We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have never stayed at a worse hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Gloucester City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn Gloucester City
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gloucester City
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Have never stayed at a worse hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had expected at least a bit of "quality" at a Quality Inn, but this was the worse hotel we have ever stayed in. The outside door did not lock, so the hotel was not really safe. The pool had all kinds of "stuff" growing at the bottom, the grass had not been cut. The lobby and corridors had filthy carpet. In the room the sideboard was falling off. One good point, the beds were OK. All in all, we were so disappointed that we cancelled the next 2 Quality Inns for our trip and booked Best Western instead (and were very impressed).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie-cuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualitynj723, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Gloucester City, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey.
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it is disappointing to learn that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology.

Upon doing the research, I noticed that the picture of our outdoor seasonal pool was not OFFICIALLY OPEN at the time, due to heavy rain on the almost daily basis. Additionally, the hotel was in the process of completing the exterior construction in building A, which had caused some debris that was on the exterior of other buildings.

In an effort to compensate you for your experience, I would appreciate if you could kindly contact the hotel directly so I can personally assist with the concerns you addressed, and I hope to have you give us a second chance to serve you better.

Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Please contact me directly at (856) 456-7800, I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    22
    24
    54
See reviews for
21
35
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Don't waste your time staying here. Filth, no customer service skills and not a care in the world.
Booked 2 rooms. The first had no working fridge or coffee machine, moved to another room. Requested non smoking rooms, got bed covers with cigarette burns. Forget trying to use the internet! Between 5 wifi hotspots at this hotel IF you are lucky enough to even get to the log on page, it drops out within minutes. Made it really difficult to research open times, etc for places we were visiting.
The 'hot' cooked breakfast consisted of stone cold boiled eggs, boiled to death, much like a rubber ball really! If you were lucky to get a link sausage or patty, they were very greasy and over cooked. Did not see a hot egg at all during our 3 night stay, despite it being well advertised on their website and on cards throughout the breakfast room.
The last morning we went down for breakfast at 8:15, there was no coffee, no sausages, no batter for the waffles, no bread to toast, no yogurt, a few old looking pieces of fruit, no eggs NOTHING! I had to ask for them and then the person taking care of the kitchen went to a table of 2 people who arrived after us, were clearly close friends or family and PILED at least 2 thirds of the hot cooked sausages onto their plates before putting the rest into the warmer for the guests, who had been waiting at least 15 minutes to get them!

The bar was closed the whole time. Never saw the restaurant open.
The swimming pool was filthy and closed.
The bath had no plug, a piece of metal sticking out of it and they could not give us a plug to fit it for our children to use.
The toilet got blocked the 2nd night we were there. We called reception to ask them to fix it........the response was NO, you come and get the plunger and fix it yourself!!

The 1st day we headed out and placed the "do not disturb" signs on the doors of both rooms. They are the ones that slide into the room key slots, so you cannot open the room without removing the sign.
We got back to find our request had been completely ignored, the rooms had both been through and again the attitude of reception was "oh we will make sure it wont happen again". Ummmm it should NOT have happened to begin with!
On the morning we were leaving, I lifted the bed skirt to check for toys my children may have left and found a disgusting mattress, ripped base with springs hanging out. The beds were like bricks and both my husband and I had sore backs and necks after sleeping on them.

We paid $85 a night for each room for the Memorial weekend so we could check out Philly. We are platinum members of choice hotels and have never stayed at a more disappointing place in all our years of travel.
Choice need to remove this crap hole from their selection of hotels. As stated in my title their is nothing quality about this at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieNavyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gloucester City hotels

Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel is under renovation. It is an older hotel needing renovation. There is some road noise on certain parts of the hotel. Had some trouble with hot water at night but the next day had plenty of hot water. Considering what you pay for the hotel it was a decent value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGalt316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Simple, you get what you paid for comes to mind. Cigarette burns on the covers, looks like a staple gun was used to staple the bathroom door together. But cheaper than staying right in Philly. Soooo.....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jnuzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeville, DE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Alright it was a last minute trip and I searched Travlocity site and this time money WAS an object so when I figured this location was a "shhh type of deal" I felt that Travlocity would be more selective as to their creditability to their customers, boy was I wrong.

The price was $41.00 for a 2*, three smiley faces so I stepped out on faith and completed my transaction when the name of Quality Inn Philadelphia/Gloucester City was revealed. I immediately went to Tripadvisor to see what the reviews were. My heart sank and I got that funny feeling in the gut that I just gave my money away and there was nothing I could do was to chalk this experience up and pray that those reviews were biased.

THEY WERE NOT! TRUTH is this place is a dump, a trash dumpster and a placeI would not send my animals to. This property is supposed to me owned and managed by Choice and so that being said I will never, never stay at any of their properties or locations.

I am writing this review about 1/2 hr after gaining entry to my prized #221 room on the second floor of an older 1960 style entry style. NO luggage carts available, NO elevators so you walk up 14 steps to the second floor where there are two stairwells on each end of the building where the lighting is so bad that your safety is at hand. We are hostages in this place because quite honestly I do not want to lose my parking spot where I can see my vehicle directly and the fact that it is an open common area that you have NO guarantee that those people you encounter are actual customers or straglers.

We had an extremely hard time finding the one light switch which is located inside of the door jam. Not on the wall but next to the door lock. The mattress is soft and old and broken in the type in which young children can jump on. It took 30 minutes walking around the property to find our room, out of flustration I asked my husband to go to the office and ask for another room, no such luck (thank God we left our luggage securely covered in our vehicle after walking around with the bare basics for the one night stay.

Very small bathroom, cheap basic small microwave, 36 inch refrigerator and what they call a queen bed ...I believe it is a double actually a cheap clock radio, iron board set up and an iron on the wall, no closet, small sink outside of the bathroom with a door mirror on the front of the bathroom. door

I am leaving my clothing and belongs in their place as I do not want to risk the fact that bugs may be in the room. The only thing modern is a 42inch flat screen LG tv.

I am not at all pleased with the manager/owner on site as I have asked him a question concerning the fire alarm in the room which is missing its top part and exposing the fact that NO batteries are inserted, I asked a question if the state of NJ fire marshall felt this was allowed and as of this writing, he said he would look into this and get back to me.

SO please take heed, the words spoken here are the truth and so read other reviews and save your money and get something you and your family will have peace of mind with their health and safety.

Room Tip: Don't stop in, pedal down the road and find a nice hotel in a safe enviroment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queen042002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg, Maryland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I booked 2 rooms for my friends and I at this property. I should have known to cancel the rooms when I had trouble changing the name of the reservations. The people at the front desk are rude, inconsiderate and do not understand courtesy. We were a group of females looking to have fun. The rooms were awful. The hotel was under renovation and looked terrible. I have been to hotels that have been under renovation and still in business that have looked better. I do not understand why housekeeping does not know the standards when it comes to CLEAN!!! Upon our arrival to the hotel from our evening out there were bums hanging around the hotel entrance, so not safe for anyone. When I called to speak to the Owner/GM I was told she is away on family emergency and she is unavailable to be contacted. I was also told there wasn't a manager on duty. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone nor will I stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stay at CHOICE hotels, and everyday I wonder WHY ? Most choice hotels are outdated and in desperate need of repair..like this one !! I am about to head to breakfast but I am afraid of what I will find...no doubt it won't be fresh..with all the choices for my money..I am losing faith on CHOICE..too many frequent disappointment ....oh by the way the Internet signal here is HORRENDOUS..like back in the Stone Age

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearlchloedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester City
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Stadium
#62 of 85 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Holiday Inn Cherry Hill
#1 of 7 in Cherry Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Residence Inn Deptford
#2 of 2 in Deptford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Gloucester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Gloucester City

Property: Quality Inn Gloucester City
Address: 1200 Crescent Blvd, Gloucester City, NJ 08030-1675
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Gloucester City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gloucester City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Gloucester City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn(R) hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 295 and Route 130. This Gloucester City, NJ hotel is just minutes away from historic downtown Philadelphia. Guests of the Quality Inn hotel will enjoy many amenities, including a free hot deluxe continental breakfast, free local calls and Wireless Wi-Fi. The courtyard with a seasonal outdoor pool is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Business travelers will appreciate the peaceful setting as an escape from the hectic pace of the workday. The hotel offers access to copy and fax services. The beautiful meeting facilities at this Gloucester City, NJ hotel can accommodate up to 100 people for family reunions and business retreats. All guest rooms include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, refrigerators and microwaves. Spacious work areas are available in some rooms. Non-smoking rooms are also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn Gloucester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Gloucester City Hotel Gloucester City
Quality Inn Gloucester City New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing