shops of downtown Englewood. Take in a show at Bergen Performing Arts Center. Catch the game at Yankee Stadium, Citi Field or the Izod Center. Visiting New York City? New Jersey Transit bus transportation is only a few blocks away. Successful meetings start here! We are close to many corporations such as: Unilever, Samsung, LG Electronics, Staples, Cognizant and CareOne. Ready to relax after a big day? Settle into one of the spacious guest rooms at this first-class Englewood New Jersey hotel - with stylish furnishings and features that evoke the comforts of home. Unwind in our large heated swimming pool, or work out in our fully equipped exercise room. Planning a wedding or social event? Our on site catering staff is at your service, ready to create the perfect ambiance for every occasion. Experience unsurpassed elegance at this contemporary-style hotel in Northern New Jersey, where you'll find a variety of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Englewood
Englewood Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing