We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”
Review of Ibby's Falafel

Ibby's Falafel
Ranked #79 of 172 Restaurants in Freehold
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Restaurant details
Eatontown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

One of the best mediterranean restaurants in NJ. Chicken and lamb platters are excellent. Falafel with hummus is good. Good sweets. The lamb skewers are the best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PRawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best falafel in Monmouth County”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My wife and I first visited Ibby's Falafel about a year ago after reading several rave reviews. We love Middle Eastern food and wanted to check out this place but were a bit hesitant at first as the restaurant looks old from the outside and could do with a paint job. However, a couple of bites of their food and all our concerns were out the door. The food was *delicious*!! Their falafel has to be the one of best we've eaten and certainly far better than what other Middle Eastern/Mediterranean restaurants in Monmouth county are serving.

Ibby's offers a good variety of both vegetarian and meat options, and you can order either a pita sandwich or a platter (which is a sandwich with additional sides). They also have 4 or 5 kinds of dessert ("baklava") which is an absolute must-have!

A couple of minor down-sides to note: they only accept cash, and seating is a bit limited (although not usually a problem unless you're visiting during a very busy time). We have been regulars at Ibby's since our first visit a year ago. We go at least a couple of times a month, typically on weekends when we need to stop for a quick bite while running between errands and weekend activities. They have a branch in Jersey City (Grove Street) which we visited once but we thought the food wasn't quite good as here in Freehold.

Go check out this place. You won't regret it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Mediterranean food”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

There are so few vegetarian places in Freehold but I could always count on Ibby's for a perfect healthy, affordable with a home made taste. One of my favorite items is the vegetarian platter that has a little bit of everything including hummus, babaganoush, olives, salad, all drizzled with olive oil. Desserts are always delicious and fresh. I also have heard that the lamb is the best but personally I don't eat meat. Enjoy :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Middle Eastern food”
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Great lunch here. Very casual. Great food and very friendly service. The baklava was outstanding! Very reasonable prices. Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ibby's Falafel also viewed

 

Been to Ibby's Falafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing