We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the WORST hotel in the area” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Element Ewing Princeton

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Element Ewing Princeton
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ewing
Sunnyvale
1 review
“Absolutely the WORST hotel in the area”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

AWFUL HOTEL! Do not book group bookings with this hotel. We had a group of over 150 people flying across country for an event and 2 days before the event they cancelled 30 rooms without giving any notice or explanation. They would not return phone calls. Hung up on a dozen or more parents calling to understand why and who authorized the cancellations. The front desk staff is rude and incompetent and Susan M in group sales went home for the weekend without calling anyone. I had to call 15 times and was on the phone for over 5 hours and in the end they did nothing but move me to another hotel 10 miles away two a room with one king when I have a family of 4 and had book a double room. There option was for ME to pay for another room at the new hotel to house my family. AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMomSunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elementewing, General Manager at Element Ewing Princeton, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
The hotel had a computer issue that could not have been prevented. This caused the massive overbooking issue we were left with. The issue was resolved. The General Manager, Director of Sales and Front Office Manager spent their entire weekend on the phone contacting every guest on explaining the issue. We made reservations on neighboring hotels and picked up th the tab for any hotel charging more than our own. The Group booked again for next year as well due to how well we handled the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    88
    44
    33
    13
See reviews for
107
62
20
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

The Element, Ewing is one of a small chain of hotels developed by Starwood Hotels. Located about 15 minutes from both Sesame Place and Princeton,and 30 minutes from Philadelphia, it is right off of I 295, adjacent to the now rather inactive Mercer County airport.
There are charging stations for Hybrids in the parking lot, and no bottled water available even for SPG members, as befits its ECO friendly status. In the lobby, you will find lots of natural light, white and gray furnishings of a modern sensibility, and even an Element scent, piped in from over the entry door. Hallways are various shades of gray, rooms have grayish hardwood floors and dark gray rugs and clean modern furniture. They also have kitchens and in the studio rooms, stainless steel appliances. Beds are Westin quality and very comfortable. Bathrooms are well lit, have above the fixture sinks, and a large walk in shower with rainwater shower heads plus individual hand held sprays. Rooms also have lots of natural light, as does the heated pool enclosure off the lobby.
Their are expensive bicycles inside the entry way to be used free by guests. Rooms are well wired, giving you cable hook-up to high speed internet, a plug in for your ipod that broadcasts on the flat screen TV, and DVD players. Studio and 1 bedroom rooms have gray danish modern sofas, Studios have stools to a breakfast bar, 1 bedrooms have a foldout table for 4 and an extra TV. There is a well equipped workout room off the lobby.
Free continental breakfast is served every morning that is a bit better than most, and a wine included happy hour Mon-Thur with tastings from local restaurants provide a nice community time A business center off the lobby includes 3 computers and a printer, all gratis. The hotel is basically monochromatic, with touches of natural green interrupting the white to gray theme. Guests are young singles, couples and families who appreciate the kitchens, the Eco friendly touches, up to date wiring, and the distinct decor. You don't have to be young to like this hotel, but you have to be open to a new sensibility. Staff were generally friendly, and service was good. If you are a couple, go for the large studios and you will be very comfortable. Nice countryside near the hotel. The Marriot Courtyard, down the street has a full service Restaurant which we did not try. Discounts exist for guests of the Element.

Room Tip: Avoid rear facing rooms which look out on DOT lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goaroving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed here to go to Sesame place, not far and a short dirve. The room was VERY clean, which we loved having a small daughter. The staff at night Steven was very helpful. During the day however, espeially at check-out they had no more baggage carts and were not willing to help us locate any. The hotel should invest in more baggage carts, my husand had to make 8 or 9 trips up and down to laod the car. One trip would have been all that was needed if we had a cart. This was upseting as we had a long drive ahead of us and we were tired! At night guests sit out on the patio drinking between all the rooms, I had to make a phone call to the fromt desk at 1:15 am. They were very loud and had been there all night. I do think there should be a curfew as you can her every word from the windows. Outside one of our windows was the A/C unit for the hotel, very loud and scared my daughter every time it came on. Breakfast was not organized great. I guess if you get there early they have all the food they say they have but later in the morning they are out of everything. On Sunday morning they did not even have glasses for the juice, we had to wait for coffee and not a stictch of food with 45 minutes left of
breakfast, very dissapointing. We went back upstairs with no food and one cup of coffee. They should anticipate a Sunday morning breakfast to be busier and should anticipate people checking out and have more carts. I would stay here again if I could be specific about what area of the hotel I would want to stay in.

Room Tip: We went through Sesame place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pogoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

I recently took a trip to newjersy and enjoy the the hotel an the services provide. They have pool,gym and they server breakfast and the room are excellent

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Spent a weekend with my family. Very nice room which included refrigerator, dishwasher, sink, stove (though we didn't use appliances). Very sleek lobby and amenities in the room. Only issue was poor water pressure in the shower (I guess that's what you get with an "eco-friendly" hotel). At one point, the water from the shower stopped. We called the front desk at 7:45am and were told maintenance would be there in 10 minutes. Luckily, some water came back in about 15-20 minutes, so we were able to take low water pressure showers and get to our destination.
We got back to the room around 4pm and maintenance finally came to the room around 4:30pm!.
Breakfast was average. They ran out of eggs the first morning and coffee the second. Ended up at Starbucks both days.
Indoor pool was nice, as was the gym. No restaurant or room service. Internet was free which was nice.
Check out was easy as we used self-service computer.
Overall, nice hotel and for the price (used points and miles, so it cost $45/day), I would stay here again...but take your showers in the afternoon ;)

Room Tip: Shower water pressure is weak in the AM
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dad0fTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

The hotel is quite new, appears quite clean and provides a modern "hip" feel. Rooms were spacious and included a kitchenette with a large refrigerator, range,... If your stay is for several days and you are driving a rental car, it could be a good option - an alternative to a Residence Inn perhaps.
However if you are traveling as I do - using a car service/taxi and not expecting to cook / eat in your room, this is not the hotel for you. Arrived late in the evening - no room service and no nearby restaurants. Breakfast is a buffet of sorts with a slightly broader selection a short walk away (across the parking lot and a strip of grass) at the jointly owned Courtyard "Bistro" restaurant.
Several snafus - assuming the staff is new - was locked out of my room at breakfast as "the computer" had me staying in a different room. In addition, someone else was given a key to my room at about 1 AM -luckily I set the latch so they were unable to enter! The elevators did not stop on the second floor (the front desk clerk had apparently noted that the previous evening - ??) and had to wrangle my suitcase down the stairs
All in all, it was the wrong type of hotel for my trip and thus I'm not giving it 1 star but they do have problems that need addressed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elementewing, General Manager at Element Ewing Princeton, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Upon checkin - We hand a pack of delivery restaurants and restaurants that do not deliver. We make sure every guest has this packet. That being said. You must not have received. The elevator did have an issue (completely out of our control). We immediately dispatched the elevator service company. All in all this was repaired within 3 hours but did cause an inconvenience. I would love to have you back as my guest to show you the service and ammenities of a true Element.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Stayed here -- again -- for our Company meeting for three days in late January. I'm always very happy. This time I had the "one bedroom", very spacious. I couldn't figure out how the tv worked at first -- called down and within 5 minutes someone came up. The staff is very friendly; particularly the catering staff who serve us breakfast & lunch for our meeting. We we there during a snow storm, and the kitchen prepared lasagna for everyone in the lobby (usually they just serve appetizers). Nice touch, and very welcome!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank up4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewing
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ewing Princeton South
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Ewing Princeton
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Newtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#6 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
10.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element Ewing Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element Ewing Princeton

Property: Element Ewing Princeton
Address: 1000 Sam Weinroth Rd, Ewing, NJ 08628-1305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Ewing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ewing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Element Ewing Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element Ewing Princeton is near central NJ destinations like Merrill Lynch, Johnson & Johnson, and Sesame Place. Our eco-friendly hotel has guest rooms with full kitchens and 2,100sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Element Ewing Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element Ewing Princeton Hotel Ewing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing