We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the new location”

Viva Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 126 Restaurants in Flemington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love the new location”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Excellent fresh, honest Mexican food
Love the salsa dip to start. Very fresh entrees. Great choices, nice friendly service. A nice location and wishing them much success

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CA26NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    33
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
480 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“New location, same great food”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Viva Mexico, a Flemington treasure has moved to a newer, bigger location but it's the same tasty food. While I'm reading other reviews downing the flavor of the dishes, I'm baffled. Stick with the Mexican standards, and you won't be disappointed. Our favorite by far: the mole. It's just the right degree of spice, and boasts complex flavors. As someone who's made mole from scratch (and purchased pre-made sauce), it's obvious that this is fresh and homemade. The mole can be served on any enchilada, and we had it both on chicken and cheese enchiladas. The salsas are also great, and the guacamole fresh. The sides of beans and rice are admittedly a little dull, but if that's the biggest flaw, we can deal with it. Many choices of desserts are available: my daughter loves the Tres Leches cake, and the flan is also great. There are a few vegetarian options available.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
341 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Let me start with the salsa, just as our dinner did. It was fantastic! But it was all downhill from there. The guacamole didn't seem fresh and my enchiladas had no flavor. How do you prepare mexican food that does't taste like anything? Others at the table had the combo platter and had the same reaction... and mentioned that the tamale was the best. I was extremely disappointed and was hoping for great and authentic Mexican food... this was not it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teena1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Family staple”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Gone here for years - secret is out, more people come in over the weekend but they turn around tables quick. Food is authentic, love the enchiladas and chile rellenos. Simple and small place with great food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough & Villas NJ
Level Contributor
181 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Food Preparation was POOR!!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a family run restaurant run by Mexican people so you would think that the food is good. We've dined here a few times ( to reach a fair opinion) and the quality of the dishes always varied from fair to poor.
The chicken Fajitas that I ordered contained a few strips of grossly overcooked chicken. It was terribly dry, hard and nearly tasteless. You have to eat this with salad, beans or at least some hot sauce to put the moisture back in it. It tasted like grilled again left over, yesterdays chicken. My wife ordered the shrimp fajita- same thing, overcooked shrimp served with all the moisture and juiciness taken out. The chef here must like to burn things on the grill. When I cook, serving moist well seasoned and juicy food is the goal. They miss this basic point of cooking by a mile. The chef needs to go back to cooking school that is if he was ever there!!! If you want to eat dry hard, overcooked food this is the place. Not recommended.
BT, the restaurants name is Viva Mexico not " Viva Mexican"

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank capemaytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viva Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Viva Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing