We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of a kind in the area”
Review of Bamboo House

Bamboo House
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
328 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“One of a kind in the area”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We were initially concerned about a very large menu containing an array of Thai and Japanese dishes.having tried the tempura,sushi,rolls and curry we came away impressed.While not the best we have had,certainly good and wonderful value.Given other nearby eating options Bamboo House should be on everyone's list of regular haunts.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sweetiesPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    31
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Many choices
Nice presentation
Fresh ingredients
Nice staff
Nice value
BYOB
MAKE RESERVATIONS!

I don't do (raw) sushi, but there are many cooked choices

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daddio54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food is fresh, delicious and beautifully displayed.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This is now my favorite sushi/Thai restaurant in the area. The owner is so nice and welcoming. The food is always delicious. I highly recommend it!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaD1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Frenchtown gem”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Courteous staff, excellent service and food. Desserts are really good too which is not common in Asian restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank DulceCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren Grove, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Sushi We Have Ever Had”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

As we spoke with some of the shopkeepers in Frenchtown about places to eat, the Bamboo House kept coming up. It was already on our radar because the owner of our B&B had suggested it, too. It was sounding like a place the locals like to go and like we might be in trouble getting in on a Saturday night without reservations - so we went for lunch instead!

At first, the underwhelming décor concerned us (had the building once been a pizza parlor, we wondered). We just could not imagine what all the fuss was about - until our food was served.

We ordered things we have had other places and things we have never seen before. All were delicious. About half way through the meal it occurred to me - this is the best sushi I have ever eaten. Happy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo House also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing