We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Restaurant”

Escondido Mexican Cuisine & Tequila Bar
Ranked #84 of 173 Restaurants in Freehold
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our menu selections are inspired by genuine and modern Mexican favorites – all light and healthful with a large dose of flavor integrating everything from the freshest fruits and vegetables, herb garnishes, fresh chopped salsas, individually prepared guacamole, hand cut meats and poultry and fresh seafood from local suppliers.
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a great Mexican Restaurant with outstanding food and service, and beautiful new far more romantic atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NOLANE208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    30
    20
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun Mexican Restaurant...with a special everyday!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Escondidos in Freehold is on Route 537 (same road as Six Flags...about 7 miles away) and is a fun place to visit with children or a great place to stop by the bar (good drinks) for a social evening with friends (Wednesday night is Karaoke (?) night).
The food is better than in the fastfood Mexican places. It is a spacious place with much more atmosphere than the fastfood places, too. I have enjoyed the shrimp tacos, shrimp quesadillas...anything shrimp....and, the fried icecream serving is huge and tasty! It's near Freehold Raceway Mall...if you want to do some shopping!
The only issue I had was with the bill. I was charged for the child's soft drink which should have been included in the child's meal and I was billed $8.00 (should have been $3.50, but waitress billed it as an exotic coffee with liquor) for an espresso...The waitress changed it when brought to her attention, but had I not looked at the charges, I would have paid much more than I should have.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nsenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average food. Needs more spice.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Good service. Great prices. Food needs more kick just like the other reviewers stated; this can be fixed be asking for certain things.

Helpful?
Thank drknish732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“go to taco bell”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Its true, Taco Bell is better then this place. The food lacks any authenticity. Not a hint of any fresh herbs or spices. Food was served luke-warm. I'm not a fan of any of the restaurants in this area, but this was the worse by far.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lobels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not bad!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We enjoy Escondido--in fact, it was graduation celebration spot! Ask for spicy if you want it spicy. We find the portions to be fine and the variety excellent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank patsmom75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Escondido Mexican Cuisine & Tequila Bar also viewed

 

Been to Escondido Mexican Cuisine & Tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing