We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“She is so nice!”

Everitt House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hackettstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Everitt House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hackettstown B&B and Inns
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“She is so nice!”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This bed and breakfast is out of this world. I felt very welcome and the room was fantastic. The innkeeper, Beverly, was so kind and made me feel right at home. She has a passion for what she does and it shows. If you are in the area, you should stop over, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
17
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Murray, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

After a fairytale wedding we spent the next two nights at the lovely, charming and cozy Everitt House. When looking for the ideal place to stay after the wedding we found The Everitt House; from the moment we walked in we knew it was where we wanted to stay. The owner, Beverly, is delightful. She was so friendly and accommodating, it was as though you were staying with family. She even acted like family remaining calm, cool, and collected when my new husband asked her at one o'clock in the morning if it was okay he invited seven friends for breakfast. She replied with a big smile and said that would be fine. The next morning, upon descending the stairs from our gorgeous Empire bedroom decorated with fine antiques and in lush green coloring, we were greeted by Beverly busy in the kitchen preparing breakfast for some other guests. She welcomed us and gave us coffee to enjoy on the porch while we waited for our friends. The beautiful table was set with antique depression glass and fine china. The breakfast she prepared was amazing ~ everything from fresh fruit to eggs cooked to order with homemade pancakes and muffins as well. We spent two hours reminiscing about the wedding while enjoying the fabulous feast. Our friends were so impressed, they will be sure to stay at The Everitt House when visiting. Our second night of our stay was perfect. The next morning we were looking forward to breakfast and Beverly outdid herself with pumpkin pancakes, special bacon from Lancaster County and a beautiful omelet. We hated to leave but were happy we experienced this hidden gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Have stayed in a lot of B&B's, but few give the sense of "home" like this one. Thoroughly enjoyed the room, the breakfast and the friendly chatter with Beverly. Would stay again without a second thought. It's fantastic! (The town was fun too. Enjoyed walking around in the evening.)

Make sure you ask for the blueberry pancakes :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonfwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We were visiting our former international graduate students, now considered another set of our adult children, and their three-year-old twins. They found the Everitt House, thought it looked charming, but had no experience with the place other than the visual.
From the moment we walked in the door we knew we'd have a great stay in a restored Victorian home. The owner had traveled widely, as have we (we're both retired USAF medical officers), and had clearly brought her experience to decor and meals.
Our room was comfortable, well appointed and bright. Our breakfasts were superb. Quiet and charming, the Everitt House is top-notch. It was a wonderful haven after days with the twins.

Room Tip: The Empire room, on the second floor, was a perfect fit for this pair of 70ish active folk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCwriterguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This B&B is located close to Main St. on Hackettstown, so it's an easy walk to visit the town.
The breakfasts Beverly makes are great! Delicious fresh fruit and amazing frittatas.
When we got to the B&B the amenities were shown and we were taken to our room. You get a key and have the liberty to manage your hours. No lockouts!

The room was clean and, as they had told us, there was room for our 7 month old's packn'play (portable crib). The first night was great until we had the a/c, all the lights, and the fan on. All of the sudden, we had no electricity. But an electrician was called immediately and the problem was fixed. We ended up having a great night sleep.

I had to score this hotel as average because of the electrical issue. But I would definitely come back to this B&B because the atmosphere was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radabremar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed at this B & B last weekend because we had to go to a wedding. Our plans kept changing and I kept calling the innkeeper to tell her we would be arriving later than expected. She was very gracious and accomodating. We ended up arriving around 10:30 pm, she wasn't there to greet us but a young man that was working there was. Breakfast was great the next morning and she let us check out late since the wedding was down the street and didn't start until noon. The room was very nice and clean, had a/c and a TV. I would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

For our Valentine’s Day celebration, my wife and I decided to stay at a local Bed & Breakfast. We choose The Everitt House in Hackettstown, NJ. We don’t go into Hackettstown much so it was like a mini-getaway. And we choose a room with a Jacuzzi. There is nothing like a hot tub to soothe one’s old bones and muscles (okay, a massage would do it better).

The Everitt House is an old Victorian home that the owners have painted in colors that match the stained glass that is in the enclosed porch. It was green, burgundy and gray. The porch was too cold to actually use.
Our hostess Beverly was very nice and showed us around. Downstairs was filled with antique furniture and replications. She still had her Christmas tree up which made it homey and cozy. We walked up two flights of stairs to the third floor where our room was. The staircase was a little lopsided and I felt like I was a little drunk. (I know this is due to the house settling for the past 100 years or so).This being the highest point in the area, we could see across the entire town and the college. We even stepped out onto the roof (via the emergency door) and what a sight it was.

We were offered our choice of breakfast and time to eat. When Beverly left us, we went to use the Jacuzzi before heading out to visit a local winery and dinner. Breakfast the next morning was made fresh and we had blueberry pancakes (with lots of blueberries) and a warm cinnamon apple concoction. Yummy.

There was only one other guest there that day who was visiting his mother but out paths never crossed. All in all it was an enjoyable stay.
The things that I didn’t like is that there were face plates missing from a light switch and outlets, and a plastic shelf was resting the cabinet in the sitting room. Some of the wallpaper was peeling, so it felt like the place was a work in progress. I remember when the Everitt House was up for sale, but Beverly said they purchased a couple of years ago. A couple of the rooms were being used for storage. Their doors were ajar and we could see inside them.

Also, the hot water ran out quickly in the Jacuzzi which is odd for a house this size. One would think they would have a bigger water heater. The television was resting on a window sill and there was no way to watch as the bench in the sitting room was facing in another direction. I had to move the TV to the desk and push the seat 90 degrees so we could catch the Grammys. Lastly, although we were offered coffee or tea to drink with dinner, we were not offered something cold (water or juice).

We would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackettstown
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Hackettstown
70 reviews
6.6 mi away
Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center
6.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Days Inn Budd Lake
Days Inn Budd Lake
#4 of 4 in Budd Lake
226 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
5.6 mi away
Super 8 Budd Lake
Super 8 Budd Lake
#1 of 4 in Budd Lake
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everitt House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everitt House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Everitt House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 200 High St, Hackettstown, NJ 07840-1941
Region: United States > New Jersey > Hackettstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hackettstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Everitt House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Everitt House is a lovingly restored Victorian Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of historic Hackettstown, within walking distance to fine restaurants and Centenary College. Built in 1875 by William Moore Everitt, the 14-room home features beautifully appointed guest rooms with period antiques. The Everitt House offers 5 guest rooms, including one guest suite. The residence is a seasonal Bed & Breakfast during the summer months from May through August as well as the Winter Holiday Season, perfect for those who wish to enjoy local activities or visit the college. This is also a lovely setting for bridal events including showers, and wedding day bridal party accommodations. We also host corporate meetings and special events ... consider us for your group's next holiday get together. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing