We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite and frequest B & B destination”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frenchtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Frenchtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A favorite and frequest B & B destination”
Reviewed 4 September 2008

This is such a charming Inn. This has been my 4th time there. We love the location and the breakfasts are the best! My husband and I go to many bed and breakfasts and really enjoy this type of experience.
On our last visit, we stayed in the luxurious Anne James Suite.
This is our favorite room yet, but next time we want to try the Kase Cottage. We like to experience each room since The Widow Mccrea House is a unique environment. Every room is different, so our goal is to try them all.
Frenchtown is a quick and easy drive from our home in Delaware, so it makes it easy to get away without going too far away.
We recommend the Widow Mccrea House to our friends and this year we want to give Widow McCrea gift certificates to our friends for the Holidays.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms and quality furnishings - Main Inns breakfasts are not to be missed!
  • Disliked — Not all rooms have TV's. I don't mind this, but my husbands prefers it.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hoofprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    18
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
95
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montclair
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We won't go back. We enjoy this corner of NJ for its lovely biking terrain coupled with many choices for lodging and dining. Making last minute plans for an early weekend, we chose this inn for its Frenchtown location when our favorite area B&B had no availability. Its location on a busy street made sleeping without the air conditioner difficult at best. A single seating for breakfast at 9 AM seemed designed more to accommodate the innkeepers who do not live onsite; as the only guests on a Friday morning, we would have preferred the option of an earlier start to our day. From the tenants that share the building with the overnight guests to the awkward questions about whether to have housekeeping service our room, the owners seem cost conscious in a way that made our stay less than comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank wrightborradaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bklyn, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

If you want a heavenly and special weekend, this is your place to go. Worth every penny. The comp wine was an adventure, but brought that up so should not be a problem anymore. It was indeed one of the absolutely best weekend trips ever. Make sure to sign the guest book in the room. Share the experience. Will certainly go there again. Oh, the breakfast was DIVINE!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bubalanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2008

My husband and I spent a mere 20 hours in the Kase Cottage, a free-standing structure on the property of the B & B, however the benefits will linger for days or weeks to come. The cottage has every amenity you could possibly want or need ... comfy feather bed, large jacuzzi tub, beautiful private patio and garden area and lots of peaceful tranquility. The innkeeper, Lynn, is very gracious and left us with a stocked fridge and yummy baked goods for breakfast. The cottage is absolutely perfect for a romantic getaway!
The area is great for bike rides along the beautiful Delaware River and if looking for culinary delights, you've come to the right locale. The Frenchtown Inn, Rosemont Cafe and Sergeantsville Inn are sure to please all palates.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nanwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlton nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Our weekend Getaway couldn't have been more perfect!
We stayed in the private Kase cottage at the Widow McCrea House.
It was beautifully decorated and perfect for the 2 of us. The Inn has just been re-landscaped since our last visit (this is our 3rd stay) and they did a fabulous job. The Kase Cottage has a stunning Italian style garden complete with statuary and a fountain. It is truly a private and beautiful addition to an already magical place.
This is our little slice of heaven, and we think you will enjoy it too.

  • Liked — The privacy of the garden and the jacuzzi for 2
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank katatonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

We stayed at Widow McCrea for two nights. Very reasonably priced. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room facing the back. Do not ask for the Rittenhouse Room. It faces the front of the house, a main road. Truck traffic started about 6:00am. The inn serves a gourmet breakfast (3 courses) with ghost stories, and provides a lovely bottle of wine in the room. We thought the comforter in the Rittenhouse room needed updating. Close to town and some excellent restaurants. All in all, a nice experience.

  • Liked — Proximity to town and the bike path.
  • Disliked — Comforter as a blanket for sleeping.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank justgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa8365
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

The owners of the Inn were very personable, accommodating and gracious.The particular room we stayed in was beautifully appointed and very clean. The room had a lovely queen size canopy bed, antique decor and a nice size bathroom. The homemade 3 course breakfast was magnificant and plentiful. We were very impressed and will definitely be going back soon. It was truly a great find at a great price!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa8365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frenchtown
12.4 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
243 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Flemington
Hampton Inn Flemington
#1 of 3 in Flemington
352 reviews
12.5 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Clinton - Bridgewater
3.6 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
The National Hotel
The National Hotel
#2 of 2 in Frenchtown
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Address: 53 Kingwood Ave., Frenchtown, NJ 08825
Region: United States > New Jersey > Frenchtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frenchtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 1878 Victorian B & B in historic Frenchtown NJ. Recently voted one of the top 8 places in NJ! Separate self contained Cottage with private patio garden, Spacious Suites, elegant guestrooms featuring fine antiques, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, Queen-sized feather beds, private baths. The Widow McCrea offers the perfect setting for a getaway weekend or romantic overnight. Includes candlelit gourmet breakfast or choose the Cottage and Private suite for breakfasts delivered to your doorstep. Complimentary bottle of wine in room at check in. Stroll to shops, galleries, restaurants and majestic riverscapes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Widow Mccrea House Victorian b&b
The Widow Mccrea House Victorian Hotel Frenchtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing