We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local spot with very nice people.”
Review of Cafe Colore - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Colore
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good local spot with very nice people.”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Have been here so many times and most of the time it's really good. Food and service are "good" but some nights, it misses in the execution. Really like the spot and hope they make it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodiegirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“So many other choices....skip this one”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Service was very slow and unattentive . Food was ok. The restaurant used to be a nice little local Italian restaurant, but has changed hands a few times over the last few years. The mixed reviews are probably accurate. Why take the chance when you can avoid potential disappointing experiences ? Trying to be honest. Just skip this place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 68braveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband grew up minutes from this returant and never dined here, but are so glad that we finally did. The atmosphere, food, prices, portions, and service were all excellent! We will be returning again and again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Picadilly24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
352 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Very good food, even on Valentine's Day!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We ususally never dine out on Valentine's Day or Mother's Day, as it seems like the quality goes down and the prices go up. But, this year, we decided to try Cafe Colore's Prix Fixe, reservations-only, Valentine's Day dinner, and it was very good. The meal included appetizer, soup or salad, entree, and dessert. Portions were not huge, but were more than adequate. Our appetizers were shrimp cocktail and fried calamari. The shrimp were huge and perfectly cooked, and the calamari, dusted in panko, were light and greaseless. The soup was called lobster/porcini bisque, and was tasty, but there was no lobster to be seen in my bowl. The salad was crisp, with a really good house dressing. Our entrees were chicken marsala and veal antionette...both were delicious. The dessert tray had a number of options; we both chose something called butterscotch mousse, which was a light-as-a-feather, caramel-flavored mound of creamy yumminess set upon crisp phyllo. Delicious. It was a very good meal, but not cheap: including tax and tip, it was about $100.00. Cafe Colore does offer specials, however (Wednesday is buy one dinner, get one free, from a special menu), and is BYO. We'll go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GHartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
“Cafe Colore -- a wonderful experience”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We went to Cafe Colore for our anniversary dinner. It was our first visit and won't be our last. The service, food and atmosphere were excellent. A relatively small restaurant with great ambience and BYOB is a plus. Definitely worth a visit to Cafe Colore.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjsNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Colore also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing