We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special experience in a great location with lots of thoughtful extras.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frenchtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Frenchtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Damariscotta, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very special experience in a great location with lots of thoughtful extras.”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I spent a delightful week at the Widow,when last in town for a special event.

Seeing friends and family was terrific, but returning to my luxurious suite and relaxing in clean and beautiful surroundings, soaking in my Jacuzzi with a glass of complimentary (and very good) wine was the topper.Or so I thought...until breakfast! Chef Lynn was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candyo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widow McCrea H, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Widow McCrea House. We appreciate that you took your time out to write a review about your most recent stay. We are pleased that you found your accommodations comfortable and your weekend relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back to Frenchtown and The Widow McCrea House. It was our pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    18
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
95
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed at the Widow McCrea house on Friday & Saturday this weekend and had a wonderful visit. The proprietors, Burt & Lynn are very personable and operate a top shelf bed & breakfast. We stayed in the Privacy Suite and took advantage of the jacuzzi both nights of our stay. We had breakfast with two other couples on our first morning and enjoyed breakfast delivered to our room on the second morning. The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable. We dined at the Frenchtown Inn on our first evening and the Milford Oyster House on our second evening. Highly recommend for a very nice getaway within easy driving distance from NYCor Philadelphia.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widow McCrea H, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Widow McCrea House. We appreciate that you took your time out to write a review about your most recent stay. We are pleased that you found your accommodations comfortable and your weekend relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back to Frenchtown and The Widow McCrea House. It was our pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

My husband and I traveled to the Widow McCrea for our first anniversary. It was also our first experience at a Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in the Anne James Suite.
The bed was comfortable, and we enjoyed the fireplace and the romantic jacuzzi tub. We were disappointed that we couldn't use any bubbles, oils, or soaps in the tub, but we enjoyed it despite this.
The room was very clean, and it was very quiet. The keyless entry allowed us to come and go as we pleased.
The breakfast was generous and delicious. It was interesting eating breakfast with strangers, but we enjoyed the new experience. We appreciated being asked if we had any allergies or dietary restrictions, but we were not asked if we had any preferences.
The owners were very knowledgeable about the area. They gave us recommendations and directions for places to go. They were friendly and respectful.
The shower head in our shower was terrible. The water pressure was not great, and it sprayed water everywhere. The shower was also very small.
I would NOT recommend going to the Alba Vineyard. We were so excited about their advertised ten dollar wine tasting and appetizers, but you receive a small paper plate with a few tiny pieces of cheese, a plastic ramekin of a few nuts and dried cranberries, and a few grapes. It was tiny, and it was pre-packaged with saran wrap. Disappointing.
I would also not recommend the Milford Oyster House. The food is very good, and the owners are very nice, but it is overpriced and the portions are small.
We enjoyed a lovely dinner at the Frenchtown Inn. Also pricey, but the portions are larger and it is worth it!
Overall, we had a nice stay in Frenchtown. The Widow McCrea is lovely, but we found that it was slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widow McCrea H, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Widow McCrea House. We appreciate that you took your time out to write a review about your most recent stay. We are pleased that you found your accommodations comfortable and your weekend relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back to Frenchtown and The Widow McCrea House. It was our pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We had planned to visit the Wideo Mccrea House for our 10 year anniversary. We were really looking forward to it. I confirmed my reservation with a credit card more than 3 months ago. Today I received an email from them stating that there rates have increased for the year 2013 and they have updated my reservation to the now higher prices. Maybe its just me, but I do not think this is good business practice. Its like purchasing airline tickets for a vacation and after receiving the tickets being told the prices went up. The new prices should apply to new reservations.I cannot evaluate how good or bad the place is because I cancelled my reservation. What I can tell you is they were unaffected by my cancellation. If your going to book with them dont make the same mistake I did. Make them lock your room rate in writing.
oh well- I guess I will give my money and recommendation to someone who will appreciate my business.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ernest G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

My wife and I were looking to escape the cold and dark of the Jersey Shore in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy; we found it here. The Inn is warm, quaint, well-appointed, and everywhere reflects the commitment of the owners. If you enjoy staying at B&Bs, you will enjoy the Widow McRae. Yes, it is an old house not originally designed as an inn, and so yes, the bathrooms and showers are a little tight and guests can be heard in adjoining rooms. But if your expectations are realistically adjusted in terms of hotel amenities versus B&B amenities, you wil not be disappointed here. We stayed in the Rittenhouse room and found just the respite we were looking for. The room was clean, spacious and sunny. Breakfast was delightful and Frenchtown is a nice place to spend a weekend, with some good restaurants and taverns within walking distance of the Inn. (We enjoyed the Frenchtown Inn.) For what we were looking for, the Widow McRae (and innkeeper Burt) delivered. So I have no qualms recommending this place to anyone looking for some quiet respite in a comfortable B&B. The only caution I will throw in is that, though lovely, there is not much to Frenchtown, so a stay here is probably a better fit for those travelling and who don't mind wandering off the beaten path for a short stay, and for those (like us) looking for a weekend getaway with not too long of a drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dad4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

What a wonderfully beautiful hidden gem. The room, the amazing breakfast (baked grapefruit with honey glaze!!) and the fun guests. This place and the host are wonderful. You can walk to town and enjoy the quaint shops and also take a walk across the bridge into PA from NJ! Short walk on a wonderful Autumn day. The townsfolk are nice and we had dinner at a Mexican restaurant (BYOB).

Room Tip: Anne-James Suite is lush
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank O C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We are whitewater boaters who were looking forward to a very nice weekend away paddling the Tohickon, which has a special fall release. It was not an insignificant trip for us; we are 7 hours away in Massachusetts. We booked a room here, and were very much looking forward to staying at The Widow McCrea. Hurricane Sandy came through, and the whitewater release was cancelled on October 31 due to dangerous river conditions. Granted, we knew about the Widow McCrea's cancellation policy that we agreed to at the time of our reservation, but this natural disaster was not due to any shortsighted planning on our part. Our friends were advised by the local police not to even attempt to come to the area. We asked if the Widow McCrea would consider a voucher in the amount of the forfeiture, but to no avail. Their response was, do you want to pay with a credit card or with a check? They have our money this time, but will not have any future business with us or with any of our friends who love to paddle the Tohickon release and bring their business to the area. In the face of this natural disaster, a compromise to the cancellation policy might have been in order, and a voucher in the amount of the forfeiture towards a future visit would have been a win-win situation. After all, we were offering to pay for this voucher, we were not asking them to take a financial hit. Instead of garnering future business from us, we are disappointed, do not feel like valued guests, and cannot in good conscience recommend the Widow McCrea B&B to anyone.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burt P, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Normally our policy is not to respond to reviews on Trip Advisor as we believe everyone has the right to review a property that they have stayed at, however we take exception to individuals using a disaster as an excuse when that was not the case. We worked with other guests who were truly impacted by the storm. These customers where rescheduled for another time and in some cases we let them cancel with out any loss of deposit. Regarding the couples from the Massachusetts area who decided to cancel their stay with us, we explained & assured them that most of the Hunterdon & Bucks county areas were not impacted by the storm and that merchants were open for business. The only impact that occurred for these specific guests was that their planed paddle trip was cancelled & they chose to cancel their stay with us at the last minute because of the termination of their event . While we regret that their river outing on the Tohickon was cancelled, we find it appalling that some people will take the hardships of others and try to use them to their advantage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frenchtown
12.4 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
241 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Clinton - Bridgewater
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#1 of 2 in Clinton
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
The National Hotel
The National Hotel
#2 of 2 in Frenchtown
122 reviews
8.9 mi away
Woolverton Inn
Woolverton Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockton
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Address: 53 Kingwood Ave., Frenchtown, NJ 08825
Region: United States > New Jersey > Frenchtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frenchtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 1878 Victorian B & B in historic Frenchtown NJ. Recently voted one of the top 8 places in NJ! Separate self contained Cottage with private patio garden, Spacious Suites, elegant guestrooms featuring fine antiques, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, Queen-sized feather beds, private baths. The Widow McCrea offers the perfect setting for a getaway weekend or romantic overnight. Includes candlelit gourmet breakfast or choose the Cottage and Private suite for breakfasts delivered to your doorstep. Complimentary bottle of wine in room at check in. Stroll to shops, galleries, restaurants and majestic riverscapes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Widow Mccrea House Victorian b&b
The Widow Mccrea House Victorian Hotel Frenchtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing