We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Property; Lack of Attention to Detail; Gritty Neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fairfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2011

It's not a bad choice but things can be improved. It's located on a highway in what appears to be a gritty part of town. I wouldn't stay here again.

This is an older Hampton Inn that could benefit from some freshening up. The decor such as the faux wood laminate doors look old and well worn. The furniture in the rooms is cheap and dated compared to other Hampton Inns I've been to. All of that can be overlooked but it's the lack of attention to detail that's troublesome. The furniture in my room was haphazardly placed. I have two chairs in front of the window that look like a three-year old arranged them. The note pad has one sheet of paper left on it. There was no good morning from the front desk. The free breakfast was okay but the fruit salad looked like it was cut up days ago. Trivial stuff, yes, but it's noticeable when not done right.

The free internet and breakfast are great when you're on business. I'll stay at a Hampton Inn again, but probably not this one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

I regularly stay at the Hampton Inn in Fairfield when traveling in NJ, getting close to 20 visits now, so I may be qualified to comment on this hotel!

The Hampton Inn Fairfield is a well-run hotel, with consistently clean and well-maintained rooms and other facilities. While it is not new, the hotel is continuing to perform minor renovations to keep the rooms in good condition. The staff is generally quite helpful and friendly. The location, on NJ Route 46, is quite convenient.

The number of rooms (150+) at the hotel is substantially larger than that of a typical Hampton Inn. The staff have no trouble dealing with this number of guests, and the breakfast area is big enough, but the fitness centre is at times quite busy -- getting there early is definitely a good idea.

The on-site restaurant (Calandra's Mediterranean Grill) is excellent, at least by hotel restaurant standards, and offers a great selection of Italian dishes, as well as a broad range of decent house wines (Italian, of course). The full restaurant menu is also available through room service. The bar, located in the lobby, offers the same wines plus other beverages, in a pleasant environment. A caveat about the bar, though: on some nights the noise level in the bar area will be fairly high, and can be audible in the rooms adjoining the bar/lobby.

A final note: in spite of the large number of rooms, this Hampton Inn is quite busy, and often sold out, so if you want to stay here, book early to secure a room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed there for a Wedding that was in the area. The staff was friendly and attentive. The hotel was clean and well taken care of. It is set back off the major road, it was quiet. It had a nice front area which opened up into the bar and breakfast buffet area. The grounds were well kept as were all the common areas. Would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our favorite hotel when we are in the North Jersey area.
The hotel is in a good location, the staff are friendly. the Business Office folks were very professional and helpful.
The best is the on-site restaurant, the Mediterranean Grill. The food is consistently terrific and Tom, the manager, leads his staff to top performance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cva42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel after an amazing wedding near by, this hotel was one of only a few in the area and was suggested. Post wedding the festivities continued at the hotel bar (which was filled w 3 other weddings, which was fun). Everyone was having a blast chatting away. Last call was called and about 10 minutes later (before drinks were done) 2 off duty officers were telling ppl to leave the area, threatening citations if you didnt clear out fast enough). Even in our rooms after the hotel bar we were threatened by the officers who were now HOUNDING us to keep it down or be kicked out (and in no way were we rowdy). With 4 weddings blocks in the hotel you would think they would keep the wedding blocks together (to not bother others) so they could enjoy the end of their night, but no that was too hard a concept.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_guru_916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

I was upgraded & was pleasantly surprised by the size, setting of the room.
The ambience of the restaurant, bar is really good.

I was expecting the front desk to have the complimentary amenities, but apparently they didn't have them. I was advised to purchase them in the Sundry section next to the front desk. The items are not super expensive, but I haven't run into this situation in the longest time i've been with Hilton.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MthTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I always stay here even if it is 20 miles away from where I need to work. One of the best.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me_and_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Executive Inn
4.7 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
574 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wayne
5.4 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
777 reviews
5 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield

Address: 118 US Highway 46, Fairfield, NJ 07004-3217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Fairfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fairfield
Price Range: £137 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel features 154 newly renovated rooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an indoor heated pool with whirlpool, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. We serve a complimentary hot and cold breakfast daily and provide complimentary local shuttle service. Pets are not allowed at this property. Our in-house restaurant, Calandra's Mediterranean Grill, is located in our lobby and features a lobby bar. We serve lunch and dinner daily and offer room service. We have private meeting and banquet rooms that are ideal for corporate and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield Hotel Fairfield
Hampton Inn And Suites Fairfield
Hampton Inn Fairfield
Fairfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing