We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food nice place”
Review of Frenchtown Cafe

Frenchtown Cafe
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Hoover, AL
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food nice place”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The café is small but decorated nice -- Easter themed when we were there. 4 adults one baby and EVERYONE liked their lunch! Omelets were full of meet and done just right. Salads were plentiful and very fresh. Definitely going back again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 25annivtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    33
    3
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Huge breakfast selection, busy place”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We go here quite often for breakfast. Weekdays there is no problem getting seated, weekends, be prepared to wait. They have a huge selection for breakfast, omelets, pancakes, "the bliss" (scrambled eggs with cream cheese and bacon mixed in over eng. muffins) my daughters' favorite item. It is a tight space and the syrup is not true maple syrup, if that matters to you. The service is good and usually prompt.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardenercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistent Quality and Service”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Found this little gem of a breakfast and lunch spot a few years ago and make it a point to eat there almost weekly. Good portions, good tasting food, reasonable prices, and a terrific wait staff and owner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“There is only good here.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A friend and I shared an omelet (ham and cheese--delicious). Comes with potatoes cooked just right and toast (we chose the grain bread). We also just had to try a berry bread pudding that is hard to describe. Huge bowl with whipped cream--heaven. After trying the toast I asked our wonderful waitress if they sold the bread by the loaf. She said that they did but it was kind of pricey, $6.50. Well, this pricey loaf is the size of three grocery-size loaves!!!! Because we were having guests for dinner I also ordered three of their apple dumplings so I didn't have to fix dessert. I know this is too much information, but, OMG these were so so so good. They were wrapped in more of a croissant-type crust instead of a pie-type crust. The apples were super tender, sliced very thin, with the peel still on. You just have to try them--my description can't do them justice. Atmosphere is cozy, wait staff knowledgeable and friendly. Great experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RannJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwinna, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Still great after all these years....”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I'll find excuses to go here as often as I can for breakfast or for lunch. Food is great, staff are great, and prices are very reasonable. Interesting specials for lunch and the soup is always terrific- Chinese Chicken soup last week was to die for.

Helpful?
Thank Nixjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frenchtown Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Frenchtown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing