We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh from the sea!”
Review of Blue Fish Grill

Blue Fish Grill
Ranked #3 of 130 Restaurants in Flemington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh from the sea!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

On our recent trip to Flemington we discovered this restaurant while walking downtown. Wanting something casual we ventured inside and when seated, our server, Karin, was friendly and welcoming. That night we ordered the salmon platter and the crab cake platter. Both were fresh, well cooked and delicious! The crab cakes were all crab, no fillers and if we should ever return to Flemington would definitively go back just for these crab cakes. The freshly made chips were great!

So great was our experience that we went back the next night for the Asian BFG salad and fried calamari. The salad was goodt! But unfortunately the calamari were not. The batter was hard and almost had a burnt taste to it. We have had calamari in many, many places and these were just about passable! But do not fret, the key lime pie made up for it! Buon appetit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3uniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    80
    29
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, PA
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Casual seafood spot in Flemington, NJ”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This BYOB seafood establishment is a casual, family-friendly restaurant. Its located on a side street, Mine Street, 2 blocks off of Main Street. A wide selection of appetizers ranmge from seafood to salads to soups. And Beer Battered Onion Rings too! The Fish/seafood selection had 6 types to choose from, plus a chicken and steak choice too. There is also a Kid's Menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AviCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILLSBOROUGH
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If I could give a Zero rating, I would”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I just cannot understand all the great reviews for this mediocre restaurant. The food is unimaginative, dry, and barely edible. The service is friendly enough but waiting 30 minutes for a simple sandwich in a mostly empty restaurant (as happened on our most recent visit) then finding that both our orders were incorrect makes you wonder what is going on in that kitchen.

On our first visit we both tried fish dishes and were sorely disappointed. The fish was clearly pre-cooked and reheated before being slapped on a plate with unimaginative side dishes. I can't even remember what we had it was so boring. So you might be wondering why we went back. My husband thought the burgers looked good during our first visit and since so many people were ordering them that day, he suggested that we go back today and try them out.

That was a mistake. We both ordered burgers. I asked for cheddar cheese, bacon and grilled onions on mine with a side of fries. My husband ordered a Swiss cheese burger with everything but pickles and a side of chips. After our previously mentioned 30 minute wait, I got a cheddar burger with raw bacon and no onion. When I mentioned it to the server, he insisted it had to be there. When I showed him it wasn't, he went into the kitchen and brought back a cold slab of raw onion that they dropped on the grill long enough for it to get dirty but not long enough to even warm it up. As for my husband, his burger included the much hated pickles he said he didn't want and he got fries instead of chips. The burgers were tasteless and dried out. Thank goodness for ketchup.

If you find yourself hungry while in Flemington, DO NOT GO TO BLUEFISH. There are enough other restaurants in the area that use fresh food (not previously frozen and pre-cooked like Blue Fish) and employ cooks who actually know how to cook. If you are in the mood for an average burger, go to McDonalds.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fish restaurant”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you love previously frozen fish this is the place where you can
mix yourself with a crowd that will never appreciate "Esca" in NYC. The price is right the the quality and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bokassa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We especially enjoyed a salad with cilantro dressing and tuna. For dessert, the key lime pie was awesome. Elise and Carla were attentive and helpful as servers, recommending great dishes and being very friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blue Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing