We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Jersey based option, with a few drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Cascades Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamburg
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Jersey based option, with a few drawbacks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This property is located in the mountainous are of northwest New Jersey. The clientele draw seems to be from New York and New Jersey.

If your main focus is golf (lots of beautiful courses) and hanging out at the lovely pools while being lifeguard for your own family, you will like this property. There are some nice (but not overly diversified, compared to other resort experiences) activities to do. Night time glow bocce ball was fun, the sunset golf cart ride, an afternoon at mountaintop on the lake (which had friendly, enthusiastic lifeguards and a very good archery instructor) lead the headlines.

Staff were very pleasant and friendly, helpful when approached. Front desk staff plentiful and helpful. Valets remarkably cheerful and upbeat as well.

Not a lot of spontaneous niceties or chatter, though, from guests, residents, or most staff.
I was born in NYC and raised in NJ, so I realize that this is a geographic specific thing, but I am always mildly surprised when I return to the area. It also may be from the fact that the resort has a residence/real estate base in that people can buy and maintain units for themselves, so it can function more like an apartment building, and people probably have their own routine and social base. Just mentioning this in case you are a traveler who likes to absorb the area culture through interaction.

Pools are advertised as having no lifeguards, and while they use signage to indicate children should not be there unsupervised, it did not appear to be enforced. I observed an approximately 9 year old with no judgement dunking a 2 year old repeatedly, leaving him gasping for breath and choking on water (no parents). I dodged 6 year olds running around with ignited wooded roasting sticks, dumping a pile of new sticks on the fire- they were supervised by a 10 year old (no parents) As you cannot count on parents to comply or demonstrate good judgement, there does need to be lifeguards and a staff member at these events.

The chef's garden area is lovely and beautiful to walk in, I was disappointed that it was closed during the week, leaving a big range between a formal sit down dinner and grab n go at the Biosphere Cafe. Off property dining was necessary frequently.

Our unit was spacious, nice, complete kitchenette and laundry. Do not put anyone larger than a preschooler on the sofa bed, it was not comfortable. The housekeeping team was efficient and could "blitz tidy" within minutes if you had them in while you were in the unit. 5 very polite, thorough staff members got a lot done in 6 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mg3542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear MG,

Thank you for visiting us at Grand Cascades Lodge, and experiencing some of the great beauty and comfort that our resort has to offer. And I thank you for taking a few moments to reflect and share your feedback with us and with other travelers, past, present and future. I'm so glad that you and your family enjoyed the resort's mountaintop lake, indoor and outdoor pools, and golf courses, among the other great amenities that we offer. Yes, I definitely agree, it can be frustrating when other guests are not responsible for their children in some of the shared spaces, but our staff and our lifeguards do try to manage that to prevent other guests from having a bad experience. I appreciate your kind words to our friendly, eager employees, and I know that the praise means a lot, as they do work very hard.

We all hope that you will visit again, possibly later this Summer or Fall on a weekend to experience Chef's Garden, and if you need assistance booking please do not hesitate to contact me.

Once again, thanks for visiting and for posting!

Sincerely,

Vinny Sammartine
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    456
    296
    144
    79
See reviews for
746
630
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

What a pleasant surprise!!! Just got back from a spa get-a-way with some girlfriends and found this place to be a hidden gem. The grounds, landscaping and gardens are spectacular. Service was stellar, and we really enjoyed the 2 restaurants that we dined in which were the Spring Cafe and Chef's Garden. Chef’s garden is farm to table and supplied from the beautiful and bountiful organic garden surrounding the outdoor patio bistro. We had a suite which was fantastic full of every amenity and with a large balcony with dining table for four overlooking beautiful scenic mountain views. A must see is the wine cellar tour which is one of the largest most impressive cellars in the world, absolutely amazing and our guide was friendly, incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about her trade and full of insightful stories. Fabulous spa treatments and services. I highly recommend Grand Cascades which honestly felt like it was a plane ride away and easy to forget that you're in the Tri-State area.

Room Tip: balcony a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you so much for choosing Grand Cascades Lodge and for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate that! "Hidden gem" and "girls getaway" are two phrases we hear all the time when talking with our guests, and it was my pleasure to read that you and yours had a wonderful, relaxing, wow'ing stay at our resort. For any travelers reading who are visiting us during the weekend in Summer, I genuinely recommend the Chef's Garden restaurant, as Lisa has, which is such a unique and amazing setting and the beautiful pictures hardly do it justice. Lisa, I am so happy that you had the chance to dine there and found it to be incredible. Me too!

Our staff is greatly appreciative of your thoughtful review, and we very much look forward to your next visit to Crystal Springs Resort. Until then, safe travels!

Warm Regards,

Vinny Sammartine
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this fabulous resort while attending a milestone birthday for a family member. I stayed in a one room suite...facility is beautiful and the staff professional and attentive. From the minute I arrived, the entire staff, from the bellman to the front desk manager, the concierge, and the housekeeping team ensured that I was welcomed and very well taken care of. The resort is amazing from the beautiful gardens, golf course, and pools. And the view from the balcony in the morning was breathtaking. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear AC1130,

My sincere thanks for sharing your review of Grand Cascades Lodge with fellow travelers and for choosing our property to spend a special birthday with loved ones. The setting we have here is perfect for occasions just such as those, and our staff truly works hard to provide a level of service that is outstanding and memorable. I could not be happier that we exceeded your expectations and made your trip one to remember. Thank you again for posting and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Vinny Sammartine
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have been to Grand Cascades twice now. Once in December and just recently in July. The property is gorgeous in July with fantastic gardens all around. The pools areas are clean with an abundance of helpful employees. During both stays our every need was met with happy, friendly and efficient staff. There are small comfortable sitting areas throughout the property both inside and out, which I found delightful. Even in July the fire pits made for an excellent relaxing evening. We rented the suites for both visits so we utilized the in suite kitchen which was fantastic. It is stocked with full sets of dishes, glassware and utensils it even includes a dish washer. I highly recommend this lodge for a relaxing weekend getaway.

Room Tip: If you have childen I highly recommend the suites with the kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Kristin,

Our sincere thanks for taking a few moments to post your review here on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate it. Our property is indeed breathtakingly beautiful, and I am so happy that you have shared in that. It definitely sets the mood for relaxation and serenity, which you have also found by visiting our resort. It is our staff's pride and pleasure to be able to take part in that as well, and thank you for your kind compliments.

We look forward to your return visit here to Grand Cascades Lodge, and until that time, safe travels.

Warm Regards,

Vinny Sammartine
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just returned from an amazing stay at a beautiful resort. A group of us went for an overnight stay to celebrate my niece's 40th birthday. We had a one room suite with a large and lovely balcony that had amazing views of the beautiful mountains of Sussex County. The staff and employees were extremely friendly and conscientious. We all enjoyed the many amenities offered at this "luxury" property which felt quite homey and welcoming. I look forward to a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judeye7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Judeye,

Two Words: Thank you! For posting about your wonderful experience, for sharing your comments with our staff and with other travelers, and for choosing our resort for a very special birthday to enjoy with friends and with family. Thank you! We truly look forward to your return visit as well, and until then safe travels.

Warm Regards,

Vinny Sammartine
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family just returned from a wonderful stay at Grand Cascades lodge. The staff was very friendly & helpful. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite that was on the third floor & overlooked the pool . A wonderful view!! The pool area. Biosphere pools are breathtaking. There is so much for each member of the family to do. I cant wait for our return trip in the winter.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura102696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Laura,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your Summer visit, and we too look forward to welcoming you back this Winter for skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, or just indoor relaxation at our pools, spas, and restaurants. Thank you for taking the time to post and hope you have a great weekend!

Sincerely,

Vinny Sammartine
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful - stayed in the Crystal Spring section came in November & back again in July 2014. November - very cold, slopes not open yet and limited stuff to do. No gardens,free mini golf while you freeze, But a gorgeous room with full kitchen, made it a great weekend getaway for the whole family and some. Luxury, beauty & comfort. The pool facilities are tremendous at crystal. Indoor sanctuary, warm water, sauna, steam room and my favorite outdoor very heated pool with gorgeous colorful lighting ! When your a guest at Crystal your entitled to visit Minerals- Minerals has a large gym with aerobics classes at no additional fee , basketball courts and pools. Minerals is probably more family oriented and is a ten minute drive (free shuttle) from Crystals. I like the ambiance better at Crystals and they have a small gym also, but Minerals is more family oriented. - only if they could provide some of the minerals activities at crystals - it would be perfect. Each stay I had was very relaxing. July was obviously better because of all the pools and activities being available and the weather permitting the gardens to be in full bloom! Plan to bring your own food since there is a full kitchen available with the 1 bedroom suite because prices are very steep. Breakfast for 5 was almost 100 bucks with tip. Horseback riding was an amazing experience but pricey also -$75 per person for an hour - on the drive back from horseback riding saw a sign priced at $40 an hour. Do your research first. Chinese restaurant down the road , very good food - they don't deliver but for 40 bucks 5 ate dinner and left overs for lunch comfortably. Ice cream gelato at Crystals pool side is very good homemade type gelato. All the being said I will certainly return again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jellyachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Jellyachie,

Thank you for being a return guest at Grand Cascades Lodge and for providing such a detailed and helpful review. I am so glad that you have had an opportunity to experience our resort in two seasons and look forward to making it three! Also am I delighted that you have enjoyed so thoroughly your visits to our resort and that we are becoming your go to destination for quick relaxation and luxury close to home. We appreciate you sharing with your family and friends.

On behalf of our staff, we look forward to your return and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Vinny Sammartine
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamburg
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
10.6 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
2.3 mi away
Minerals Hotel
Minerals Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cascades Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cascades Lodge

Property: Grand Cascades Lodge
Address: 3 Wild Turkey Way, Hamburg, NJ 07419-1531
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cascades Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Grand Cascades Lodge, the NY metro area's newest and most luxurious resort hotel. Ideally situated in the scenic mountains of northwestern New Jersey and just 47 miles from Manhattan, this elegant retreat offers spacious designer guest rooms with gourmet kitchens, fireplaces and balconies. World-class amenities include a distinctive Biosphere Tropical Pool Complex, the luxurious Reflections Spa, six award-winning golf courses, an 18-hole grass putting course, 4-star Restaurant Latour, 3 indoor/outdoor heated pools, meeting and conference rooms, on-site pro shop, gift store and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Cascades Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cascades Hotel Hamburg
Hotel Grand Cascades

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing