We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel close to NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Englewood
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel close to NYC”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My family and I decided to host our bi-annual family reunion there and we had a ball. The hotel's outside appearance can use an update but inside looks like it was remodeled recently. The rooms were decent size and sleeps up to 4 in the king suite. The pool was closed my entire stay and the soda machines were broken but overall I would stay there again to enjoy that great Jersey diner food across the street at 4 West Diner and to stroll the cute Palisades Ave and shop in the boutiques. Lets not forget the close proximity to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendall J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    101
    72
    28
    15
See reviews for
106
44
34
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great location. Not far from NYC at an affordable rate. When checking in, the front staff were very friendly and accomodating.Frances was very pleasant. After checking into my room, Frances called the room to say if I needed anything feel free to give her a call. My sister and I had adjoining rooms with a newborn. Our rooms were clean and a great size. Same with the bathrooms. Each and everytime I left or arrived back to the hotel the staff greeted me by name. Such a plus! I ordered room service . The food arrived quickly. Anna was very pleasant and made sure that the food was to my liking. I may add that a microwave and a fridge would be a nice addition to the rooms . I will definitely stay at the Englewood Crown Plaza when in New Jersey or NYC and advise others to also choose this hotel as their choice of stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightEyes828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I recently spent nearly a month in the Crowne Plaza Englewood. I was in NJ on a long business trip. When I arrived at the hotel after a 12 hour red-eye, I walked up to the front desk and the front desk manager barely looked up to greet me.
I received my room which looked Ok. The bathroom had some rust stains and a shower curtain. I don't like shower curtains and really prefer glass doors for hotel showers. The sheets are scratchy.
Breakfast was complimentary with my reservation. Very basic and the coffee was horrible.
The hotel bar isn't anything special except the lovely bartender (Paul I think) who is such a nice guy and a real asset to the hotel. The entire time I stayed at the hotel, he was the only person that bothered to learn my name. I would expect the front desk to learn the name of a guest that is staying there for nearly a month. I know they had no idea who I was because I received two packages and although I approached the front desk a few times about other things, they didn't mention that I had packages waiting (for 3 days). Only after I asked, did they gave me the packages.
Near the bed there is a little card stating that if you want your linens changed, please place the card on your pillow. I did that, the card was moved, the linens were not changed.
The AC was so noisy it sounded like a jet taking off in the room.

In short, I always stay in IHG hotels because I have status there, in the future I will look for a different hotel in the area.

Room Tip: High Floor is better, the lower floors can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayaarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear ayaarlos,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a hotel we could stop between leaving the auto train in Lorton VA and getting up to our place in the Catskill Mountains. The Crowne Plaza was the perfect stopping point with some wonderful restaurants nearby. The room was recently remodeled with new carpet and bedding. Spacious and comfortable. The bathroom shower/tub was not redone, showing rust stains and needing some work. Overall, it fit the bill for a short stay. The shuttle dropped us at the restaurant and picked us up when we were finished. A great perk!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were courteous and the rooms were clean. However we were disappointed with the fitness and pool area. The pool is quite small relative to the size of the hotel and there is no hot tub. The fitness room was very hot! Also, we would recommend adding refrigerators and microwaves to the rooms. This would make them even better for families.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear kmn77,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to read that you liked our friendly staff and clean rooms. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We regret that the pool and fitness center did not live up to your standards. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for your next visit.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here to avoid the hussle and bussle of New york city while on vacation. The rooms are big and the hotel is clean and easily accessible off the George Washington bridge. The staff is great and they offer free parking. Breakfast is not free. the pool is big and indoors.

Room Tip: dont worry about a view there is none on any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very nice, but pricey property in a quiet area with HWY access. Great room size compare to NYC. Room was fresh and clean, but no fridge or microwave. Front desk staff professional and friendly specially the front desk manager, she is the best. Most of the other staff need retraining to be more customers friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watchman4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossy S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your great comments and provide us with information in regards to your recent stay with us. On behalf of the hotel management and staff I wish to thank you for your kind comments.
We constantly strive to improve our services and it is always refreshing to receive positive comments from our guests. Undoubtedly, there is always room for improvement and we thank you for assisting us towards that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
1.3 mi away
Teaneck Marriott at Glenpointe
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn GW Bridge-Fort Lee NYC Area
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park
1.4 mi away
Best Western Fort Lee
Best Western Fort Lee
#3 of 6 in Fort Lee
324 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clinton Inn Hotel & Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood
Address: 401 South Van Brunt St, Englewood, NJ 07631-4604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Englewood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You ve just found Englewood s best kept secret! Located right off Route 4 and minutes from downtown Manhattan, the Crowne Plaza Englewood provides the perfect blend of comfort, convenience and service. Visit the many fine restaurants and shops of downtown Englewood. Take in a show at Bergen Performing Arts Center. Catch the game at Yankee Stadium, Citi Field or the Izod Center. Visiting New York City? New Jersey Transit bus transportation is only a few blocks away. Successful meetings start here! We are close to many corporations such as: Unilever, Samsung, LG Electronics, Staples, Cognizant and CareOne. Ready to relax after a big day? Settle into one of the spacious guest rooms at this first-class Englewood New Jersey hotel - with stylish furnishings and features that evoke the comforts of home. Unwind in our large heated swimming pool, or work out in our fully equipped exercise room. Planning a wedding or social event? Our on site catering staff is at your service, ready to create the perfect ambiance for every occasion. Experience unsurpassed elegance at this contemporary-style hotel in Northern New Jersey, where you'll find a variety of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Englewood
Englewood Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing