We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Don't expect to get what you are paying for, i was persistent i needed a roll-away bed when even reserving the hotel and both nights they told me i would have it but never did and just got a excuse "sorry sir, we are short handed and I have no one to get one tonight" I just wanted to say are you kidding me, tell me were it is and i'll get it. Short staffed, sorry i paid over $180/night and i paid for something i need and i'm not receiving it. Then to top it off the A/C in the room was broken so the room was 78 degrees both nights and they never came to look at that either. I wouldn't refer this hotel to anyone it's a joke. Maybe get some tips from the Marriott i'll be staying there for future reservations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for sharing some feedback on your recent visit to Harrison\Newark, we all truly work hard to ensure we provide the best quality of guest service. Seeing from your feedback we may have not been up to par this time around, in the future we cannot provide a roll away bed when you have 2 beds in a room. It is a fire hazard to do so, next time you are back in the area give us a second chance to make it right, we will make sure you have the right room reserved and that the a\c unit is working correctly. Thank you for sharing the feedback, all feedback is good since we are always looking for ways to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

If you are visiting NJIT or Rutgers in Newark, or just want a great place to sleep close to Penn Station (and a lot less than the Hilton), stay here! Very clean and helpful, friendly staff. This is our third stay here in three years.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for always choosing to stay with us when you come to visit NJIT or Rutgers. As you know we are only a short shuttle drive away to Newark. If you having any doubts on where we are located , I can assure you Harrison is a great quiet town to be in. We look forward to having you back next year making it 4 times in a row. Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback with everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As many others have mentioned, this is a great hotel all around. Check in was fast. Rooms were very nice and very clean...I actually slept well, which I almost never do the first night in a hotel. Great breakfast, which is what I have come to love about Hampton properties. In the lobby at breakfast, I noticed at breakfast they even had a table with some "asian" things on it (soup, rice and some other stuff). Very well done, Hampton Inn Harrison! I'd never seen this before at a hotel.

I must single out your shuttle bus driver, Terrance, as he was awesome. Such a nice guy. He shook our hands as we got on the shuttle and when got off, as well. Great conversation in the short ride over. He had us laughing. I wish we would have had more time at the hotel to partake in some of the local dining and activities that he recommended, esp. the steakhouse that is right over the bridge.

One small con is that when we came in from being out at 11:30 at night, there was a couple of bags of trash outside of rooms on our side of the floor (from carry out/delivery dinners). When we went to breakfast at 8:30 am, these bags were still there. Housekeeping had to have seen it, as there were 2 or 3 carts in our side of the hallway.

One last thing. Love the local "art" on the walls in the room. Not sure if all Hamptons do this (I can't remember despite just being in one in Raleigh 2 weeks ago!) but it's little things like that impress me. It's so much better to look at (and actually read!) than the mass produced "art" in most hotels.

Room Tip: Even side rooms overlook the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaBeachLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for sharing the great feedback on your trip to Harrison\Newark , our entire staff including Terrance work extra hard to give the best guest service possible. We are gald that you had a great experience with us and truly look forward to having you back. We do apologize for not getting to the bags of trash sooner, we know the little things mean the most, this is why we work day in and out to perfect the little things. Thank you again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Pleasant hotel in a fairly industrial area. A little tired, but very clean with helpful staff. We left too early to try the breakfast that is included in the rate. A good overnight stay and we would stay again as a base for NYC.

When landing at EWR we had to phone for the hotel airport shuttle bus to collect us as it does not automatically call there. Fortunately we had the number. The shuttle bus driver was very helpful and we used the shuttle bus to get to and from Newark Penn station for the 20 minute train journey to New York Penn station. The NJ Transit ($10 return) train is much quicker than the PATH ($6.50 return) train.

Note... Newark Penn station is inhabited by a considerable number of homeless people and we were approached, being asked to sign a 'sponsor' form or to 'donate' money. There were police officers in the main concourse and it felt safe during the daytime and early evening.

Our UK mobile phones did not did not have a signal to call the hotel for the shuttle. We needed 50c to use the public phones which are in the lower level.

Our morning flight was at 7am and, as the hotel shuttle does not start until 7am, we had to get a cab to the airport - 30 dollars. However, the hotel arranged this and ensured that the driver arrived on time to collect us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for sharing some feedback on your recent trip to Harrison\Newark Riverwalk, it was truly a pleasure to have had you here with us. As always we all work extremely hard to make sure that all of our guest are met with the highest level of service.We are glad that you took advantage of our shuttle service and look forward to having you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here for 5 days, in room 620, great room with a great view of Newark! The service at this hotel was great! The shuttle guys were always around to bring me to Newark Penn station to take the train into NYC. At the front desk there was this women named Bethany who was very helpful, kind and always with a smile. There is plenty of parking, I drive tour buses and there was even parking for tour buses. From the hotel to the 495 highway entrance that takes you to the Lincoln Tunnel is only about a 10 minute drive. If you are using the train to get into the city, the hotel courtesy shuttle will take you to Newark Penn Station which is about 3 minutes away and then you can hop on the train and go to Penn Station in NYC. The train takes about 15-20 minutes. Great location not too far from the city, the rooms were very clean, the staff was friendly and if you are on the west side of the building by the river you will have a great view of the river and Newark. The only reason I gave it a 4 star rating instead of a 5 star is because of the trains noise level that could be heard every time the train goes by and it seems like it goes by frequent any time before midnight and the other thing I didn't like was powdered eggs, seriously powdered eggs? Come on lol. I would stay there again no doubt!

Room Tip: Facing the river and the city has a great view but ask to be but on the south end of the building aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeaBreeze777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for being part of our family for 5 days, it truly was a pleasure to have had you stay with us. Our team is always working hard to ensure that our guest feel right at home even if it is for 1 night.We are glad that you enjoyed our service here, Bethany as well with our other family members will be here waiting for you agian with a smile on our faces. Thank you for sharing the feedback with everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I had a huge king suite when staying at this Hampton Inn with a wonderful view of the river and Rutgers field. I had a kitchenette with granite countertops, lots of storage and a mini fridge. Great sitting area and huge bed. I also had a whirlpool tub but mine wasn't working during my stay but the maintenance staff tried to fixed it. Not a huge deal as they were genuine and tried. Plus I had an awesome room. This hotel is next to the tracks for a local commuter train so if your a light sleeper I'd not recommend this hotel. I would also like to see a more comfortable pillow top mattress at this and other Hampton Inn's. Very friendly front desk staff who were funny and always helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBud24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us here in Harrison\Newark, we are truly glad that you enjoyed your time here and also enjoyed your view. Our entire staff works extremely hard to make sure the hotel is up too par. It is a goal to make sure we give the highest quality of guest service. We thank you for sharing some feedback with us, we all look forwrd to having you here back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel in Newark many times and the experience always is good. Staff, especially, are very accommodating, go out of their way to see that you are satisfied. It is a little removed, but a free shuttle takes you anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar A, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for always choosing to stay with us when your are in the Harrison\Newark area. We truly do enjoy the company of our guest and take great pride giving the best guest service possible. Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback with the travel community, we truly look forward to having you back once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
Element Harrison-Newark
#1 of 2 in Harrison
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo - Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk

Address: 100 Passaic Ave, Harrison, NJ 07029-1318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Price Range: £97 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk is conveniently located just a short drive from Red Bull Arena, MetLife Stadium, Newark Museum, Manhattan and NYC in Harrison, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & outdoor pool. Explore many Harrison area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk Hotel Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
Harrison Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing