We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great concept, but food is just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of British Chip Shop

British Chip Shop
Ranked #10 of 49 Restaurants in Haddonfield
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic British fare in the heart of historic downtown Haddonfield. Open seven days a week, Sunday brunch, BYOB. Stop by for fish and chips, traditional British favourites, healthy salads and sandwiches, and freshly baked house made desserts and pastries.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great concept, but food is just average”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The British Chip Shop is situated in a great spot in lovely historic Haddonfield, N.J. The concept is great and the menu looks terrific on paper--in practice, not so much. We ordered 3 appetizers: the potato leek soup, an Indian-style pizza, and the devils on horseback. The soup was fine, but not memorable. The pizza was interesting, but again, nothing to rave about. The devils on horseback (dates with blue cheese wrapped with bacon) are tasty, but quite frankly look like roaches on a plate in a dark pub, so that is a downer. I would suggest the owners find a more appetizing presentation. Our mains were the roast beef sandwich, the burger and fish n'chips. I was most disappointed in the fish and chips. The breading completely separated from the fish, and while it wasn't greasy, there was just not much fish. The chips were soggy and tasteless. Having had the real thing in Ireland several times, the British Chip Shop just doesn't measure up. I would love to try this place again if the dishes were overhauled a bit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    38
    28
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
176 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere decent prices”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

British Food is not always my favorite but I enjoyed lunch here. I had the plough mans lunch it was ham, cheese, bread, mustard, veggies and a vinegar être salad. It was the perfect amount for lunch and $10. The food was very fresh. The service was good and the atmosphere was nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenonah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great spot for tea, loved the out door seating!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Went for lunch, sat outside...ordered salad with chicken, candied walnuts, apples and cheese. Chicken was bland, and dressing had little flavor, could kick it up a notch! My daughter had the cottage pie, arrived steaming hot and very flavorful! Scones were moist and delicious! Would say service as good, would go back. Not outstanding as far as food goes but a little better than average. Atmosphere really cute!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank designdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Its average”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hi,... Average fish and chips here. Nothing to knock your socks off. Located in the beautiful historic town of Haddonfield, New Jersey. The town is great, location is great. Good place to walk around. The food here is ok to try once. Not terrible at all, no problems, just not in the top 8 dishes of fish and chips that I have had.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place for any meal!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I have been here twice now and have not been disappointed! I highly recommend the fish and chips and also going for lunch. They have a little outdoor seating area which is really nice as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed British Chip Shop also viewed

 

Been to British Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing