We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frenchtown gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo House

Bamboo House
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Frenchtown gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Courteous staff, excellent service and food. Desserts are really good too which is not common in Asian restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank DulceCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    31
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren Grove, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Sushi We Have Ever Had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

As we spoke with some of the shopkeepers in Frenchtown about places to eat, the Bamboo House kept coming up. It was already on our radar because the owner of our B&B had suggested it, too. It was sounding like a place the locals like to go and like we might be in trouble getting in on a Saturday night without reservations - so we went for lunch instead!

At first, the underwhelming décor concerned us (had the building once been a pizza parlor, we wondered). We just could not imagine what all the fuss was about - until our food was served.

We ordered things we have had other places and things we have never seen before. All were delicious. About half way through the meal it occurred to me - this is the best sushi I have ever eaten. Happy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome food and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I never expected to feel welcomed and a like a regular at a Japanese/Thai/Chinese restaurant, but Bamboo House really does a great job of making a night out a special night out; they make you feel like you belong. The food is well done and consistent. They cater to our special needs like nut free and gluten free. The sushi is delicious, and the speciality rolls like the HA HA roll inventive and flavorful! We always look forward to dining out at the Bamboo House.

And don't forger to try the ginger ice cream!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsGranett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frenchtown nj
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“suprising gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Frenchtown has a number of great places to eat but the one that has become a local favorite is the Bamboo House.

Thai and sushi doesn’t seem a natural fit in western New Jersey but the combination of very good food, affordable price, casual atmosphere and friendly staff makes location irrelevant.

My wife and I have tried a large and varied number of items on the menu and have yet to find a dish that was less than delicious.

For the New York crowd, this is not a fancy over-priced restaurant
For the locals..you already know what a gem it is.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Ethnic food is a bit hard to come by in Hunterdon County, NJ so it was a real surprise to come across the Bamboo House in Frenchtown. I had the encrusted salmon martini and 22 piece sashimi dinner. My daughter (a vegan) enjoyed the fried tofu appetizer and panang curry with tofu. The food was some of the best asian fare we've had in a long time and the presentation was outstanding. My sashimi was served in a bowl of crushed ice with a flower, a little light and a tree! I know this sounds campy but it was really beautiful. Same for the salmon martini. BYOB. Great service.Can't wait to go back. They do a busy take-out business, too. And save room for dessert, especially the Dragon Eggs!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo House also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing