We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding at the National!!!!”
Review of The National Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The National Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Frenchtown B&B and Inns
Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Our wedding at the National!!!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Pooh Pooh on the reviewers that have ANYTHING negative to say about the National Hotel. We are regulars at the restaurant, and when it came to a place to have our wedding party, we could not think of anyone that could handle it better than Pete, Marlon and the staff at the National.

We took over all of the rooms of the National for the weekend. All of our guests raved about the rooms, and thought they were lovely. We had the Loft Suite and it was a perfect place to get ready for our big day, and to get some wonderful photographs. Thanks Marlon!

As for the restaurant, Chef Lisa and Pete made sure that our party was a very memorable experience. The food, as always, was excellent, and everyone raved about it! We had 100 guests and no one went away hungry, or thirsty as a matter of fact, thanks to Toby and Melissa manning the bar! Pete also went out of his way to get our special request for dessert, from another local favorite (need to go an thank them also!).

And where were we just a mere 5 days after our wedding, back at the National having dinner with our friends from the Lions Club!!!! And guess where we will be tonight!!!!

Room Tip: Please keep in mind that this is not a full service hotel, but a lovely boutique inn. The building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    22
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
56
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We had eaten several times at The National Hotel and looked forward to staying there for two nights. The restaurant is quite good, but the rooms in the hotel leave much to be desired. First off, the rooms are in desperate need of an upgrading, not a modernization, but new carpteting, closet redesign and a tv and radio that work more efficiently than the ones in our room during our stay. The bathroom had no space whatsoever and the shelf above the toilet bowl could not accommodate anything because it was not a solid ledge, but an open horizontal design. I will note that the room was very clean, but there is very little service other than the maid cleaning the room. There is no in-room coffee, and despite the hotel guide in the room listing continental breakfast, we were informed that that is only for the weekend. There is nobody on duty early in the morning(by early, I mean, I saw nobody before 10:00AM). When questioned about the roll-up shades in the room, I was told to "just wrap them any way since they have tried to repair them, but people continually break them so they do not replace them and would not put anything new in since it would destroy the old feel of the room". Old is one thing, but need of repair and refurbishment is something else. Again, I will repeat that the food here is quite good. We had the Middle Eastern platter and skirt steak as well as a bottle of well priced wine. All were good and service, too, was good. Unfortunately, the inn can be a real gem if effort in improving service (welcoming people and showing them to their rooms, calling up to see how everything is, suggestions for seeing what's in town, etc) and refurbishing rooms as well as at least, having coffee in the lobby (although then somebody would actually have to be there before 10:00AM to make coffee) would be a good place to start. Eat at The National Hotel, especially at the bar, but forego a stay here until many needed improvements are made.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 594traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
We truly appreciate your feedback and were pleased to hear that you found the room to be very clean. You have helped us tremendously, because your online review allowed us to have a conversation with our staff regarding the roll-up shades, which you pointed out were an issue. Our staff is now properly versed on how to instruct guests on how to open them, rather than never bringing this to management's attention and suggesting their own method of handling this. If you had not posted your response, we would have been unaware that this was a problem--and one that is so easily resolved. Thank you for your contribution. As far as the concierge desk, I can only say that this either happened on a Monday, when we leave our cell phone numbers in case of emergencies (and usually at least one of us are on premises doing inventory, cleaning, or other such tasks), since our front desk, restaurant, and bars are closed, or if during the other days of the week, perhaps our General Manager or concierge stepped away for a brief moment when you came down, because our front desk is always staffed from 9 a.m. during the week and from 8 a.m. on weekends. We were also extremely pleased by your review about the quality of the food that is served in our Restaurant and Bar. Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and for helping us improve our procedures--and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Frenchtown, NJ and to The National Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My fiancé and I spent a weekend here recently and we can't stop talking about it. The staff was friendly, the food was great, and we got to hear some fantastic local music in the basement bar. The owner was walking around helping his staff and overseeing things the whole time, which is always a good sign in my book. If and when we have a chance to go back to Frenchtown we will definitely be staying at The National.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooneyChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The National Hotel in Frenchtown NJ is one of the warmest, friendliest and accommodating places you can stay. The staff is attentive to your needs. The restaurant has excellent menu options and the rooms provide a serene environment. We keep coming back, year after year. We tried Frenchtown as a weekend escape years ago and like the fact that it was as yet an undiscovered gem. Thank you Marlon for always making our stay enjoyable. See you in a few months.

Tom and Gila
Hoboken, NJ

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The room was decorated nicely but was dark. When I opened the shades there were bugs on all four of the window sills. Two of the window views were of the roof and there was a soda bottle half filled with liquid and bird droppings within view on the flat top roof. We were registered as a party of four. There were only towels for two people. We called the front desk and more bath towels were delivered but no face cloths! So we had to call again. The same thing with the bottles of water. There were two in the room and we had to ask for two more. It is annoying when the booking was for four people but the management didn't pay attention to the details.

Room Tip: The room on the front side of the building had a lot of street traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnrain228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We had our housekeeping staff look into the issues you mentioned & apparently there was a window that had been kept slightly open, which might have been the cause of the bugs on the windowsill you described. As a policy we encourage guests to keep the windows closed as these are original windows to the building (that dates back to well over a century and a half ago) & there are no screens to prevent insects from entering. Our rooms are equipped with newly renovated air conditioning and heating units to keep the temperature at a comfortable level determined by each guest. As far as the towels, we truly apologize for the initial oversight of just placing the 2 sets of towels in the room. When you correctly advised our general manager of the situation, he brought you up the other set, but quickly realized he was missing the washcloths. Unfortunately, by the time he went downstairs to where these had just been delivered to unpack them & bring you a set upstairs to your room, you had already made the other call. We are very grateful that you pointed this out & will make sure to alert our housekeeping staff to make sure that we have the appropriate number of towels & water in the room whenever we have this number of guests in one room. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The National Hotel and to Frenchtown, NJ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The room was spacious and clean. The food at the restaurant was great! Really enjoyed the town it was an awesome experience. Everyone was very helpful and friendly, check out the sand castle winery and the town of New Hope PA is worth the 1/2 hour drive!

Room Tip: we stayed in a rear room on the 2nd floor it was very nice, room 205 has a jacuzzi maybe next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Overpriced. ALWAYS check your bill. They are not always accurate. Bread and dessert are not that good. I traveled there a year or so back and it was so much better. (the rolls and desserts that is) Not even in the same category now. The Locals seem nice. If you stay over the weekend...They are not open on Monday so no food. You will have to venture into town

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frenchtown
12.7 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#1 of 2 in Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
18.1 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Clinton - Bridgewater
3.3 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The National Hotel

Property: The National Hotel
Address: 31 Race St, Frenchtown, NJ 08825-1011
Region: United States > New Jersey > Frenchtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frenchtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience comfort and luxury at The National Hotel from richly appointed and unique rooms in which to relax and escape today's pressures, to our quality dining choices, where a friendly and attentive staff can help you unwind as you enjoy local flavors of the area, and end your evening in The Rathskeller Pub downstairs. Weekend overnight guests enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast in a private room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing