We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice very clean”
Review of American Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
American Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Freehold B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A pleasant surprise in the middle of freehold the only thing I did not like was no valet parking and surrounding area was a bit seedy

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

This is an Old hotel -old as in Abraham Lincoln stayed here in 1861.
It has been refurbished and is in pretty good shape. Right on theron drag in Freehold so ask for a room in the back of the hotel to reduce noise.
On site restaurant was busy but didn't eat here.
Continental breakfast in the morning was smal but adequate. Plate of fruit, muffins cold cereal, juice.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s20mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

In the Freehold area you will do yourself a disservive if you do not stay here. It is newly redone. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is located in the center of town. The hotel bars are a hub of friendly activity, and tastefully appointed. The management will do everything in its power to help make your stay an enjoyable one. They do have a spa, but we did not utilize it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My husband & I had our wedding reception in the original American hotel in 1974. It was top rate then, and on our 38th anniversary, we were delighted to be able to have a celebratory dinner there, considering that it had nearly been demolished several years ago. We were suitably impressed in January at our anniversary dinner, when the owner(presumably) stopped at each table to ask how everything was. He graciously gave us complimentary wine when we explained our nostalgic dinner. Everything was perfect, the food superior, the service fine: all in all a relaxing, satisfying experience. We looked forward to returning.
In July, we decided to come with our family to celebrate all our summer birthdays. The server was very attentive and cordial. The food was still top notch, albeit pricey. However, sadly, we may not be so anxious to repeat the experience. One major change from our first visit makes it unlikely. Ambience. Not only were we seated one table over from a family with six young, unmanageable children,( which cannot be blamed entirely on the restaurant) but the rowdy drunks at the bar made the entire dinner extremely unpleasant. As time went on, they grew louder & louder. Between the two, the decibel level was off the charts. My whole dinner was spoiled. I believe that the establishment attracts boisterous families because they expect a lot of noise, and feel at home. Unfortunately, that makes for lousy atmosphere and bad business. If you must have a bar that seems to encourage rowdy behavior, isolate it from a those who appreciate a quiet, relaxing, dignified dining experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epi_curious48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Went there for an early dinner. We wanted lighter fare and did not want to spent on the high end. Wife and I had burger and chicken sandwich and mussels with marinara for app. Overall good meal but on the pricey side for lesser fare. Better value at diner for that choice. Entrees were about $23 to high $30s.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The American Hotel is a gem nestled in the heart of Freehold NJ amongst the downtown attractions. The rooms are up to date and very nice. Beds are clean and ultra comfortable, large showers and state of the art electronics in the rooms. The Cafe downstairs is clean and has a great menu selection. The bartenders make excellent drinks and are eager to make your stay as relaxing as possible. There are suites overlooking main street with a rod Iron rail. If your wanting to get away for a weekend or there on business, this is a spot to put in your Ipad contacts for sure. 5 Stars from Brown and thats not easy folks.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Friends of ours gave us a gift certificate for this gem of a hotel. Check-in was quick and easy, front desk staff was pleasant and efficient. We booked a suite on the third floor which was immaculate and nicely decorated throughout. Bathroom was very nice with high-end finishes and very good towels, bathrobes were in the closet.
We ate dinner in the hotel at the Market Yard Grille and were impressed with the service and the food which was prepared according to our wishes and in a timely manner. We never felt rushed or bored. Our room was directly above the bar but had the second floor between us so noise from the bar was a non-issue for us. We will return for another getaway soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cDc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freehold
1.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Freehold
10 mi away
Hampton Inn Neptune/Wall
12.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Eatontown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Hotel

Address: 18 E Main St # 20, Freehold, NJ 07728-2202
Region: United States > New Jersey > Freehold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Freehold
Price Range: £103 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — American Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing