We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, so so service, good choice for TCNJ parents”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Two Peters Diner - CLOSED

Two Peters Diner
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good food, so so service, good choice for TCNJ parents”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The atomsphere is bright and cheerful. The menu was extensive with seventy (not a typo) different omelets! The omelets are made with five eggs (so the menu said). While they were large, I don't know if they were really five eggs, but the ones we had were well made. They also offered a fresh fruit cup instead of fries, which was lovely. I was there with five other people. While the food was very good, the service was spotty. One person did not get his soup (his meal, not a side). I had decaf coffee, but it was almost cold before I got some sweetener, and it was refilled with regular coffee. Though our table had six people, we had two bills, and they added the tip onto the bill.
Overall, it was a good meal, and good choice cor visiting The College of NJ.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lousy Service and cold food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We arrived about 5:30 with 3 children and 2 adults. The kids were real easy two wanted chocolate chip pancakes, one wanted spaghetti and meatballs. My friend ordered the cornbeef hash and eggs, and I have an jalapeno omelet. None of these dishes are difficult. The kids pancakes were cold, the granddaughter asked for parmesan cheese and it never arrived. I asked for a coffee with my omelet. It arrived at the table after our meal was done. Thanks but no thanks I will not be returning.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank quasimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“50/ 50”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

I have gone to Two Peters a few times. It is a 50/50 chance if you will have good service. The food is usually cooked properly, but it is pricey. The plus side is, if you see the owner and the food or service was not up to par, he will take care of it by either giving you a discount or free dessert.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lexandroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh facelift on the old Parkside Diner offering very generous portions of standard diner food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stopped going to the old Parkside Diner many years ago, but decided to give the Two Peters Diner a try when we heard the owners of the Ewing Diner (the renovated Toddle House/Blue Roof Diner) had taken it over under the new name. The interior is nicely appointed with new booths, tables, lighting, flooring, and appears to have been expanded. The food is fresh and the portions are huge. Soup comes along with sandwiches. I've learned to ask for the soup to go, and still take half the sandwich home for another day! It's standard diner fare, so don't expect gourmet meals. For a diner, Two Peters wins five stars from me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Service is good but food is pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Agree with other reviewer that the new building replaced an eyesore and it was well done. However, this place seems much pricier than there other (same owner) restaurant (New Ewing Diner) about 2 miles away. Service is solid, food is ok, but again pricey. Menu is almost too big would be great if they reduced menu and focused on some special items to make them outstanding.

Helpful?
1 Thank Skip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing