We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frenchtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Frenchtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice, and are planning to back again in a few weeks time. We love the Widow McCrea. Burt and Lynne are very sweet and welcoming, the home is in wonderful condition, the rooms are comfortable, and their breakfast is absolutely delicious! We recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Rereading the other reviews on this site, I realized the terrific reviews came from those that stayed in the most expensive rooms. My husband and I did not.

The Widow McCrea has very pretty curb appeal. Nicely landscaped with beautiful flowers and shrubs.

We arrived early for our two night reservation, and were allowed to check in because we were the only ones currently staying and the inn. Our rate did not include breakfast. That is an additional charge during the week and included with the higher priced weekend rates. So, I can only comment on the bed part of this Bed and Breakfast.

Lynn, the owner, was pleasant and showed us to our room. We stayed in the Tuccamirgin room. It has a canopied, four poster queen bed, which is too big for this small room. It is pushed up against the wall, which makes getting in and out of the bed difficult for one half of a couple. This was explained to us when we made our reservation, but still a weird set up. The bed and linens were comfortable.

There is only one wooden straight back chair in the room. Since there were two of us, we asked if we could get another one, we were told "no, but we could upgrade for an additional cost." ??? All the chairs in the house were not being used by anyone!

The house has central air conditioning and the rooms have window units. Our room had a very tiny tv with basic cable stations. There is also a tv in the common living room and plenty of magazines to pass the time.

Our bathroom was a generous size, but lacked the usual luxurious toiletries that are associated with a B&B. There was a bottle of VO5 shampoo and a mysterious gel dispenser in the small shower stall. The towels could use an up grade as well. Ours were stained.
(The housekeeping needs to do a better job. The bath mat, left on the floor, was simply rehung over the shower door instead of replaced. I know this because it had a dead spider on it from the day before. And white curtains need to be washed frequently, so they don't turn gray like the ones over the window ac in this room.)

The Widow McCrea is within a few blocks of downtown Frenchtown. An easy walk with sidewalks. The Frenchtown Cafe is recommended for breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The B&B is stunning. The suite was spacious and had a jacuzzi, which was an added bonus. The service was excellent, as was the 3 course, candle-lit breakfast. We would highly recommend Widow McCrea B&B!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reddrozez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in the sweet cottage, it was so relaxing, so comfortable--and the back private patio is so beautiful, I could have sat out there all day. The breakfast was so yummy, and so plentiful we could not eat it all. Lynn and Burt made some sort of blueberry bread-pudding/souffle, a muffin each, yogurt, a fresh fruit cup. We found the whole experience to be a lovely and generous one. We are looking forward to booking the cottage for my parents when they come to town.

Room Tip: We can't speak to the rooms in the house, as we stayed at the cottage, it was quiet, private, ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widow McCrea H, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying in the Kase Cottage at the Widow McCrea House. We are pleased that you found the Cottage so welcoming and comfortable. We appreciate your kind words about our breakfasts too! The cottage garden is blooming with flowers, offering a lovely reprise from the long winter.
We would like to take this opportunity to come you to our lovely riverside town and look forward to having your parents come to stay with us as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went on a Thursday night end of April, 2014, it was a generous gift from my children for my birthday. My husband had a small problem and went to bed early, so I took my Kindle and went downstairs (around 7:30) to introduce myself to Lynn, who did leave key code which was nice. She peeked out the door, "you must be Michele" she said (hmm I am the only person staying tonight) let me know if I can get you anything. before I could answer, she was gone. A glass of water would have been nice! the room sucked, bathroom so small you could not put out a toothbrush, no room in shower for your own shampoo or soap, then to add to the aggravation, the traffic did not stop all night. we were in the Rittenhouse room in front of the B&B ( all the other rooms were empty, so why she put us here is unknown, plus my kids told me the next day we were supposed to get a private suite and bottle of wine) Next morning , we were served corn muffins, baked apple and and egg dish that had more vegetable then egg. Not a good meal. Upon leaving, I stopped to say goodbye and Lynn the audacity to ask for $1.25, $200 didn't cover the bill??????

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michelle35555414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widow McCrea H, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we regret to hear that your experience at the Widow McCrea House was not all it could have been.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize in the event we did not fully understanding your travel needs. It is unfortunate that you neglected to address your concerns directly with us during your overnight stay. Any issues you may have experienced with the room you had chosen could have easily been resolved had you taken a moment to discuss them with us.
We regret any misunderstanding you may have regarding the Gift certificate that your family gave you as a surprise. As you were aware; the Gift Certificate you received from your family was issued in a dollar amount and did not indicate any specific room. This allows the recipient to select a room or suite of their choosing.
At the time you called to make your reservation, we discussed that you had a choice of any of our suites or one of our elegant guest rooms. You decided against a suite, instead choosing one of our elegant rooms, the Rittenhouse Room. Your decision was based entirely on the cost, as you made it very clear you did not wish to exceed the dollar amount of your Gift Certificate.
In closing, we apologize that your stay was not all it could have been. We would like to take this opportunity to extend to you an overnight in one of our Suites. Please call us to book anytime before August 2014.
We sincerely look forward to hearing from you and hope you will accept our offer for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

when we cancelled our reservation we were told that that in order not to be charged we had to give thirty days notice since we were signed for a special rate that required cash on arrival otherwise a 15 day notice would do.
The only problem is WE NEVER KNEW OF THIS SPECIAL DEAL! It is the classic "bait and switch" tactic, not to mention rather cheesy. The pompous and rude woman (habitually talking over me as if to help make her point) only added to the irritation of this attempt to double charge for a room at our expense. This woman (Lynn) was adept at lying with a sense of entitlement that must of only been born from believing that people should be glad to have been robbed by curators of a museum of kitche. No Thank You !
I am in the process of recovering the charge against my card that I foolishly gave them. It was bad enough that we had to cancel our little couples retreat but to be held up like that ontop of it surprised and disgusted us by its penny anttie, cheap aspect.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widow McCrea H, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to a review. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize if there was confusion regarding your reservation. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. At the time of your booking, you asked for a discount. We gave you the 15% off Promotional discount that we were running and explained that it had a 30 day cancellation policy. You gave us 20 days cancellation notice. At that time we offered to re rent your room of which you declined. In closing, we apologize for any confusion and we appreciate the time it took to provide your feedback . We wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We chose the Widow McCrea House for a quick getaway for our 36th wedding anniversary. Originally looking for just one night, chatting with innkeeper Lynn on the phone encouraged me to push hubby for two nights, at a discount. She also suggested we consider upgrading from Privacy suite to Cottage, and while we enjoyed the privacy suite, next time we will pony up for the cottage-it is larger, has sitting area, and its own little courtyard.
The Privacy suite had its own entrance in a small courtyard with a fountain. The decor is delightful, victorian antiques and yet with a fully modern and well appointed bathroom with a deep corner two person jacuzzi tub, and a corner shower with coved glass doors. Sweet touches like varying cat pictures, carved birds in the bathroom, and whimsical sculptures complete it.
The room is not overly large, it has a drop leaf table for breakfast, and a hard wooden rocking chair that is quite low to the ground. I would love for there to have been comfy chairs to sit in for chatting. It was private, but it is an old house. The people upstairs walking around, and the noises from the office behind us were easily heard, though not particularly bothersome. At 11, the Jacuzzis and fountain are turned off for quiet sake.
The inn is located close to Frenchtown village, which does roll up its sidewalks at 9. Nice town to poke through the shops, then go for a nice walk along the river on the canal path. Plenty of excellent food to be had here and nearby.
Burt prepares a delectable breakfast each morning and if you have the suite or cottage, it is delivered in a basket to your door-muffins still warm, crepes, french toast, quiche or other gourmet fare along with fresh fruit, orange juice, and coffee upon request. Fantastic!
The innkeepers are friendly and a wealth of information.
We would definitely go back for another respite-but next time, it will be the cottage, and maybe for longer!

Room Tip: if you want the socializing of other guests and Burts good stories, choose a room in the main part o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widow McCrea H, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review of your experience at the Widow McCrea House. It was a pleasure having you as our guests! We are happy to hear your enjoyed your weekend with us and look forward to seeing you again for a future stay. We thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frenchtown
12.4 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Flemington
Hampton Inn Flemington
#1 of 3 in Flemington
370 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
124 reviews
19.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bridgewater / Branchburg
3.6 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Address: 53 Kingwood Ave., Frenchtown, NJ 08825
Region: United States > New Jersey > Frenchtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frenchtown
Price Range: £94 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 1878 Victorian B & B in historic Frenchtown NJ. Recently voted one of the top 8 places in NJ! Separate self contained Cottage with private patio garden, Spacious Suites, elegant guestrooms featuring fine antiques, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, Queen-sized feather beds, private baths. The Widow McCrea offers the perfect setting for a getaway weekend or romantic overnight. Includes candlelit gourmet breakfast or choose the Cottage and Private suite for breakfasts delivered to your doorstep. Complimentary bottle of wine in room at check in. Stroll to shops, galleries, restaurants and majestic riverscapes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Widow Mccrea House Victorian Hotel Frenchtown
The Widow Mccrea House Victorian b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing