We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Risk of Food Poisioning”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Freehold Grand Buffet
Ranked #140 of 173 Restaurants in Freehold
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Risk of Food Poisioning”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The atmosphere is dirty and smelly. The sushi was warm and the entrees looked dried up. Even the soda that me and my husband ordered was flat. After trying the sushi we had to leave and the hostess let us leave without paying since we were very unhappy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 68Charlotte30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    9
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
264 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nothing Grand about this buffett”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently dined at the Freehold Grand Buffett. After passing by numerous times in the past we finally decided to give it a try. The setup was similar to other Chinese buffets. The selection of food was similar as well but not as tasty as some others. Nothing with a 'wow' factor in their offerings. The food was acceptable but nothing to return for. The table staff was friendly. The one real negative was the two ladies at the cash register. They did not acknowledge or speak to me at all when I paid the bill but chatted in Chinese to each other. After paying I said thank you to them and was again ignored. A simple, "Thanks for coming or have a nice day" would have been good. But again, nothing was said by them at all. So, an average meal with a lack of customer service skills on the part of the supervision. As I said, no reason to return here. Too bad.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Trailblazer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“DO NOT PAY MORE FOR THE LOBSTER SHELLS!!!!!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I recommend staying away from the so-called Lobster, which is nothing more than the useless under part of the body, which is mostly shell, where the legs attach to the body. Totally inedible. Quite disappointing, especially because they charge you an additional $3.99, on top of the $15.49 meal charge. To top it off, we told the waitress and she did nothing. We told the manager, and she refused to remove the charge, saying he took it. How am I supposed to know it's no good unless I try it. Totally ridiculous way to handle it. It will be a long time before we return here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandyS38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for Sushi and Chinese food”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This has always been a good restaurant. The food is fresh, and recently they have added lobster for only an extra $2.99. This is probably temporary, as long as they are able to get the lobster at a reasonable price.
They and have a sushi bar, with sushi chefs at your service. Also a Mongolian grill, where you can pick your raw foods and have that chef cook it for you.
The price is very reasonable, and there are so many different dishes to choose from, that no matter what your taste is, you will find something you like. This has been a family favorite for years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rennsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
329 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Chinese & Sushi Buffet”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Not a bad place, been coming here for years. Great value for unlimited Chinese food and fresh sushi. Not the best sushi or Chinese food I've ever eaten, but you can always count on unlimited crab legs at no extra cost.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jmesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freehold Grand Buffet also viewed

 
Freehold, NJ
 

Been to Freehold Grand Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing