We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Element Ewing Princeton
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ewing
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Element appears to be Starwood's version of the Residence inn and in typical Starwood fashion it clobbers the Marriott offering. I like to stay here when in the Princeton are on business. The rates are reasonable (I can usually get if for less than $150), the rooms are modern and great for working. They have good workout facilities and a pool. The breakfast is free and decent. The staff are friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, General Manager at Element Ewing Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear GeorgeY,
Love your review ! We definitely are geared to long term extended stay and consider Residence Inn one of our top competitors so thrilled with your views on where we stand. We do feel that we have a great location and very reasonable pricing for Princeton market. We look forward to your next stay.
Warm regards,
Lori Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week in April. We had a pleasant stay. Staff was friendly and professional. The hotel was modern, warm and clean. We had an one-bedroom suite. I was so comfortable and spacious that we felt like home!! The breakfast and the evening social were great too. I love the gym facility. It was big and the equipment was quite new. Overall, it was a great experience staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hsunami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, General Manager at Element Ewing Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear yahoouser1,
Thank you for your great review about your experience at our hotel! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our facility and the services.
We would love to see you again when you return to the area.
Warm regards,
Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Outstanding suite concept by Westin/Starwood. Our first stay, room was very large with almost full kitchen. Exceptional breakfast with different sandwiches each morning and nighttime beer, wine, and snacks. Nice indoor pool and hot tub and upscale workout room. Great for extended stays. Very modern/contemporary styling throughout.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rllbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, General Manager at Element Ewing Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear rllbol,
We are so glad you found the Element and enjoyed your stay! We are one of only 10 Element by Westin hotels and the brand is growing.
We hope that this stay was only the first of many whenever travelling thorugh our area.
Thank you!
Lori Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I agree with all the other travellers, the place is very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is very good as well, but we stayed for two nights, the room wasn't cleaned for the second day. When we called front desk, they didn't even offer to clean the room, only took out trash as there was only one person at front desk. They did not even feel sorry about it and kept asking whether we had the do not disturb sign on. I did not use the sign at all, what happened was that when house keeping came by, I was feeding my baby and asked her to come back at 5 which she didn't. I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiezzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, General Manager at Element Ewing Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Dear JackiezZZZZ,
Thank you for sharing your review. I apologize that your room was not serviced the 2nd day and we did not handle this situation well. We should have had your room serviced as requested and encourage you to reach out to me directly @ lori.simpson@hhmlp.com.
I would really like to see you return again and live up to the 5 star potential.
I hope to hear from you.
Lori Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel 5/26-5/28 and was pleasantly surprised by all that it offered. The hotel offers tremendous value -- big expansive rooms, free breakfast, lots of amenities and it is very modern. Staff was warm and friendly, and very helpful with special requests. We stayed in a studio room, which was huge with high ceilings, very modern, free fast wifi (so rare these days), very modern bathroom, a nice living area with pull out couch, a full kitchen area and a comfortable Heavenly bed. The lobby was clean and inviting, and much different than a regular hotel. The pool area was large (indoor) and clean. Workout room was enormous for this size hotel with a ton of equipment. My only complaints were that the room was not totally clean when we checked in (uneaten cookies on the chair, crumbs near the side of the bed, and the hallways needed to be vacuumed badly). Also, breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, and was not constantly stocked. Its not really a hot breakfast as they only have a few egg sandwiches in addition to the regular continental breakfast stuff. However, despite those minor issues, the hotel still offered great value, overall was very clean and modern, and had a great staff. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The basic studio offers great value - excellent price for a room that offers much much more than a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDWFan1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, General Manager at Element Ewing Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear WDWFan1977,
Thank you for your great recommendation! Our staff really gets excited to hear when we exceed expectations!
I have shared your concerns with housekeeping team and attention to detail is so important to us and our guests. We have a few new ladies in training and will work hard to make sure that we always deliver impeccably clean in all aspects.
We are gald that you chose the Element Ewing Princeton and hope any future travels to the area bring you back to our hotel. Thank you!
Lori Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed two nights in May of 2013. This Element follows the premise of being eco-friendly, with the now typical lower intensity fluorescent lighting, towel replacement only when left on the floor, and the use of recyclables whenever possible approach, plus the addition of special parking spots near the hotel entrance for those with hybrid or electric vehicles (no charging station, just closer spots). In this, the hotel is no different than any others in the area, with the exception of the parking spots, which are not enforced and filled with non-hybrids and non-electrics all the time. As such, the eco-friendly theme, while commendable, is no more than a marketing statement that provides no real differential. This does not detract or add to the rating.

The rooms are spacious. Within one common area, there are a refrigerator, microwave, and stovetop, with place settings for four people. They were all clean and neatly kept. However, there is no table to eat on, other than a small coffee table or the standard room desk. Also in the common area are a king bed or two queen beds, with a comfortable mattress (neither stiff nor soft), a small sofa, and the aforementioned coffee table and desk, on which a small flat screen TV sits. The bathroom is quite large, with a glass enclosed, see through shower that has a shower wand as well as a shower head to select from. Water pressure was strong, and the water temperature was consistent. The wash basin is of the short depth models, so it is prone to splash. The shower door had some mold along the bottom seal, but the rest of the shower was very clean as was the rest of the bathroom. The room is carpeted where the beds are, and has linoleum where the cooking portion is. The rooms have an ironing board, safe, and hair dryer.

Be advised: the hotel is square shaped, and the elevators are essentially on the edge of one of the sides of the square. For most rooms you will walk about 30 meters from the elevator. The one I was in was the furthest from the elevator and it felt close to 75. Also, and the reason for a four star instead of a five star review, is that the temperature controls seem to do nothing within a large range. I set them between 67F and 74F and felt no discernible difference; then as the night progressed the heating/cooling unit seemed unable to maintain a given temperature, getting too cold unless I bumped the temperature up four degrees, and then too warm unless I turned it down those same four degrees.

The hotel includes a limited buffet breakfast with the rate. The buffet items were fresh. Fruits, yogurts, pastries, and juices were offered, and there was a warm egg and spinach or egg and ham sandwich available, which was tasty. There is also the usual bagel warmer / toaster. No other hot items were presented. For a quick bite it works well. There are no other food offerings in the hotel, as it does not have a dining area (or apparently a kitchen, for that matter). There is a small pantry from where one may purchase snacks or soft drinks, but they can be pricey: about three dollars for a bottle of water or soda, with tax.

The location is a bit out there. While close to the Trenton airport, you will need a car to get around anywhere, and you will be about 15 minutes from Princeton without traffic, which is where I was headed. Room prices can be a steal - around $120 when prepaid - or can be as expensive as other hotels closer to where you may be - about $165 to $199. Shop around. If you are going to Princeton you may find a $159 rate at the Doubletree or Hyatt Place, both good hotels in the Princeton area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BallenitaAzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, General Manager at Element Ewing Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear BallenitaAzul,
I was impressed with your thorough review! Thank you for sharing your feedback about your visit.
The Element is Silver Leed Certified and we have many practices from our renewable energy consumption, water efficient fixtures, use of natural light and CFL/LED lighting. We have signage in our parking lot and clearly marked spots for low emitting fuel vehicles and the electric charging station. Our staff tries to make sure our guests are aware of this feature but it can be a challenge as we do not have a parking attendant. We will continue to work on this.
I will share all of your feedback with our team and we hope to have you stay with us again.
Warm regards,
Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I always stay here when visiting our NJ office. The room is always very clean and well appointed; I never have to ask for anything.

Lately, tho, the air conditioning/room temp is difficult to control. The thermostat reads one thing yet it clearly isn't cooling down to that temperature.

The lobby area looks very stark lately; all the decorative items have been removed from the space. The offerings at the "manager's reception" at night is getting sparser, as are the breakfast items. There really are no options for food at this hotel, so these items become vitally important to your stay as a business traveler.

Still, the value (through a corporate rate) and comfortable room and beds make this an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower floor; the air conditioning works better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank up4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, General Manager at Element Ewing Princeton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Up4travel,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel and recommendation. We do have a rotational menu for both the relax receptions Monday-Thursday evenings and breakfast daily. We should always have the brand required offerings and would love for you to reach out to me directly so I can do some further research to look at your recent stays and see where we fallen short. We are in process currently of updating some of our lobby accessories and appreciate your candid feedback.
Please do not hesitate to reach out to me @lori.simpson@hhmlp.com.
Thank you!
Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewing
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Ewing Princeton
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ewing Princeton South
12.5 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newtown
7.8 mi away
The Brick Hotel
The Brick Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtown
106 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element Ewing Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element Ewing Princeton

Address: 1000 Sam Weinroth Rd, Ewing, NJ 08628-1305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Ewing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ewing
Price Range: £92 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Element Ewing Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element Ewing Princeton is near central NJ destinations like Merrill Lynch, Johnson & Johnson, and Sesame Place. Our eco-friendly hotel has guest rooms with full kitchens and 2,100sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Element Ewing Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element Ewing Princeton Hotel Ewing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing